We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we were moved!!”
Review of Karbel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karbel Beach Hotel
Ranked #55 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My husband & I had booked the Karbel Hotel with Globespan. After reading some negative reviews about the sister hotels, we e-mailed to ask for a top room in a quiet location. On arriving at about 10pm we asked if the e-mail had been received, the receptionist said no but if we did'nt like the room we were offered we could come back to reception & they would change it. The porter took us down to a cellar like room with no balcony, terrace or window. We about turned & went back, where we were told we would be taken to the Karbel Beach Hotel. We thought oh no! We need'nt have worried we got a lovely clean, modern room with balcony & on the top floor (only three floors high). The bathroom had a nice corner shower unit & yes you can put loo roll down the loo without causing a blockage!
There is only one pool & it is quite small but this hotel was quieter than the Karbel which suited us. The sunbeds were a bit dated & could do with renewal. Maybe if you wanted more in the way of entertainment & kids activites this hotel would not be for you.
Breakfast was buffet style & was turkish breakfast- bread, cold meats, cheeses, jam etc it was fine but we could'nt eat that every day so we had a cooked breakfast at the hotel, it was huge! ( Only cost 10Lira/ £4). As we were only on B&B package we did'nt eat at the restaurant in the evening so can't comment on that.
The staff were always nice & would come & shake your hand to wish you Good Morning. Rooms were cleaned every day & the maid make shapes out of the towels & my nightie!! Great having the Air Conditioning & fridge as it was very hot so we bought lots of water at the shop next door & kept it cold. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so if I were to go again I would take a travel kettle etc.
This was our first trip to Turkey & we were a bit apprehensive as we had heard stories about getting hassled all the time. Maybe this is true of other resorts but we had no bother in Oludeniz, in fact we fell in love with it! The lagoon is stunning, the people so friendly, good quality restaurants & bars(we never had a bad meal) & a lot cheaper that Spain etc!
We went on a boat trip which cost us £8 each including lunch, we were away all day & stopped at about six different bays where we could swim. My husband also went paragliding for £40!
We can't wait to book for next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelbugEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 399 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2009

If you want to book a hotel, where your room smells of sewerage, the staff dont smile, you cant even get a top sheet, or any kind of crature comforts requested, if you enjoy chips, boiled eggs, and stale cornflakes for breakfast.

If you enjoy being stung over and over again as your windows dont shut properly, and the bathroom leaks, and you love paying through the nose for basic food and drinks, also be prepared that you cant pay by cash, as they carry no change, all gets put on to your charge card, and then you can spend the next day disputing it with the really arrogant receptionist, then by all means this is the place for you.

If your really lucky you could end up staying in a dungeon room, and on your departure, spend a lovely time in the courtesy room, which is a two showers underneath in the pool maintenance room, also no lockable areas our provided to leave your luggage in, once your kicked out your room, which i have to say is the best part of the holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pauletteDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Everything about the holiday was great the hotel room was exactly what we asked for and the premises was very cosy, clean and tidy, it also had a friendly atmosphere, you are 2 minutes from the beach and shops and there are loads of places to eat out - you must visit Cloud 9 and the Buzz Bar for drinks and food they were great. I have never felt so relaxed on holiday in a long time it was everything you could of asked for. The only fault I could say is that the breakfast could have had more variety especially something hot now and again as you get fed up with boiled eggs and bread everyday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadsFalmouthCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

If you like all night noise from the night club behind BLOK 3 then fine, if you like sewage smell in your room everytime someone flushes the loo then fine,if you are told that you cannot have coffee before breakfast that's because they haven't loaded the machine,if you want a fried egg you cant because this ismachine operated also........maybe the handle fell off ..............?
It took 4 days to get a top sheet as they don't use them only this carboard sheet of anaglyta and you get up in the morning heavily embossed..........
It was not my intention to be Mr Angry but if I could in hindsight have gone for 2 days instead of 2 weeks that would have saved me the dissatisfaction of it all.
All the prices have been hiked up because of the Euro and expect to pay for a drinkable bottle of wine £17.
On our first night we ordered steak and King prawn, the steak which was prepared in the microwave and looked and tasted like liver and the prawns were still in their shell and too hot to handle still had their black line gut in them.
The food is prepared in the sister Karbel Hotel up the road and brought down to be miked.
We were not alone and had formed the opinion that it is was run like a camp hence 'BLOK 1 - 4'
Cheers enjoy!!
Mr Angry

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MISTERANGRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Returned from a stay at the Karbel Beach Hotel in Olu Deniz in Turkey in the early hours of this morning. I'm so eager to write a glowing review for this Hotel and for Olu Deniz as we had such an amazing holiday.

Karbel Beach Hotel is relatively small compared to some but big enough for a nice atmosphere. Rooms are spotlessly clean and well equipped ( power shower and a proper cubicle!). The location of Karbel Beach is brilliant, it's a 2 minute walk to the beach and in the other direction a 2 minute walk to the main street so it's close enough to all the action without being in the thick of it. Staff at the Hotel are all really friendly, polite and approachable and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The Restaurants that we ate in at Olu Deniz were all very clean and food of an excellent quality, do try Captain Hook's and our favourite - Buzz. Both shop keepers and restauranters don't hassle you too much which is something we were fearful of.

We did a couple of good trips, the first one a boat trip for the day to Butterfly Bay and the second one to the mud bath at Dalyan - both great fun in different ways and highly recommended. Both trips we booked through Telat (Easy Riders), he was very friendly, very honest and not too pushy.

Olu Deniz is an amazingly relaxed place with a fantastic atmosphere, amazingly beautiful sea but a disappointing shingle beach (we were lead to believe that it was mainly sandy but to get into the sea is agony on the shingle).

All in all an amazing holiday, would recommend it to couples, families - in fact anyone! We're looking to go back to Olu Deniz again next year and without a doubt will stay at the Karbel Beach Hotel, it'll be in May again as 30 degrees is plenty hot enough for us!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

we went to the karbel last year arriving at 10pm,after a long journey the staff were waiting for us to arrive,and they had even saved us some food,it was our first trip to turkey and all i can say is go,the staff are ace the rooms are nice,and the weather is fantastic,go to the lagoon,its fab,but be warned it gets very hot,we are returning again this year to the karbel and we cannot wait for the end of june to arrive,this year we are taking my brother and his family just hope he loves it like we do,see ya soon karbel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My partner stayed here October last year and were not sure what to expect as we got a last minute cheap deal. We had an absolutely brilliant holiday in Oludeniz. The hotel was wonderful, the staff were lovely and friendly, the room was clean and overlooked the pool and mountains. It was lovely and quiet here compared to the Karbel hotel up the road and much closer to the beach (about 5 minute walk if that). Oludeniz as a place was lovely in October, bustling with lots of nice restaurants but I imagine in the summer it is extremely busy. The only bad point is that Oludeniz in general is quite expensive for drinks and eating out (similar price to eating out in the UK) - you're better to go up the mountain to the fishing port of Fetihye and go for a meal near the fish market to get a real bargin or head to Calis. I would avoid Hisaronu (just up the mountain from Oludeniz), unless you want a lively clubbing holiday. Overall we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend a stay at the Karbel Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmsimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.2 mi away
Karbel Hotel
Karbel Hotel
#44 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karbel Sun Hotel
Karbel Sun Hotel
#49 of 102 in Oludeniz
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#29 of 102 in Oludeniz
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mavi Belce
Mavi Belce
#73 of 102 in Oludeniz
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#48 of 102 in Oludeniz
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Beach Hotel

Address: Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: $23 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Karbel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Beach Oludeniz
Hotel Karbel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing