We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Small Homely Basic Hotel”
Review of Karbel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karbel Beach Hotel
Ranked #60 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Small Homely Basic Hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 11 nights in July 2013. Having read the reviews, I was a little unsure what we were going to see. The hotel itself is really nice, a small self contained complex with a small kidney shaped pool, and a food and bar. The reviews on here need to be checked as even the professional picture of the square pool is the wrong Karbel hotel, there are 3 Karbels in the chain in Olu Deniz.

The Room - Basic, but for a 3* in Turkey it was more than adequate, very clean and with free air-con, a great place to lay your head as the beds are really comfy. The room has a decent size fridge but do take a kettle with you. There is a hair-dryer in the small bathroom with a shower cubicle, toilet and sink. The balcony is really small but then we overlooked the bar in room 115 top floor (beware no lift). I was a little unsure as read about the basement rooms, there are 3 floors with the ground floor, lower than ground level, however having talking to some guest they were really cool, so maybe a little better in the 40 degree heat !

The food - The food was really nice, a great mix of different foods each day for dinner. The salads were extensive. The soups were delicious and with thick crusty bread, really lovely starter. The puddings were not my thing but then puddings are not anyway, there was a great bit of fruit if you didn't fancy the puddings.

The staff - The staff are really lovely, they work so hard and long hours but still have a smile on their face. I particularly tipped the cleaning lady as she worked all day and cleaned the room each day, although maybe a change of towels more than the 3 times may be a bonus. The bed decorations were a real treat too.

Olu-Deniz - A beautiful place, that was more lively than we expected. The place has a usual strip of bars and restaurants, not too loud and with really fun waiters, beers are around 6 lira and wine around 8 lira. The beach front has some great roof top bars and restaurants - Hangout, Harry's and Buzz being really good. The prices do go up though to drink and eat here. Olu's beach is a mixture of sand and shingle and blue blue clear sea - really lovely - one thing though, watch out for the para-gliders landing though. Food wise was a real mixture of good and okay, we found Bella & Gusto amazing and Joseph's and Sugar & Spice good for lunch.

Blue-Lagoon - Lovely blue sea, although the stone beach is a bit un-comfy and means you will have to pay for a sunbeds and brolly at 21 lira. You also have to pay 8 lira each to enter the lagoon. Good to see but not sure its the best beach I have ever been to and glad to have gone but once was enough for us.

Sugar Beach - This is behind the road to the blue lagoon and is free to enter. The beach has a bar, which had really good snacks and ice cold beers. The beach is stone again, but the it wasn't sea it was a lake type area, so the water was really still and not as blue as the sea but nice all the same.

Activities -
Jeep Safari - what a great day, loved it such a laugh, water fights with other Jeeps. You visit a cave, trout farm with a small waterfall, the lagoon - one of the most amazing places ever and the mud baths before a pool area. Great trip and your exhausted afterwards.

Boat trip - It was supposed to be a max 38 people but wasn't - more like 50. However the 6 island trip was great with chances to stop and jump in the sea and cool down. The first island was a beach type, beware watch out for the stones as I got a nice bruise on my bum after scraping across a rock under the sea lol. You get lunch which is chicken or fish, pasta and salad, which is ok and you can buy on-board other things. The last island is a shock as there are underwater influxes of cold water, the shock is amazing but really cools you down.

Para-gliding - Just do it !! Best thing ever - amazing. Closet to flying you will ever get. The trip up is quite scary in the Jeep as you are so close to the edge with sheer drops. However the most scary thing was jumping off the mountain for me, however you don't see any drop and the chap who tandems with you leads the way, you just walk and you lift off. The views are amazing and you have around 35 minutes to glide and see the sights - so exhilarating. Both myself and my partner would do it again tomorrow. One thing though check the backgrounds of the companies and make sure all fees are in the price as you have to pay to go on the mountain. We flew with Gravity, who were really good, although if you want the pics and video it will cost you another £30.

Overall Olu Deniz was lovely would defo go back again and can understand why people do.

Room Tip: Email and ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    144
    64
    22
    17
See reviews for
110
182
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have stayed here before, and did slightly slate it, this year we looked at it in a different light. Having stayed in an all inclusive on the front many times we made the mistake of making a comparison and you really cannot compare basic B and B with all inclusive 4 to 5 star. The Karbel have the most friendly staff and they are really helpful. You get what you pay for and this is a really clean, and for us' our room was in a quiet location room 960 and in a spacious complex. However if you expect to fill up on an full English breakfast and not to eat until Dinner you will be disappointed' but please note the very reasonable price you have paid for your holiday this hotel will offer you a great lunch for 10 lira (£3.00) basically they are giving you the choice to eat where and when you like .It is very good value for money. They have outside entertainment 3 times per week and a great BBQ nite. No pool towels and room towels only changed twice per week again reflected in your holiday price Please visit Josephs on the strip for your full English or any other meal from chicken salad 10lira £(3.00) to chateau Briand 70 lira for 2 people very good value. The staff are amazing so friendly say hello to George, Adam and Simon they make you feel so special. If you fancy a boat trip or paragliding etc. visit Hamish Mcturk on strip next door but one to Joseph's and ask for Phil tell him your Turkish brother from UK sent you. If you like lovely jewellery and we mean beautiful diamonds and Tag watches etc. visit Infinity and ask for Omar' Zack or Sabri and say Neil and Michelle recommended you. We have bought some amazing things we could not have even dreamed of purchasing at home. May it be for investment or purely the pleasure of owning such lovely pieces to wear and treasure forever you cannot go wrong. We personally bought all ours for the pleasure .Have the best holiday ever!!!!

Room Tip: room 960 very quiet very good sleep ZZZZ
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crofton3C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 14 nights half board middle of June. Having read the reviews we were concerned about getting a dungeon room but were relieved to be led to a second floor room in block 4 over looking the bar. The room was basic with a small balcony (could comfortably fit the 2 of us on there but would struggle to fit anyone else on there) and the aircon and mini fridge were inlcuded in the cost of the room. I have read in other reviews that the noise from the bar kept some guests awake, however we were never woken up or kept awake by any noise. The beds weren't the most comfortable and we found that the blanket wasn't really big enough for the two of us.

The hotel is very quiet with regards to entertainment, there is no daytime or evening entertainment however there is a free pool table and football table but it is situated a 30 second walk from the strip which has plenty to do. The hotel is located close enough to the strip so that you can nip out for a drink but at the same time you are far away enough so that you are not kept awake by the noise.

As others have said, the breakfast isn't great, basic meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, sliced baguette and cereal but as we aren't big eaters in the morning we weren't too bothered. One morning they made omlettes to order and also started selling freshly squeezed orange juice towards the end of our holiday for 5TL (about £1.80) a glass. The lunches are lovely and reasonably priced, however be careful spending on the card (which they encourage you to do) as you can easily run up a large bill if you don't keep an eye on it. The dinners aren't as bad others have made out, there is always 2 different options which also includes rice and chips with a huge choice of different salads, they always write what is for dinner on the board each morning so that you know what to expect. As a vegetarian, there wasn't a huge amount of choice for me other than salad and rice most evenings so we chose to eat out a lot as there were so many fantastic restaurants to choose from, however we were told by another couple that B&B was the same price as half board so we weren't too concerned that we had wasted any money by going out a lot.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, notably Tucan and the other younger bar staff who work long hours. The pool area, bar and restaurant were always immaculately clean and the maids always worked very hard and left some beautiful 'towel art' on our beds.

The one thing we liked about this hotel was that there was always sunbeds available no matter what time you went down. The pool was fairly small, but was perfect for cooling off in and as there were no kids at the hotel whilst we were there I spent many hours reading my book in the baby pool which was lovely.

The only issue that we had with the hotel is that the electric box caught fire towards the end of our holiday which caused a power outage throughout the hotel, it was ressolved within 15 minutes however we were very dissapointed to see that the staff had all evacuated and left the guests in the hotel with no idea of what was going on! It was only the next day when we were speaking to other guests that we even knew what had actually happened!

I would reccommend this hotel to people looking for a nice get away at a reasonable price, it is by no means a 5* but the staff will go out of their way to ensure you have a great time. A lovely quiet hotel, in a fantastic location.

Any questions, please feel free to ask.

Room Tip: Blocks 3 & 4 appeared to be more modern than 1 & 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieHCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

this was our second visit to oludeniz,,my husband and i stayed for 10 days in the middle of june,very hot,,the staff at this hotel were very friendly especially tucan, the barman,,its been said in previous reviews about the noise from the bar,,if your room is too close to the bar area ask to be moved after all people are on holiday!!!!our room was oposite the bar and we heard very little noise and what we did here quietened down after 1pm ish,,and as for the food there was boiled eggs for breakfast every morning with toast and cheese and salads also they did omeletes,,dinner had a selection of foods which were all nice we didnt have a problem with the food at all,,some people are too fussy!!aircon and fridge were free of charge unlike other hotels,,and rooms were very clean,.we also met people who go back to this hotel year after year,,so cant be bad,,we will definately go back again,fab hotel :)

Room Tip: basement rooms are coolest,ignore reviews about dungeon rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mulberry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and i along side some friends spent two weeks at the karbel beach hotel.
room basic,small balcony, cleaned every day although they say they do it every other day in booklet ,bonus having the fridge and air con.at no extra cost.
the views of the high mountains is amazing its like you in a dip.
staff always friendly and helpful fun and polite.
food in restaurant was lovely tasty and plenty of choice for evening meals with fresh hot food to a wide range of salads.
breakfast was meats,cheese boiled eggs among fresh yogurt with fruit ,cornflakes,toast tea coffee,juice more than most would eat at home for breakfast .
swimming pool area always kept clean and we would come in late to find the staff cleaning pool and poolside very refreshing to see everyone always working.
we had friends staying at other destinations for a wedding and our hotel was the best for letting the other quest join us around the pool.always welcomed into the bar and pool area were other hotels refused the quests visiting.
we used the card they give you for drinks and food in the day which was lovely as we knew we could pay when we went home or daily.
we were on holiday so the tv did not concern us more of a ornament
The beach is a five minute walk from the hotel the strip is also five minute walk and you don,t here the noise from bars .
Hamish Mcturk travel was who we used for most of our trips good for bantering and not pestering you when you walk by.
would recommend this family quiet and friendly hotel to friends and we would go back to this hotel and holiday destination again.

Room Tip: the block 2 was were friends stayed in the ground floor really quiet were in block 4 you can here th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in the middle of June for a week as two couples with my parents. This was my first trip to Turkey and the weather was excellent but it took us a while to adjust from my beloved Greek islands.

It's a good location on a quieter road in easy walking distance of amenities. However, the noise at night from the guests at the bar was unbearable and something we weren't used to.

Food was disappointing. I certainly didn't want an English breakfast but some grilled tomatoes or other hot options would have been nice, unfortunately it was only boiled eggs. The breakfast 'juice' was disgusting and I seemed to overload on toast.

Evening meals included bolognaise, curry and roast chicken, beef and mash on a Sunday, a disappointment to those who would like Turkish cuisine when in Turkey.

Rooms were spotless though having no window in the bathroom was an unpleasant design flaw. Balconies are tiny but it seemed that was at all hotels. In our block the wooded windows hadn't yet been replaced by the new uPVC so that meant more noise.

The pool was a good size and kept very clean. Lunch was the usual toasted sandwiches and salad if you choose to buy it.

One major grumble was the fact we arrived a 10.30pm on our first day meaning we missed the evening meal. As a compromise we asked for a lunch on our last day or even sandwiches. This was flatly refused and we had to get the rep to intervene.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsrudenotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having already been to Asena Beach, Sun City and Perdikia hotels our stay here was a little disappointing. The staff are lovely and the hotel is well situated for the beach, the main strip and the Dolmus. However the place needs a little bit of money spending on it and some TLC as it is looking a little tired. It also has the tiniest balconies I've ever seen - just enough room for 2 patio chairs! Despite requesting a room close by for our teenage daughters (16 and 13) they were upstairs at the other end of the corridor but were told they were so busy they couldn't change it - not true! The air con in my girls room leaked constantly despite being reassured 3 times that it had been fixed. Their door also has large cracks in it - big enough for the dreaded mozzies to invade on a daily basis.
The pool is very small and is 130 cm at it's shallowest and the baby pool is a knee deep puddle so luckily my 6 year old is a confident swimmer so was ok in the big pool.
The food is also unfortunately disappointing. Breakfast is very basic (even by Turkish standards)so if you've ever been anywhere that has pancakes, omelettes, pastries etc on a daily basis you may be disappointed by the choice of hard boiled eggs...and that's it alongside your normal cheese, ham, melon, salad, toast and bread rolls. We got excited by the appearance of scrambled eggs one morning. The evening meals are 2 choices of Turkish attempts at European standards and the Meze is very limited and repetitive. We ate out for 3 meals to relieve the boredom. If you stay for 2 weeks the first weeks menu is repeated (we clocked the Monday night menu as we were leaving and it's exactly the same as the week before).
This isn't a great hotel to bring a family as there's also nothing else to do unless you're happy to spend every waking hour in the pool and then go to bed as there's no entertainment in the evening apart from Turcan the barman who is fab.

The staff are very friendly as we've always found in Turkey and the place is clean - the chambermaids do their usual towel and flower displays.

If you want somewhere cheap, basic and you're not interested in food. Book it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackpoolMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.2 mi away
Karbel Hotel
Karbel Hotel
#38 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Star Hotel
Blue Star Hotel
#48 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karbel Sun
Hotel Karbel Sun
#51 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#36 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
#53 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mavi Belce
Mavi Belce
#81 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Beach Hotel

Property: Karbel Beach Hotel
Address: Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Karbel Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karbel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Beach Oludeniz
Hotel Karbel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing