We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel for a short break”
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #48 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Visited with my friend in May 2010 for a last minute weeks break. Wanted somewhere quiet, within easy walking distance of places to eat in the evneings, shops to browse, and the sea. this had everything we needed. We went on the recommendation of the Travel agent, and found the resort was just what we wanted. No high rise, plenty to do, lots of trips, although the getting on and off boats looked a bit hairy as they bobbed up and down. Beach is tiny pebbles, not sand, and is not ideal for young children - which meant is was seriously lacking in children and made it ideal for us!! We used the beach every day - you pay once a day for a bed and brolly, but can move around the beach, leave your bed to go off and get a drink etc without difficulty - just keep your ticket. worth walking to the right when you get to the beach and going into the park/lagoon area - as you get the same things - beds and brolleys for a daily fee, close to tea, coffee, drinks, ices, food, and can move around, but there's also clean toilets and shower and changing rooms dotted around.
Loads of nice places to eat, and paragliding overhead, with good safe folk to take a jump with if you fancy that. An adult beach really - and perfect if you want to lounge around soaking up the sun and ambiance, watching the paragliders, reading and chilling out.

Evenings we would go back to the hotel and freshen up and wander back down to browse, drink, catch some entertainment, and eat. lots of variety.

We were charmed by the Turkish people - they will invite you into their bar, shop etc - but never hassle you or cross their threshold to entice you in. So nice to feel free to browse.

The Tower Hotel reviews that go back more than a few months can be TOTALLY DISREGARDED. Yes, the rooms are small, but they are immaculate. Good maid service, friendly staff, keen to chat and pick up your language. The manager Robin was amazing - so friendly, wandering around chatting to his customers and helping out when a customer was ill, making me a toddy with his mother's recipe, asking about what we felt he could do to make things better. (I suggested that the routine breakfast got a bit boring - and I didn't want a full english (extra) but would have been very happy to be able to pay for yoghurt and fruit for a change.) If you want an extra pillow - then ask. They are so pleased to help and make you comfy. Shop about 10 yards from the hotel, plus a little one in the hotel, and loads more only a few hundred metres away. You can also get a mini bus to Fetheye and other centres - but other than going for a shop at the weekly market - you won't need to go!
One night it was a bit showery, and they lit the huge fire by the open bar area under cover, and we sat around the fire place toasty warm and lots of chat. Really relaxing.
We had eaten out every night as this is our routine - but we stayed for the Turkish night. The food they put on was the best we had eaten in the resort - over 20 things laid out buffet style just for starters, then a BBQ. Got to eat all the things we hadn't already tried which was nice. The entertainment was fine - just went on a bit too long for me - would have liked it to start sooner and be a bit shorter so we might have had a chance to dance! As it was - we were too tired and went to bed.
Pool is very clean, with a toddler pool. There were no children - only a couple of babies/tiny tots - which again we appreciated. So no squabbling or loud behaviour.
We had a super break, essentially because we made a good choice with this hotel, but also because Olu Deniz is small enough to feel manageable but big enough to keep you occupied, and above all because the Turkish folk are the nicest of hosts. Have travelled very widely, and will come back to Turkey for short breaks over and over again.
Thank you Robin.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireEvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 572 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

we stayed for a week at the Tower and wish is was for two. This was our first to Turkey and we hope to return. Our room faced the mountains (yes top floor and no lift) the balcony was the perfect place to read and glance up at the wonderful view. The shower in our bathroom was so powerful it almost knocked you over, put ours at home to shame. Room was cleaned daily and towels replaced if dirty.
Breakfast was an assortment of meats, cheese, toast/bread, jam, honey, fruit and cereal and as much tea, coffee or juice as you needed.
The staff at the hotel were lovely, they were all happy and willing to help and made our stay more enjoyable.
We did hire a fridge for the week a must for keeping 'things' cool (we do like a cuppa in our room) and also a safe which is located near reception.
The evenings were very relaxing, after eating out we would wander back to the hotel, catch up with what other guests had been doing or chat to the hotel staff, of course sampling a drink or two! There was no loud music or anything to distract you from enjoying the evenings. The Turkish night is another matter. Do go its very good value, food and entertainment and if you have a husband like mine who is willing to participate its very funny.
We felt the Tower was in a prime location it is 5 mins walk from all the night life and 'the strip' as we named it. So you are not disturbed by any noise or late night revelers.
Just a short walk from the Tower is the beach and further along is the National Park/blue lagoon. All very nice but we prefered Billy's Beach.
For trips we used Mehmet who is positioned just down from the hotel 'Guide Tours', fantastic value for money and both trips marvelous. We did the boat trip, visiting Blue Cave, St Nick and Butterfly Valley etc and enjoyed a BBQ on the boat. You are given lots of opportunities to jump of the boat and swim but if like me and you need to walk in from the beach you were also catered for.
Our other trip was Fethiye marker and Ghost Town, we had the most wonderful dinner at Ghost town and the whole day was again marvelous. However we did discover we are not good at bartering/haggling.
This is a lovely hotel and yes we shall return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

room's were clean every day cleaners worked very hard . very nice outlook . good pool .
would use this hotel again . had good holiday .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Could not fault this hotel. It was clean, the food was good and the staff, who weren't in your face, could not do enough for you. Would definitely recommend the place and loved it so much that I have changed my booking from the Karbel Beach in September to here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazzaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Just returned from the perfect one week break, and first time in oludeniz and couldnt be happier! The hotel was very picturesque and had everything you could possibly need.
Rooms were comfortable, swimming pool was great and they had a Turkish themed night on Wedsndasy with an open buffet and entertainmnet and was much cheaper than going to the sea front.
I was in two minds about booking this hotel because I had seen some negative reviews but having been there this was all nonsense. I guess there are always people who simply cannot be pleased even on holiday (trust me we saw many of these miserable folk!).
The only thing Id say is that Oludeniz has become a hotspot with the British and as a result many of the restaurants cater with burgers full english breakfast etc which is a shame when Turkey offers some of the best local cuisine you can find anywhere. We ventured on short bus trips into fethiye to eat much better food and a lot cheaper.

I cant really find anything negative about the place or hotel, again maybe the food and gifts are expensive but like I said you can venture out a little, the excursions that are offered are fantastic and would definitly recommend the Jeep safari, paragliding and the 6 island tour.

Simply a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nerdnihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Stayed for a weeks holiday with my sister,my first visit to Turkey.
We arrived Monday evening,checked in at reception and our cases were carried to our room.

I had requested a high floor and that is what we got.The room was basic,clean+ had everything that we required including a hairdryer.The shower room looked brand new and the balcony albeit on the small side was adequate with the bonus of a lovely pool view.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as we like to eat out and were not dissapointed.
There are so many lovely restaurants to eat at and we did not have a bad meal.
our favourites were the Buzz bar,Toscana,Anfora,The secret garden and also ATA Lagoon,average cost of meal £12 per person including a drink,very reasonable.

Our holiday was made by the friendly staff at the hotel who catered to our every need.
Nothing was too much trouble and they all work so hard.
Robin, Ihan and Tom made us feel so welcome and we were entertained and chatted with them well into the early hours .....will never forget!




We made so many friends within the hotel and young and older guests mingled together round the bar area in the evenings.The bbq night is also a great get together for
guests.

The resort of olu-Deniz is beautiful and everything is in close proximaty to the hotel,beaches, restaurants and shops.

Will definetly be returning to this hotel...hopefully very soon!

C&K

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigladyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed here with a friend for 7 nights on half board. We arrived on the Wednesday which happens to be the night of the Turkish BBQ which meant most guests, even those on Bed and Breakfast, had dinner in the Hotel. It was a great start as we were introduced to a lot of the other guests and had some lovely local food.

The hotel is only a short walk to the beach where we spent a couple of days but the pool was a lot nicer as the beach is very rocky and the sunloungers etc are free around the pool. The staff also serve food, drink, ice creams etc round the pool all day.

The room was clean and the shower powerful and hot. The cleaners came in every day and gave fresh towels, tidied up and made the beds.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff - There are staff on duty 24 hours a day and are extremely helpful. If you aren't interested in joking around with them then they will leave you alone but they are very entertaining and joke around the pool during the day and in the bar at night. We were all dancing on the bar with them some nights and having a good laugh. They help the guests to interact and we walked away with contact details of a few people who we plan to see again back in the UK. (Thanks Robin, Tom and Ihan!)

We felt very safe in this hotel and Oludeniz in general. We didn't see any stray dogs as previously mentioned in a review.

TIPS:
- Take your own beach towel as these are not provided
- Take pounds with you as you will need £10 to pay for a visa in the airport and you can pay for activities in pounds which can sometimes be cheaper.
- Take running shoes if you want to do parasailing (which was good fun - I went with Easy riders and they were good)
- Don't do the boat trip if it is a rainy day because it is just cold and miserable!
- Buzz bar on the beach has great food and good cocktails but you will need to book for dinner (lunch ok). Tuscana also very good food (on the main pedestrian street) and the Secret Garden also absolutely amazing food. We ate out three nights even though on half board just to try different places and eat out with friends that we had made on trips and in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldtravellerfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#62 of 102 in Oludeniz
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#46 of 102 in Oludeniz
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flying Dutchman Hotel
Flying Dutchman Hotel
#61 of 102 in Oludeniz
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mavruka Hotel
Mavruka Hotel
#60 of 102 in Oludeniz
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karbel Hotel
Karbel Hotel
#45 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Address: Belcekiz Mah. 236 Sok. No:4, Oludeniz 48375, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: $20 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel Oludeniz
Oludeniz The Tower Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing