We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luke warm food”
Review of Turquoise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Turquoise Hotel
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luke warm food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am sorry to say every meal I had at the hotel was only Luke warm and much the same the chips one day were so cold they were tough when I asked the chef if they had any hot ones he just shrugged the rest of the holiday I can not fault and the chambermaids were lovely as the weather

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    386
    135
    49
    22
See reviews for
641
479
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, uk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This review should be 4*, but could be 1* - I've been generous.

The problems first of all, which basically relate to room cleaning/servicing. While the 2 rooms (303 and 306) we had were kept clean, and the room our adult sons was in was ok otherwise, ours was less satisfactory, we seemed to be the last room on the rounds and the staff got bored, rarely finishing off making up the beds properly. We complained one evening and eventually someone came to finish the job. Then a few days later we came back from the beach to find the room door UNLOCKED and OPEN, and the bed stripped but unmade. More complaints, this time to the duty manager, got things finished off but the quality of service was unacceptable, leaving a room open and unlocked unforgivable. If it had happened earlier in our holiday we'd have asked to change hotels, we will be complaining to our travel company.

Bedding was poor - two single sheets (or an unpleasant cover/sheet) on a double, which had seen better days. Some of the switches and sockets were loose/broken. Everything in desperate need of repair and refurbishment.

What made this so disappointing was that otherwise the hotel was very good. Food was excellent, the dining area crowded but pleasant with one evening a week outside. While breakfasts were samey there was a wide choice, evening meal menus varied and a good mix of Turkish and international food. The draught wine was drinkable, shame 'mixers' for spirits were just water or fizzy drinks, no tonic etc. The 'entertainments' staff were headache inducing!

Reading the comments below about the pool and sunbeds, glad we never used it - seems a waste to come here and not go to the beautiful beach, during the day and watching the sunsets. Lagoon was better for swimming (and we saw a turtle!) though 'beach' was crowded. Agree with the comments below about the resort, not ruined for us but why do the Brits have to have their cholesterol and sky football?

Would recommend the paragliding, but it is a 'dangerous sport' you are jumping off a 6500 mountain - plenty elsewhere about not doing it on the cheap. Our rep booked us with Gravity who were excellent.

Lovely resort, potentially a very good hotel but serious issues to sort out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have booked a 10 night holiday to Hotel Turquoise for Aug next year. Could anyone recommend the nicest rooms to stay in? We will be a family of 4 and both children will be teenagers. I have read some fantastis reviews and hope we enjoy our holiday as much as most others have. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from this hotel. Stayed 21/09 to 28/09/2012. First time to Olu Deniz and was amazed at such a beautiful place. However this was ruined by the usual "English breakfasts" and even a sign for "Tea and scones" that seems to the norm everywhere you go these days. I go abroad to escape all this and I'm sure there are others who feel the same. Turkish cuisine is excellent and if the faddy eaters don't like it I suggest they stay at home or try somewhere else. Please stop foisting your bad habits on someone else's culture. It was so bad I couldn't even get a cup of Turkish tea and when I asked for it they were taken aback!!! The Hotel had it only at breakfast and the rest of the time it was Liptons tea bags. Why is it always British who do this. There were lots of German and Dutch people there and I didnt see one sign advertising sauerkraut!!!!

No one I heard even tried to say something in Turkish and when I did they were delighted. I don't think they have any respect for us as a nation and we are only a means to earn money.

We made the best of the holiday and mostly went elsewhere on trips etc to get away form it all. The hotel was OK and the staff were very nice and if all you can complain about on here is the lack of sunbeds how sad. Turkey is a beautiful country with wonderful people and you are missing out on a lovely experience.

I am sad that I now can't find anywhere in Turkey to holiday where there is none of the above.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tomhiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Once again, another fab holiday had - with friends that we had made at the Turquoise last year. Food was as good as ever, hot and something for everyone (even the fussy eater). Rooms cleaned daily and always spotless. Staff are all lovely and very hardworking - nothing is too much trouble. Special thanks to Ana for sorting Birthday cake, fruit and wine for Linda - who was more than a little surprised and a little tearful at the lovely gesture. Wonderful meal had at the A La Carte Restaurant and excellent value (approx £9 for 3 course). Animation team, good fun and lots of fun had playing water polo again. Will certainly be returning again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tasca1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hubby and I spent 10 days at this lovely resort returning home on 11th September. Having read previous bad reviews I was a bit dubious, but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The standard was very high from the maids to the waiters and bar staff.
The a la carte restaurant is fantastic a 3 course meal for £9.00 each, and the food was out of this world, highly recommend it . The buffet style food in the main restaurant was also good, I don't know how certain guests can complain that there is very little choice, can only think that they are fussy eaters.
Yes we had to get up early to make sure we had a sun bed for the day but at least we used it, unlike some of the foreign guests. They would put towels on more sun beds than they needed and not use them at all, or return later in the day surprised to find that Anna had removed them.
The 'strip' is a must for shopping and it was great to see that all the fake goods, hand bags, perfume, clothing etc are advertised as fake so you do know what you are buying.
This was our second visit to Olu Deniz and if we are lucky enough to go back again we will certainly consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are fine if you want to be nearer the swimming pool, bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DASUS098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Couple aged 24-28 - Stayed 18th Sep - 24th Sep

Hotel:
Location - The location of the hotel was perfect. Close enough to walk to the strip, beach & blue lagoon but not too noisy. Took around an hour to reach from Dalaman airport. Close to town to reach Dolmisus if you want to explore local Hisaranou. Only one side of the hotel is facing another hotel. Beautiful scenic mountains surrounding the hotel. The grounds were also kept very well, with lovely flowers and pomigranit and bannana plants.

Food & Drink - Never went hungry. Good choices, hot and fresh. Thought that as it was all inclusive it would be chips and this ... chips and that. There was plenty of choice and I had more fruit & veg there, then I do back home! Every morning there was a chef cooking fresh omlettes, eggs & pancakes outside, and in the evening would be cooking stir frys & fajihata wraps. Drinks were good but would prefer if there was morechoice such as local 'malibu' & local 'archers'. Quick service never had to wait. Every Thursday they have a BBQ night where all the tables are laid on the grass area, not to be missed.

Activities - In the hotel there was always a lot of activities to try. Brothers Speedy & Ronaldo were the entertainment team. My boyfriend particurly enjoyed playing water polo every day and made great friends that way. We also played Killer Darts (I won :o) ) and mini golf. Nearly every evening there was entertainment. Kenyan Tumblers, Fire Show & Turkish Folk Dancing. They were all brilliant. Twice in the week we took part in Bingo which you have to pay extra for, but have top prices. Whatever time of the day we woke up, sometimes not til lunch, we always managed to get a sunbed. But maybe this was because it was later in the year! Most nights Speedy & Ronaldo offer to take people up to Hisarouno to go clubbing. Its £5 each which includes transport there& back, entry and a free shot. We didnt go but those who did said that they didnt have to pay for a single drink all night!

Rooms: We arrived at 5am and was placed into room 101. There was only two of us but we were placed into a family room, containing a double bed an twin beds on the ground floor. This overlooked the Dorion Hotel on the main road and was noisy at night. During the evening we asked to be moved. They showed us to an attic room and i wutomatically declined after reading previous reviews. We did manage to change to 513 the next day though which is on the other side of the hotel and has a nice balcony which overlooked the grassy area. The walls are thin and could hear children next door. I recommend that you keep the bathroom door shut at night as the ceiling panels let most of the noise in. Rooms are very clean, little shabby on the corners, but expected for old hotel. We only saw one cockroach on our holiday and this was down on the strip. Ana says that the town is fumigated reguarly. Towels are cleaned every day as long as you place them in the shower. Always hot water. From room 513 you could hear the call to prayer at around 5am from the local mosque. Its expected if you go to a Muslim country. You sleep through it after a while.

Treatments - On the first day me and my boyfriend had a Turkish Bath together. It is sitiated down by the side of the pool. It is a little shabby again but good prices. We opted for the welcome pack which consisted of a turkish bath, face mask, foot reflexology, and a full body oil massage, it was £20 each and lasted around 1hr 20 minutes. They are some trips that include the turkish bath but it was nice and relaxing one on one time, instead of being in a group. The day before coming home we again had a full body massage together which was around £10 each. I had a manicure at the little beauty shop around the pool for £8. Was cheaper than home but not a massive choice of colours. There are many beauty shops on the strip that are probably better. Boyfriend also had a Turkish shave for £3, he thought that it wasnt any 'closer' than a normal shave, but it was ok.

Town:

Trips - We opted to book our trips through Seaside Travel as recommended by Ana. We booked to do the 6 Island Tour and the Dalyan Mud Baths. The 6 Island Tour was absolutely brilliant and highly recommended. We opted to pay £2 each extra for the smaller boat, we had plenty of room and we also had an english tour guide. As with most trips the lunch was included but drinks were extra. Unfortunatly we were not advised of the following and had only brought enough money for drinks. When the boats pull up on certain beaches, there are men that offer a ride on the jet skis or donuts. Around £15 for two people on a jet ski for half hour and donut rides around £3 each. If we had more cash with us we would of definatly opted for this as there are no jet skis from Olu Deniz beach. During the trip there was old wooden boats that pull alongside selling freshly made pancakes and magnum ice creams. These are recommended. Lunch consists of chicken or trout with noodles, salad & basket of bread. You can pay for chips extra around £2. I suggest you save the money for the pancakes. The Dalyan trip was a verry long day. Pick up from hotel at 8am and drop off around 7.30pm. We were on the big coach for most of the day. It visited a jewellery shop forst of all. We decided to purchase a swarovski turkish eye necklace and chain for around £45 as a keepsake, but they dont pressure you to buy anything. Next stop the river boat, where it takes you to the Mud Baths. Very smelly so I recommend you take some shower gel and spray with you for after. Then boat back to lunch, where the food was hit and miss. In our case it was a miss. Then boat ride onto see the tombs and then Turtle Beach. Entry is around £1 each as it is a conservation site but we were advised about this beforehand. The beach was absolutely beautiful and sunbeds and parasol for £3. We spent around an hour here and saw some loggerhead turtles briefly. I would come back to Dalyan, just to go to Turtle Beach.
Me and my boyfriend were very brave and tried out the paragliding! We went to Sky Sports as again this was recommended by Ana. They were some cheaper paragliding companies on the strip but wouldnt risk £20 each for less safety record. Sky Sports has a 20 year clean record of no accidents. You will hear some horror stories about people dying or having accidents, of course you will, there are 80, 000 people who go skydiving in Olu Deniz every season! Like riding a motorbike there are always risks. On the beach front along the boardwalk ('the runway') is where most of the paragliders land, but Sky Sports have their own deligated landing area on a grassy spot away from the other landers. The drive up to the mountain takes quite long around 30 minutes. Be Brave!!!

Entertainment - We didnt venture out into the strip much in the evening, as everything was provided at the hotel. But on the Friday Night we decided to see Elvis at the Steakhouse. We arrived half hour before he was due on stage and it was absolutley packed. I recommend you get there early to get a good seat. We couldnt leave Turkey without trying a turkish kebab! We headed to the Seahorse on the beachfront. The waiter there was very kind and gave us a discount as he could tell that we didnt have enough cash on us. We also went to Cocktails one evening to try the local Jaegar bombs which were around £3 each. There are only 2 clubs on the strip and it was nice not to see groups of boys on their 'lads holidays'. If you're not brave enough to try the paragliding take a seat at Buzz Beach Bar and watch them landing and take in the scenery, very nice staff there. We took a walk down to the blue lagoon which takes around 20 minutes. Was worth seeing but quite crowded.

Shopping - We bought some much needed new clothes for my boyfriend, and despite what people say I bartered and got a discount with every single shop. Have a look around though as there are some shops that offer 4 shirts for £20 or 3 for £10. We also got some ray bans which were good value at £7 each. But again if you buy more than a couple of items from the shop see if you can get a deal from them. There is Fethiye & Hisarouno markets on the Tuesday & Mondays. Local dolmisus run to them reguarly around £1.50 each. The strip takes english pounds as well. The rate when we were there were 2.85TL to the pound. It is best to exchange most of your money if you want to on the strip but there is no real need to.

This was my first time to Turkey and we would definatly be returning to Olu Deniz. It is a nice area that has enough entertainment but not too much of the 'clubby side'. We will be staying at the Turquoise Hotel again, and the only faults are that walls are thin, but thats being picky. Great food and drink, good entertainment, friendly and clean.

Room Tip: Recommend using blocks 5 or 6. Avoid attic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hostie_Hearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#16 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#22 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
454 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Hotel

Property: Turquoise Hotel
Address: Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#24 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#37 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turquoise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Turquoise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing