We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such an unusual holiday village soon to be gone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocakkoy Holiday Village
Ranked #80 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Otford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such an unusual holiday village soon to be gone!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week. We had all the quiet we needed high up on the hill overlooking Ovacik. We probably wouldn't have chosen to go in the school holidays as we don't have young children and the poolsides are fairly well populated. However, we were out and about. There is a path to the main road. No need for a car if you can walk up and down hill for about 7mins. The longest we waited for a minibus(Dolmus), was only 5 mins, even after midnight. We took a torch for the walk back. We walked out through the restaurant to the quiet roads down to Ovacik. It took no more than half an hour's walk even though it was hot! We didn't try to walk over the hill to Fethiye but we heard it is worth it, probably when it is cooler. Ocakkoy could have been another Kayakoy, just a ruin but to have the opportunity to stay in these quirky old cottages with their variously sloping floors and experience them is rare as they are an endangered holiday option. Not for those who want the room service phone, TV or minibar but it soon will be a smart, shiny new, holiday anywhere formula, set of villas. Same old, same old.

Room Tip: Free wifi in some places. Detached cottage No 11 up on the hill, brilliant if you like it quiet, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was our third time at Ocakkoy, and we are sorry to report since the Orka group have bought the resort our review has been reduced from 5 stars normally to a rather generous 3. If you are visiting this year do not pick bed and breakfast the food is woeful, breakfast was often unpleasant and quite frankly sometimes inedible, uncooked watery eggs (no longer fresh from the resident chickens that have disappeared) on underdone toasted stale bread, with a glass of fresh orange juice (not included and costing 3 times as much as a full breakfast in Hisaronu). The chef sand waiters that were there for years have all gone which is a loss to the resort. On the positive side, the cottages are still lovely and the place extremely peaceful and relaxing but if the rumours are too be believed its all going to be bulldozed anyway. I'm glad we found Ocakkoy when we did and enjoyed when it was at its best, time to move on elsewhere next year.

Room Tip: Cottage No 32 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed here twice in the last ten years and it's utterly magical. I've compared every holiday to the ones we've had here and nowhere has come close so I'm very upset to read the village will soon disappear. If anyone hears anything about this and how something could be done, please post. It's actually made me very upset to read this. All the staff were lovely, the wildlife, the pools the tiny cottages, the goats wandering around. My kids will be upset too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank allyo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

First time we stayed here, very impressed with the accommodation. Very clean and the staff all look out for their guests. Very impressive view of the town. Would recommend hiring a car as it is a bit tucked away. Nicely air coned rooms and a very clean pool.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam_Senk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Robert R has said everything that needs to be said, so we will not bore readers with repetition. We have stayed in Ocakkoy every year since 1994, it is a paradise beyond price and part of Turkeys rural heritage. I cannot imagine how this company got permission to develop this site and simply turn the area into one large housing estate. I am sure that these soulless boutique villas will not be around in a hundred years so go while you can. Enjoy the peace, serenity and wild life in an unspoilt haven. We too are gutted

Liz and Brian underhill

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a very special, relaxed piece of Turkey; a real haven from the hustle and bustle of Fethiye, Calis Hisaranou and Oludeniz. Bags of character and we have stayed here now 10 times - says it all really! Restored traditional stone cottages set amongst mature fruiting trees and flowering shrubs on the edge of a forest and all with a backdrop of beautiful hills. Watch the wildlife as you sit outside your cottage - tortoises wandering by, squirrels and jays chattering in the trees. The accommodation is flexible which means that you can self cater, eat at the bar or venture farther afield by walking 10 minutes through the woods to catch the local dolmus (bus) into Oludeniz, Fethiye or Hisaranou etc if you want (cost good value between about 80p to Hisaranou or £1.00 e/w to Oludeniz/Fethiye). Imagine our sadness to learn on our arrival this year that Ocakkoy has been sold to Orka Homes and we are lead to believe the new owners are planning this Autumn/Winter to raze it to the ground and make way for modern villas. The special quality of this place was reflected by the shocked reaction of the guests staying there. I doubt many hotel sites would evoke such stark reaction - I witnessed several people openly cry as they passed on the news. Many people have been coming to this little Turkish haven for years - some as much as 20! How sad that the rarity of this type of site has not been recognised - the restored 100 year old cottages and truly village feel to the place, once gone, can never be recaptured. What price will be paid for developing yet another set of expensive and modern boutique villas? So, if you want to enjoy living in a Turkish village with amenities of bar, two excellent pools, and easy access to the towns, be quick as it will probably not be there after the season closes at the end of September. Where will we find this again.........Gutted.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 12 which is situated towards the back of the village and quite quiet which suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I visited during the first 2 weeks of May. The complex had only just opened for the season and not all the facilities were available. However, the complex manager, Mehmet, sorted all the, very minor issues, without any fuss. He actually made the holiday for us. He was always available for excellent and sound advice. Nothing seemed too much for him. The accommodation is set on a hillside overlooking the village/small town of Ovacik and further towards Olu Deniz. The accommodation is rustic but spotlessly clean. Bedding and towels were changed every few days and room cleaned every day. All in all a great place to stay if you just want to relax and enjoy the weather. An ideal place to stay to explore this part of SW Turkey. We hired a car, arranged from the UK, but could easily have managed using the local Dolmus. Highly Recommended. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Due to the layout, anyone with severe mobility issues may struggle on the footpaths, which are undul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highland-Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Manager at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We thank you for staying with us. It is our job to make you happy and satisfied during your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you guys. Looking forward to serving you somewhere else soon. Thank you.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.0 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morina
Hotel Morina
#19 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oyster Residences
Oyster Residences
#37 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
#75 of 102 in Oludeniz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocakkoy Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocakkoy Holiday Village

Property: Ocakkoy Holiday Village
Address: Catallar Mevki Alacik Mah., Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#47 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#51 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocakkoy Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Those who have been to Ocakkoy once admit that this really exists. To be in love with a place where nature is still allowed to remain nature, where time seems to have come to a standstill and where a respectful attitude towards the environment has resulted in the creation of an idyllic holiday environment. The holiday village of Ocakkoy lies close to the Lycian coast, halfway between Fethiye and Oludeniz, arguably the most beautiful beach in Turkey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocakkoy Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocakkoy Holiday Village Hotel Oludeniz
Ocakkoy Holiday Village Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing