We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dire” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcan Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marcan Resort Hotel
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dire”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Still here on holiday. Pool lovely
Food bad . No structure. It's a shame because it could be really nice. It defiantly needs looking at.
No clean towels for 2 days
Entertainment too late if you have children.
Entertainment through the day is very limited. If this hotel isn't looked after by management it will lose customers. I will come back to olu deniz but not hotel.
Staff are really nice to be fair and general manager is helpful. He needs to take a trip to other hotels to see how they are ran .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raceyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    277
    116
    35
    18
See reviews for
196
365
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Restaurant - There is a problem with Flies and wasps - salads look nice until you see the flies sitting on it. You have to fight through the wasps to get to the hot food outside. Not much choice of hot food very repetitive. Restaurant very hot! no air-conditioning. Wine warm from restaurant bar. Too many people getting ill for at least 5 days. Snack bar - no shelter when queuing/eating food. Chef using glove to handle food (great) but same glove on raw meat then onto salad and bread! Paid for an all-inclusive but had to eat out most evenings. Holiday costing twice as much as we anticipated. Thankfully restaurants close by. Maybe the hotel will listen to their guests an iron out any problems that are being written about time and time again.

Room Tip: for a family of three rooms are on the small side with a put up bed for third person. Block A seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 70Leen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the marcan resort from the 29th of July until the 12h of August. On arrival (1am) we were very pleased with the speedy service and the lovely porter who helped us take our bags to our room. We had specified that we would like a room higher up but we landed with a room on the bottom floor, as we were exhausted we chose not to make a complaint. We stayed in block A. This block was the more isolated of the blocks, which we thought would be wonderful as we wouldn't have to deal with noise in the morning and night. However, on the first night the young teens in the room next to us had 'company' and due to the laughter and loud talking we were unable to sleep. My partner went to reception to make a complaint and we were told it would be dealt with, but nothing was done about it that night. We went back to reception to talk to them about this and they then called the room to 'deal with it'.

Our day at the hotel was peaceful but we were unable to get sunbeds until 13:00 due to the large demand. We were told by many of the guests not to drink the water from the bar because staff had been seen filling this water from a hose. The bar service was slow and the female bartenders weren't very friendly.
There was a fantastic snack bar that served, pizza, burgers and paninis from 2-5pm, with wonderful service.
At night there was great entertainment which was nice to watch and most people began to go back to their rooms after 11pm.
We'd hoped that since we had made a complaint we would be able to get a good nights sleep. However the room next door seemed to be a hotspot for the teens in the hotel. Between 12-4am was the usual gathering time for the girls and their male friends. Our first week or so was spent listening to them laugh/shout/talk. One girl stumbled into our balcony and then attempted to climb over the small wall to get back to her friends after one too many drinks and two of the teens were arguing right outside OUR balcony. After about a week we went to reception and asked if we could have a different room and they rudely refused and informed us that there were no more rooms available, even though our friends had told us that the room next to theirs had been vacant for the past 3 days.

Overall:
1) our room reeked of sewage and nothing was done to fix that.
2) we had no hot water for the first 4 days of our stay.
3) the cleaners removed many items from our room, such as drinks.
4) out ashtray was used even thought neither one of us smoked.
5) the food was very repetitive.
6) bar was closed for breakfast leaving you with the option of, tea, hose water and warm orange juice.
7) a lot of the staff were very rude (this is not including a wonderful member of the entertainment staff, Sena)
8) the hotel was overrun by kids and teenagers between ages of 13-20
9) loud music and noise even after late hours
10)we had no air con for the first few days and that was not sorted out by the staff quick enough

This hotel could do with many improvements and deserves the 3 star rating. I would not return here on my next holiday, that's for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leannapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Marcan from 29/8 - 6/9 and had a great time in oludeniz. I would say a 3 star grading by Thomas Cook is fair enough for this hotel. Starting with the positives: the hotel was in a fantastic location, the staff in the majority were really friendly and eager to help, there was plenty of sunbeds available, even after 9 o clock, there was a good variety of alcohol available at the bar, pool was good and area kept clean, the room we had for two people was massive and had two balconies, breakfast was good, the snack bar and ice cream was lovely and desserts at night really tasty. Finally i thought the rep dished out some good advice about the local bars and restaurants without giving it the hard sell for trips. For the negatives, which i have to say didn't spoil our holiday but are worth pointing out to justify an 3/5 rating: The toilet in our room stank (could have been the previous occupants of the room were putting the paper down the toilet), rooms weren't cleaned at all really, sheets not changed once in the week we stayed there, toilet not cleaned or floors, no bin in room, fridge in room didnt work nor did the phone, no hot water until after 11 o clock in the morning (i understand though this could be due to the solar panel heating system used in turkey). The food at night although plenty of variety lacked flavour, it reminded me a bit of what school dinners were like! i liked school dinners but they didn't really excite you but were fine for filling a hole.

Not a negative, but more of an observation with regards to the entertainment. It was your standard kinda fare (karaoke, bingo, quiz, film, turkish dancers etc etc). Just depends what your tastes are, it seemed to be ticking the boxes of most folk though.

Overall we had a good stay at the Marcan and a fantastic holiday in turkey. I sympathise with those that seem to have had a genuinely poor time there but that wasnt our experience. I gave it 3/5 which Tripadvisor labels as "average" but i would say the Marcan was "good" just not anything amazing. We booked it as a 4 star but which was then downgraded to a 3 star which is a fair assessment of the hotel, We got the holiday at a cheap rate and thought we were getting a good deal on a 4 star at an introductory price, i suppose thats the gamble you take though when booking a brand new hotel. If we had booked it as a 3 star i would give the Marcan a higher grading as it would have been what we thought we payed for however thats possibly more thomas cooks fault than the Marcans. But if your going expecting 4 star i think you would be a little underwhelmed. Having said that the negatives didnt spoil our stay but if they were improved on could make the Marcan a place for people to return to year on year for a cheap beach holiday in a fantastic holiday resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El-Hadj-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lovely hotel!! my stay was made by the most welcoming staff!!!!! more variety in food needed but overall very good! became on first name terms with a lot of staff, miss them all, would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 668anonymousreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Marcan Resort at the end of August in a family room. On arrival we had to wait approx 1.5 hrs for our room to be ready. The staff were very nice and apologetic and we received a free late checkout for the inconvenience.

The room was spacious, but the bathroom could have been bigger. The main issue with the rooms was cleanliness. On a few occasions we had to call for something to be rectified, whether floors mopped, no towels left or bedding changed. A travel cot was brought in for my son which was covered in dead bugs, I cleaned it out and put pillows as a mattress.

The hotel grounds were always clean and we always managed to find sun beds around the pool.

The food variety was very good, even my one year old son ate very well. The only issue with the food is that it wasn't labelled clearly. The label was say "grilled meat" but not state what meat.

The hotel staff were always friendly and took a shine to my son so were always coming over to say hello to him. The entertainment was quite good, though one night they had a "Miss Marcan Resort" night which was quite misleading, as it turned out to be adult themed games.

Overall I would return to Marcan Resort, but I hope they sort out the room cleanliness and food label issues.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Shantel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having lived in Turkey for a year being a rep I have seen many hotels from 1 star to 5 star. We had travelled along the coast and had not booked a hotel. We arrived out of the blue and asked if we could have a room for three nights. First impressions were very good, friendly staff, great interior and very accommodating. We were given a room and we were pleased with the hotel. The food selection was amazing. very fresh and very tasty.

I would liken to point out to those who have taken pics of unfinished building or building stuff surrounding the hotel,small cracks in the paving or other minor issues I would say that this hotel is a very good standard and a true 4 star in turkey. If you expect more from a place DO NOT choose Turkey as a holiday destination and if all you do is stroll about looking for the negative and that is all you have to worry about in life then you are extremly lucky but very sad.

I will be returning to this hotel and will fully recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lozzaljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.1 mi away
Montebello Resort
Montebello Resort
#32 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turquoise Hotel
Turquoise Hotel
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
#54 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
Manaspark Hotel Oludeniz
#26 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcan Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcan Resort Hotel

Property: Marcan Resort Hotel
Address: Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marcan Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing