We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marcan Resort Hotel
Ranked #44 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great holiday, lovely hotel!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Marcan Resort at the end of August in a family room. On arrival we had to wait approx 1.5 hrs for our room to be ready. The staff were very nice and apologetic and we received a free late checkout for the inconvenience.

The room was spacious, but the bathroom could have been bigger. The main issue with the rooms was cleanliness. On a few occasions we had to call for something to be rectified, whether floors mopped, no towels left or bedding changed. A travel cot was brought in for my son which was covered in dead bugs, I cleaned it out and put pillows as a mattress.

The hotel grounds were always clean and we always managed to find sun beds around the pool.

The food variety was very good, even my one year old son ate very well. The only issue with the food is that it wasn't labelled clearly. The label was say "grilled meat" but not state what meat.

The hotel staff were always friendly and took a shine to my son so were always coming over to say hello to him. The entertainment was quite good, though one night they had a "Miss Marcan Resort" night which was quite misleading, as it turned out to be adult themed games.

Overall I would return to Marcan Resort, but I hope they sort out the room cleanliness and food label issues.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Shantel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    304
    137
    43
    33
See reviews for
231
419
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having lived in Turkey for a year being a rep I have seen many hotels from 1 star to 5 star. We had travelled along the coast and had not booked a hotel. We arrived out of the blue and asked if we could have a room for three nights. First impressions were very good, friendly staff, great interior and very accommodating. We were given a room and we were pleased with the hotel. The food selection was amazing. very fresh and very tasty.

I would liken to point out to those who have taken pics of unfinished building or building stuff surrounding the hotel,small cracks in the paving or other minor issues I would say that this hotel is a very good standard and a true 4 star in turkey. If you expect more from a place DO NOT choose Turkey as a holiday destination and if all you do is stroll about looking for the negative and that is all you have to worry about in life then you are extremly lucky but very sad.

I will be returning to this hotel and will fully recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lozzaljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Just had a week here. Wish I had booked two now . Great hotel in a great location. The food was the best I have had at all inc in this area. Have tried six others previous but this was by far the best. All the staff were great and always helpful . The room was very modern and well maintained. Hope I can book there next year. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from the Marcan Resort in Olu Deniz. From start to finish, the experience was a complete disaster!

The holiday was booked on the 3rd January 2013 at a cost of £1722.00. Marketed as a new hotel, due for completion in May 2013. To quote directly from the tour operators site: "4-5 Star expected, (please see Tripadvisor for other travellers who were under the same impression) a great place for couples to relax!"
For an all-inclusive holiday at the expected star rating we believed it was a good offer aimed at attracting visitors to get the hotel on the map.

We arrived on the 21st July in the early hours of the morning (eventually arriving at the hotel just before 4am, very tired). The night manager spoke little English and suggested that any questions could be dealt with the following day by daytime staff. We were shown to a ground floor room adjacent to the pool area. It did not resemble the illustration that we had viewed on the TO website when booking. It was tiny, without windows other than the patio doors which were the only entrance/exit; the room was to say the least HOT. There was no drinking water in the room and after a 2 hours transfer we were gasping! We got to bed at 4.45 but were woken by sunbeds being rearranged (dragged around) outside our room at 6.30. By 7.00, kids were running up and down directly outside screaming at their parents who shouted back. We could not open the curtains as the whole pool area could see directly into the room. We went to the reception and asked to be moved. We were advised that we would have to wait until Tuesday but as the day went on we noticed that higher rooms in other blocks were vacant.

We stayed around the pool area the day of our arrival, obviously shattered from the journey and lack of sleep, but from 10.00 onwards very loud music was played, at 17.00 it stopped only to be replaced by the bar turning their noise level up. At 21.30 the junior disco started and at 22.30 onwards adult evening events took place.

This is by no means a great place for couples to relax! You could not escape the noise anywhere in the hotel at all. It has been over-developed for the plot size of the hotel.

We saw the TO's Rep the first morning (Sunday) of our stay and asked to be moved to another hotel. We explained that it was more like an 18-30 holiday camp not a 4/5 star hotel. The TO's Rep then advised us that the hotel had actually been graded as a 3 star not 4! She contacted TC in England who asked how much we were willing to pay to move and that we would have to pay a cancellation fee which I was not happy about. I reluctantly suggested that £400 would be the maximum we could pay. I did not see why I had to pay to more when the hotel was so obviously misrepresented on the TO's website but we were desperate to have a good holiday and that was not going to happen at this hotel!

On the Monday the TO's Rep came back with just one choice of hotel to move to which would cost another £850 on top of the £1722.00 we had already paid.
There was no way that we could justify such an increase in cost - for £2500 we could have booked far more luxurious accommodation in a number of locations elsewhere in the world.

We advised her that we would be happier if we could get away from the bar area on the ground floor. She asked the management to move us there end then to a higher level as far away from all the noise as possible. This happened but you could feel the resentment from the reception staff. There were various empty rooms on the top floor in the block they moved us to however when being moved the hotel tried to put us in a ground level room once more so back to the reception we went and we did get a higher room eventually.

After a very noisy day around the pool we returned to the new room to get ready for the evening. The room was like a furnace! Our problems did not end there.

Main issues:
1) Air Conditioning: No Air Con for 8 nights, room temp was over 30°C. Engineer visited 4 times to our knowledge but only played with the handset. The AC unit turned out to be faulty. This led to 8 nights of very little sleep, we got up early and attempted to sleep around the pool.
2) No Hot Water: For the whole of the 13-night stay we did not have hot water to shower with in the morning. After a night in such temperatures this was unhygienic and is a basic, essential requirement.
3) Bad Stench: The air vents in the floor of the bathroom allowed the smell from the sewerage system to back flow. We managed this by keeping the bathroom door closed and placing a wet towel along the base of the door. When opened in the morning the smell hit you. Although you are advised to always keep your balcony doors locked when you are out, the maids left them open to try to minimise the smell.
4) Check Out: We arranged a late check out (in front of our TC Rep, Catherine). We had negotiated this as a complimentary service due to all the trouble we had under gone whilst staying at the hotel. When we returned to the hotel on the day of our evening check out, to our utter horror our cases and a string of carrier bags plus our rucksacks were sitting outside reception - completely unsecured and left out in the heat. The hotel staff had packed our belongings and removed them from the room.

When we questioned the reception staff, one manager seemed not to understand what the other manager had done. There was then an issue as apparently one reception manager had not communicated the details correctly to the next duty manager taking over. After 30 mins. of animated conversation, the duty manager who agreed to the complimentary extension appeared as did the hotel manager. The agreement was clearly written in their record book.
The Manager (Osgur) of the hotel asked us to go into another area, away from reception where other guests were gathering where he apologised and agreed that it should have never happened and that nobody should have packed our bags.
5) Passports and Money: These had been left in the safe in the room but the room had already been allocated to new guests, luckily they had not arrived!
6) Items, small items went missing: deodorant, a hairbrush, toothbrushes, my partners perfume had been dropped and the top broken so it leaked. Half a box of tampons gone! Bottled water we had purchased had also been removed and packed in the front of our cases.

Items 1 - 3 above were reported every morning to the reception and logged in a book yet very little happened.

Other Issues:
7) No chairs on the balcony, reported 2-3 days running before they finally appeared.
8) Pool side towels: You are only allowed fresh towels every 3 days and in such heat this is unhygienic. When we went to change our towels on the 7th day we were told we had already had 2 sets of towels. We said that we were there for 2 weeks and eventually the man reluctantly handed over fresh ones.
9) Soiled toilet tissue bins in bathrooms were not emptied daily; as we are 2 women and have to deal with women's issues this was not nice at all.
10) Heavy blankets covered the bed; we requested a sheet due to the heat, 5 days in a row from reception. On the 5th day we took the blanket to reception and it was eventually exchanged for a sheet. Unfortunately this was removed the next day by housekeeping. We gave up!
11) Fridges: The very cheap, inefficient fridge in each room barely cooled anything place inside and produced so much heat that the worktop above and outer door were hot to the touch! We turned it off.
12) The Gym: The rowing machine had been put together wrongly, my partner requested it be fixed for 2 days and showed the English woman who looked after the area what was wrong. Nothing was done. Eventually, my partner got tools from the maintenance man and showed him how to assemble the machine correctly and safely. (My partner is an experienced, competitive rower). There were also no towels, paper towels etc. in the gym, you were expected to use the pool towel you were issued for 3 days. Not very hygienic when the gym is not air conditioned and reaches temperatures of 35°C.
13) Wi-fi: The hotel boasts wi-fi available in rooms but this is simply untrue. It is impossible to get a wi-fi signal in any of the rooms and the availability in the reception area is sporadic and cannot be relied on.



Cleanliness and Health Issues:
1) We were up by 6.00 am each morning due to the heat in our room and movement of sunbeds around the pool as people 'reserved' sunbeds for the day, we never witnessed the pool being tested or cleaned. We were usually sat around the pool by 6.45am each day and noticed, by the second week, that the pool had an oily film on the surface.
2) Tummy upsets broke out. This may have been transmitted by the pool, but equally could have been the snack bar food as that was our only experience of suffering tummy upsets.
3) There is no pool-side shower - people get into the pool but there is no adjacent shower to rinse off before/after. I have never known this before in a hotel.
4) 'Accidents' happened in the communal pool-side toilets. On one occasion it appeared that someone had not reached the cubicle in time - the excrement on the floor was not cleaned up for several hours.
5) Our room had tissues and cigarette packets under the bed. We also noticed that after we showered our feet got dirty very quickly, the floor was not washed/cleaned.
6) Dirty crockery was left by guests all over the stairwells. In some cases this was not removed for over 24 hours.

Food and Beverages:
1) Breakfast was the same each day. The chefs were not adequate. On one occasion I witnessed a man request a mushroom omelette. The chef added cheese despite the man requesting "no cheese"and poured an excessive amount of vegetable oil into the dish. It was so disgusting that the man, and I, both walked away. Also the glass bowl containing ham was on the windowsill for the entire 2 hour breakfast slot, in temperatures already exceeding 28°C.
2) Bread on 2 mornings was so stale that it was solid. When shown to staff they just shrugged their shoulders.
3) Butter spread smelled and tasted metallic, when pointed out to the head waiter he looked at the date, removed all the butter spread but no replacements appeared!
4) Chicken Nuggets offered as a main dish? We couldn't believe it either!
5) No obvious meat ever on offer, only meat mixes, i.e. casserole mixed with veg, chicken curry, neither of which contained recognisible meat and both looked like slops.
6) Salads were all the same but dressed to look different (chopped tomato/cucumber, diced tomato/cucumber, sliced tomato/cucumber etc).
7) Cheese and cold meat options were very limited and tasteless compared to what was available outside the hotel.
8) No fruit juice, just squash that was too strong some days and like water on others.
9) Coffee was from a machine, cheap and tasteless.
10) Tea bags ran out and were never topped up in the 2 weeks we were there.
11) There are no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and no room service so at various points in a 24 hour cycle you cannot get a hot drink.

Management

1) Staff on reception were seldom authorised to make decisions so getting an answer to a simple query could take days.
2) Managers promised to take action but this did not always happen.
3) Management did not take the TO's Rep seriously as she seemed exasperrated trying to get them to deal with customer issues.
4) Reception staff spoke little other languages unlike other hotels of the marketed star rating. When they did not know or could not do something their excuse was that they were new and had only been there a week, however they had been there since we arrived.

Summary:

We gave up eating, drinking and spending time at the hotel to try and save our holiday. From day 3 we never ate or drunk there again at a cost of over £700 that we had not catered for.

We also note that the hotel is now being advertised as a 3 or 4 star in different areas of the Tour Operators website. Its description has also been changed. Cost has been reduced and it is considerably cheaper that the fee we paid. This adds injury to our feelings as this has been a painful and difficult holiday experience.

The TO's Rep clearly knew of the main issues and seemed to be fighting an on-going battle on behalf of guests at the Marcan Resort.

We feel that the orginal marketing of this product was misleading with regards to the type of resort the hotel is. Thomas Cook could have advised clients who had booked early, before the hotel was completed, that it had not met expectations and had been awarded a lower star rating.

A choice should have been made available to proceed with the holiday or change resort. It was a stressful, tearful experience. This has been the worst holiday of our lives, time that we will never get back. We have been travelling with this tour operator and its sister companies for over 30 years and never had this level of problems before.

On a cheerful note, the back ground music to breakfast was - The Death March.........Just sums it up!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

have just returned from this hotel and will start with the negatives.The hotel is not complete.We had a hole in the wall of our room with bare wires. On our arrival had only one towel , this was increased to 3 .but never got changed or the bed linen until after 5 days when I complained. but I was informed it was hotel policy to only clean the rooms every 2nd day. If this was the policy then surely on cleaning day , the rooms should be thoroughly cleaned. Now the positives . Always plenty of choice for food and always something to eat whatever time of day . The bar staff were amazing they worked so hard and were always efficient and friendly. The animation team(2) were always working and did an excellent job to keep guests entertained.The star barman has unfortunately left to continue his studies . Mustafa the Manager was always around and does an amazing job.and I am sure that when the housekeeping policy is brought in line with all the other hotels and the electrics are completed then the hotel will prosper, as for security there are more cctv cameras around the hotel than in any other resort, My husband and I wish Mustafa all the best with his career at this hotel.

Room Tip: our room was in D block ground floor and was behind the pool bar but there was certainly no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After looking at the reviews for this hotel, I was abit worried about going there, as there had been abit of negativity regarding this hotel, how surprised I was the hotel was lovely, the staff are all friendly and helpful, the food is fantastic, food is available throughout the day at various times, plenty of sunbeds, lovely rooms. I cannot wait to book my next holiday there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool on the 2nd floors are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a brilliant time at this hotel. Fantastic staff -always smiling and couldn't do enough for you. Food was wonderful. Lots of choice, good quality and really tasty. Cleaning was a bit hit and miss but if you asked, it was sorted quickly. I've read many reviews about this hotel and the one thing that I would say is rather than sitting around the pool moaning, talk to the hotel.... They bent over backwards to ensure people had a good holiday and were very quick to resolve any problems. Pool was clean and slides great fun. I would definitely recommend this hotel and already looking for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.1 mi away
Montebello Resort
Montebello Resort
#31 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,101 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Nicholas Park
St Nicholas Park
#21 of 102 in Oludeniz
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#22 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
#54 of 102 in Oludeniz
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcan Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcan Resort Hotel

Property: Marcan Resort Hotel
Address: Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marcan Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing