We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gorkem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gorkem Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries and Galloway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Great hotel run by a really lovely, hard-working family, spotlessly clean. Room basic but more than adequate for the price. Food good and reasonably priced Have already left a deposit to secure a room next year! Enough said I think."

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deneo-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    49
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
67
169
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

my husband and myself had a great holiday at this hotel ,the breakfast was turkish but very nice .there was a range of english breakfast at a price which was afordableand very nice .the family that owned the hotel where very fiendly and helpful .the views where beutiful from the room and the hotel was cenral for everything youwanted to do

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvbuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We arrived after a night flight and had chosen this hotel on the basis of the good reviews seen on this site and the photos of the rooms on their website. We were put in the oldest accommodation block and to be honest it was like a cell. To say it was basic was being kind.
I complained and we were moved but to be honest it was only slightly better but we decided to stay as the staff seemed ok and the gardens / bar area were nice.
The staff were really good apart from the manager who seemed to take it personally if we requested something or complained .
We ate in the hotel a number of times and the food was very good and only slightly more expensive than in town.
It was noted that as people arrived they were being allocated rooms and then complained and were being shuffled around as people left.
We had no problem with other guests, they were all friendly and there were no noise problems etc.
Would I recommend this hotel - it depends on your expectations... If you just want a base to travel and don't want to sit on your balcony having a drink in the evenings (we had childrens plastic stools and there were notices everywhere that you were not allowed your own food and drink in your room - as well as no fridge in the rooms) then it's ok. When we got our invoice from the holiday company the room cost £28 for the week so I suppose you get what you pay for!
I wanted somewhere slightly better in that we would have a room where you could spend time relaxing in the evening before going out - this hotel didn't have that although the rooms shown on the website looked ok but obviously didn't reflect the majority of the accommodation .

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillynwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

we have just got back from the gorkem,we stayed 21st aug to 4thsept and had a great time, we went b+b which you get your turkish breakfast( bread olives salad, boiled eggs,melon,jams etc),we had 2 teenage boys with us who never seen breakfast due to there late arrivals getting up,but there is plenty enough on menu,s to order ,rooms are basic but spacious enough and does what you need it to do if you are just sleeping in them,they were cleaned every other day .we never had to put towels out round the pool there was always beds available. food is excellent,staff very accomodating, a big thanks to illias,gorkem ,trouble ,sadik, you all are great hosts, no need for alarm calls with the cockerels,but you do get use to the little blighters in the end lol.i would recommend this hotel to people without a doubt,it is a lovely family run hotel and they all work so very hard , THANKYOU TO YOU ALL MISS YOU XXXXXX

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dido1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humberside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Arrived at the Gorkem on 1st September at 3.55am. We were looking for a check in desk etc and was greeted by a whistle from on of the staff. Was shown to our room which was 205 a double. Room was very very basic old bed and furniture consisted of 1 wobbly wardrobe and a couple of old chest of drawers. Very dusty and small. Just got to sleep at 5am was woke by a cockrel screetching its head off and the mosque which blasted out muslim prayers to attend the mosque. Breakfast basic turkish food cheese cucumber tomatoes olives hard boiled eggs and bread. Also watermelon. We didnt eat in the hotel at all and we felt we were scrutinised for not doing so. The family run hotel staff didnt really speak much but i think they would have if we spent all day at the hotel like all the other sunbed hogging guests that were there. Hotel had pool table and tv thats all. No bar b q no kareoke nothing really for entertainment. We had a nice view of the mountains from our room and the gardens in the hotel were very nice though. Our bedding and towels were only changed twice during our 1 week stay. Even though we put our dirty towels on the landing to be changed we found the same towels put back on our beds later in the day. The bathroom light bulb didnt work and despite asking for 2 days only got changed when i nagged one of the staff 3 days later. The area was stunning though the views etc were great. We caught a dolmus each day a short walk from the hotel and went to oludeniz beach but beach very rocky you need something on your feet agony if you dont. The bus was about 4 lira there and same back. If you do visit the beach they charge 6 lira per sunbed and 6 lira for your umbrella so not cheap if you have a family. We went to the blue lagoon which was stunning and spent the day on the beach there but the same charges apply for beds and brollies and the food etc much more expensive also it costs 4 lira to enter as it is a wildlife area. The greedy dolmus bus drivers will try and pack as many people as possible on to their bus to the point where even the isle in the bus is packed with people stood up. Dont use the taxis they are expensive and a rip off. We can recommend the boat trips we went on 2 one from Fethiye which visited 12 islands where they stop for a swim etc. Your meal is included in the price which is 30 lira each. All in all we had a lovely holiday in Turkey but you get what you pay for as far as the hotel is concerned, but it didnt spoil our first time in Turkey. We will definately go back to Turkey but wont stay in the Gorkem again. We would stay a bit closer to the shops and beach in Hisaranu. We ate out in Hisaranu every night but be careful when thinking of having a set menu as some how they dont charge what they say the meal costs. Also in the rooms there is no phone or tv but air con is 4 lira per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the Gorkem Hotel, our first trip to Turkey. We booked independently and the cost for our stay was remarkable (£10 per night per room, peak season) The Hotel was pretty much what we expected for a 2 star Hotel. Although the rooms were small with inadequate storeage space for our clothes, it was clean and did the job. The pool and the gardens were very nice and the bar prices reasonable. The staff and management were friendly and we did not endure the hassle that we experienced when away from the Hotel.

However, like previous reviewers, our holiday was spoiled by two large noisey groups of people holidaying together who had no consideration for anyone other than themselves. Sunbeds were claimed first thing in the morning or the previous night. Teenagers in the groups ran amok in the grounds, and the pool was a no go area with no chance of a relaxing swim. We have to say that it wasn't entirely the teenagers fault here, blame should be laid with their parents who failed to keep them under control and at times seemed to encourage the boisterous behaviour. We appreciate that everyone has different expectations but some consideration for other guests would not have gone amiss. We did not make any complaints adopting the live and let live approach, but on checking out at the end of our holiday the owners apoligised to us for the behaviour of the groups.

Our salvation was a neighbouring Hotel who allowed us to use their pool. They had a policy of no reserving of sunbeds, it was wonderfully peaceful and relaxing, and just what we had hoped for at the Gorkem.

In conclusion, the Hotel itself is perfectly adequate and potentially a gem. It is just pot luck who is there when you are - perhaps peak season is the time to avoid if you want a chill out relaxing break (unfortunately we are tied to peak season).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rural-Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
1,212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
405 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorkem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorkem Hotel

Property: Gorkem Hotel
Address: Oludeniz Mah. Incircik 2 Cad. No: 39, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorkem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorkem hotel provides its guests a very peaceful atmosphere in a-so-green setting. In our facility, along with a A-la Carte Restaurant with various choice of food, there is a bar and an open swimming pool surrounded by trees and colorful flowers. In Gorkem Hotel’s all rooms air-conditioning and hair-dryer provided , the balconies have the perfect panoramic view of the garden and the Babadag mountain. Due to our location we are in such an appropriate position inbetween Ölüdeniz and Fethiye that you can reach either within 10-15 min of bus journey. On th other hand we are only 36km away from the Dalaman airport. We also do provide our guests airport transfere service and free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Gorkem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing