We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holidays at the gorkem hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gorkem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gorkem Hotel
Ranked #7 of 50 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great holidays at the gorkem hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

yet another wonderfull 3 week stay at the gorkem hotel having also stayed for 2 weeks in june. It amazes me how each holiday seems be so different and so enjoyable and still find new places to visit .We have been staying at this hotel for 16 years and return every year to a wonderful reception from the hard working family that run this hotel.It was lovely to see all our old friends to to make some new ones. The food is very good (thanks to reggie the chef) served in the restaurant or lovely pool area which is surrounded by beautiful gardens.There are plenty of shops and bars and restaurants within a short walk. For those who prefer a livelier nightlife Hisaronu it is about 15 mins walk away. the town of fethiye is a short dolmus ride away and has a lovely harbour where you can take a water taxi to Calis as is Olu Deniz beach and the blue lagoon .......I now feel the need to address the negative review of this hotel by amy m...the only mar on our holiday were Amy and her 2 friends who became were very foul mouthed and abusive to iilyas after not being allowed to take someone back to the apartment they were staying in.this was disgraceful behavior, many young people stay in this hotel including my daughters and their teenage children and always enjoy their stay.If any of those 3 girls had bothered to use the bar or restaurant area they would have known Sadik is up at 6 am to clean the pool and surrounding area then serve breakfasts with is lovely wife T j who then cleans all the rooms them is back in the kitchen for evenings meals and is then on duty til passed midnight. iilyas also on duty at the bar and restaurant from 12-30pm in the day until 2am in the morning ... .The jewel in the crown rep comes most days so how it took 4 days before her complaint was heard was down to her if she had politely asked any member of the Tahanci family it would have been sorted in hours of them letting them know .....me and my husband ,daughters and grandchildren are so looking forward to the next holiday at this great hotel next year thank you to all the family for looking after us and making our stay fantastic xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paintbox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    49
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
67
169
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries and Galloway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Well yet another fantastic stay at the Gorkem Hotel is alas over for another year.

As usual the welcome from the family is warm and welcoming and is in fact like being reunited with the Turkish extension of our family - nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed meeting up with both old and new friends and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay - we've booked for next year so that we don't miss out on another much anticipated break.
The food is excellent and the place is kept very clean and tidy at all times with lovely gardens and pool area.
If I was a selfish person I would not write a review of the Gorkem in the hope that this little Gem could remain a little secret retreat - but that would be unfair of me as both the hotel and the Tahanci family deserve all the plaudits I and others bestow. Well Done.
There are always flies in the ointment though and this was a group of three "guests" who thought they were above all rules and regulations and were an embarrassment to be honest - "Brits abroad" - no wonder us Brits have a less than favourable reputation when people behave like this. I would suggest behaving the same way in a British hotel would have resulted in "further action" being taken!!!

All in all fantastic and I would recommend to anyone who likes a light, relaxed atmosphere with a bit of "night life" within easy walking/Dolmus distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deneo-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks second time returning to the hotel and it was as fantastic the second time round. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were clean and tidy just what you would expect from a small hotel. After witnessing the foul and disgraceful behaviour of Amy and her companions I wasn't surprised to find a disgracefully biased review. The language was appalling that was used and I'm surprised they were never asked to leave straight away. The staff work hard to ensure every guest has a great stay and are well looked after. After arriving we found our shower head wasn't working properly and it was changed within the hour of us asking. I have and will recommend the hotel to anybody that is looking to stay in the area. We are a young couple and find the area peaceful and relaxing and other guests are really nice. So thank you iilyas, sadik and sedan for a great time x x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time staying in this hotel the staff are very friendly food is great, we stayed in the rooms and they are very clean, great value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to stay in the Ovacik, Hisaronu region and I shall be returning next year, the location is fantastic as it is just a short bus journey into Hisaronu, Oludeniz and Fethiye the great thing about staying in ovacik is that you get the night life of Hisaronu whilst having the peace and tranquillity of ovacik with fantastic views of the mountains. Upon arrival at Gorkem hotel we was greeted by the hotel owners with a warm welcome. I would recommend anybody to stay at The Gorkem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joerz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at The Gorkem Hotel and we were very impressed.
It has been in the hands of the family for a number of years and has really impressed everyone.
The rooms are spotless and the food is delicious..
Ilyas ,Sadik are accommodating, helpful and friendly.. Not forgetting all the other staff.
we met alot of new friends whilst we stayed had some right laughs
The pool is always clean and the pool area is also clean..
We was made to feel very welcome and will be definitely returning next year.

Room Tip: Try to go self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband AND I have just came back from the Gorkem Hotel in ovacik our holiday was great the hotel is small but it is very clean the rooms are cleaned everyday and the staff are fab andnothing is a bother to them if they can help you they will .we would like to thank Ilyas who puts himselve out for you and makes you feel like 1 of the family .,as for the rest of the family there are great and make you feel very welcome .the food is fab and the service is great and the prices are very reasonable and the amount you get is more than you need . sometimes you feel it is a shame to waste it as it so tasty and fresh .THe Hotel is set in beautiful gardens and are well maintained and the setting is fantastic with the mountains just behind you it is so picturerous .THANK YOU again for a wonderfull holiday we both loved it and we look forward to coming back to this little gem of hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The whole family put a lot of effort into ensuring that you have a great holiday. It is always advisable to remember that this is Turkey, so most resorts are quite basic, however that said, The Gorkem is maintained to a much higher standard than most that we have seen. The rooms are clean and basic. Endless supplies of hot water. Food in the hotel is excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Gardens are lovely. Pool is exceptionally clean. If you stay in the rooms at the rear of the main block, you will be disturbed by the constant yapping dog and also by the strangulated screeching of the cockerel all night so I would advise light sleepers request a room facing the pool.(or do like we did and buy some earplugs)
A 5 minute stroll gets you to the main road where there are always plenty of dolmuses to take you into Hisaronu/olu deniz or Fethiye.
You can walk into Hisaronu, its about 15-20 stroll and to be honest it passes quickly as there are plenty of shops, bars, restaurants etc to see on the journey.
If you want a day trip with a difference, JERRYS BOAT comes more than highly recommended. Jerry moors his boat on Fethiye harbour and can be found almost opposite the war memorial. The big difference with his trips are the size of the boat (max 20/22 people) but often only 10-15.
His wife cooks the lunch on board and his son is the second crew member. He will take you to some beautiful coves to swim and snorkel, he is MEGA knowledgeable on the local area and very happy to chat to you. If you want to fish there are tons of rods on board and anything that is caught is BBQ,d with lunch. Drinks and ice creams available and all that for around £15 for the day!!! Jerrys Daily Boat Trips....hes on facebook.

If there has to be any negatives...... the breakfast can get a little boring maybe they should include yoghurt and honey instead of just olives, bread, jam, tomatoes, eggs and cheese.
Highly recommend this little gem of a hotel....Ilyas . Mohamed, gorkem, Sadik, reggi and all the family are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
1.0 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
0.3 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#8 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorkem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorkem Hotel

Property: Gorkem Hotel
Address: Oludeniz Mah. Incircik 2 Cad. No: 39, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorkem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorkem hotel provides its guests a very peaceful atmosphere in a-so-green setting. In our facility, along with a A-la Carte Restaurant with various choice of food, there is a bar and an open swimming pool surrounded by trees and colorful flowers. In Gorkem Hotel’s all rooms air-conditioning and hair-dryer provided , the balconies have the perfect panoramic view of the garden and the Babadag mountain. Due to our location we are in such an appropriate position inbetween Ölüdeniz and Fethiye that you can reach either within 10-15 min of bus journey. On th other hand we are only 36km away from the Dalaman airport. We also do provide our guests airport transfere service and free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Gorkem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing