We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway”
Review of Gorkem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gorkem Hotel
Ranked #14 of 55 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been here for 1 week whilst the Family owners were all getting stuck in, preparing for the new season. The pool was being regrouted and the repairman had let them down by being three days late. It was all hands to the pumps with everyone working hard to get the rooms aired and the carpets all pressure washed. The bedding aired over the balconies, pool all scrubbed out and lots of preparation work done on it that we don't usually see. Well the pool was finally filled on the Saturday night and we went in for a swim on Sunday.
Well, I just read the review by lifeguard72 and I for one hope he does not stay here at all. Ok the place is a little dated but it is clean, tidy, all the facilities work and the hospitality is second to none.
Also the restaurant serves the best fillet steak that I have ever tasted, the chips are hand cut to order and taste wonderful. Nothing has been too much trouble for the "staff" who are all one big family. There are another two guests here now (Tuesday) and they have returned having stayed here two years ago. There are several restaurants and bars in the area, but the Turks are having a struggle to keep going, much like us in the Uk. Ovacik is very peaceful but if you want more night life then Hisaranu is a ten minute walk away, and is one gigantic restaurant, clothes and jewellery shop rolled into one. We are here for three weeks, one week over and two more to go, peaceful relaxation, bliss, now for another swim.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Gorkem Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 329 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel in sep, staying in olu Deniz at the mo so thought I'd take a dolmush and check the place out after reading the glowing reports on trip, arrived and to be fair they were still setting up and cleaning for start of the season, staff seemed friendly enough, asked to have a look round at some of the rooms, and whoa, that was enough for me, the rooms were shocking, very old fashioned, and basic, with what seemed like a shower head on a riser 2 feet off the ground, soon as I'm back in the UK changing hotels asap.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifeguard72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well the location of these apartments are ideal if you like a quiet area to stay. Like others who come back regularly i agree with what has been said on previous reviews the hotel is very good value for money basic but clean and the staff are very friendly and will do anything to help you! My wife and myself stayed here oct 12 and will be coming back for sure its not too far from the clubs and pubs in central Hisaronu,the local bus (dolmus) is only a 2 min walk away and from there you can go to Oludeniz or Fhethiye and beyond for less than a couple of quid bargain! The grounds of the apartments are excellent and yes there are not many sun beds but plenty of grassy areas for kids and families the turkish food that is served there is top notch the english stuff is the norm if thats what you like lol. The cockeral well coming from a farm area i didnt notice it but hay ho there are small holdings all around so you will get used to it.The worst thing is the bloody dogs around and its not just at the hotel its all over even the top hotels are not far from barking dogs but they go quiet quickly the mosques can be heard all over the valley and is a change to the normal routine in the UK i would recomend this hotel/appartments to everyone except the younger (teanagers) who like the night life of Hisaronu enjoy the hotel if you go!

Room Tip: Choose self catering the rooms are much better!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gaspajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

After returning from Egypt and not usually writing reviews we decided to write a review about Gorkem as our 5 star holiday to Egypt was painfully awful. It made us so more aware we need to help other people have a good holiday.

Where to start we arrived late at Gorkem after a not so good transfer, to be greated by a smile & a warm welcome, which was a lovely start. They made us specially a cheese & tomatoe roll which was lovely and well needed.

Rooms are basic but every thing you need & clean, amazing views over the mountains & fields though the cockeral was a little annoying.
Good size pool, clean & always in the sun. Staff are amazing, friendly, talkative & funny. All very important parts to a good holiday.

Location is great, not in the town just on the outskirts, easy to get a bus and very cheap to 3 surrounding towns. Wish we remembered the resturant in Ovacik on the right hand side on the way down to town, its run by a turkish family, and has a smoke pipe part next to it. Not far up from the corner of cross roads.

Did a few trips to the gorge, jeep safari all great & built many wonderful memorys which we booked down in olu deniz.

I would book this hotel any time. We booked a 5 star hotel in egypt and regret every moment, wish we had spent half the money & gone here.

We ate to at the hotel the food was very tasty though i did say there rosemary in the dish, but after i picked them out(turkish way of cooking i was told), the dish tasted great & was lovely perfect finish to our perfect holiday.

Well done Gorkem keep up the good work, good prices & great service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PENANDWALL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom SC apartment for 2 weeks in October. We had a private transfer, in a Mercedes Vito, from Dalaman airport, which was all arranged for us. On arrival we were greeted by the hotel staff and taken to our groundfloor room. The maid service was excellent, we had clean towels and bedding on alternate days. The temperature was in the high 30's during the day but a lot cooler at night, making it comfortable to sleep in the comfy bed. Hotel is ideally placed in Ovacik, just a short walk away from local bus stop to go to Hisaranu, Olu Deniz or Fethiye town.
The swimming pool was a good size, with a small pool for children.

Room Tip: higher rooms have less noise from bathrooms and plumbing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lets be straight first, yes I am one of those people that comes back here year after year, however I will try and be unbias and write a review that you will find helpful in your choice of accomodation. Firstly this is a 3* B/B not a 5* all inclusive so if you come here with expectations of being waited on hand and foot and luxury food at your every turn you are going to be sadly disappointed. Ive noted that some previous reviews have whinged! yes it is whinging ! about the mosque calling to prayer at 5 in the morning and the cockeral crowing at the crack of dawn. HELLO it may have escaped your notice but this is a muslim country and people are called to prayer at certain times ! If you dont like it go to a 5* all inclusive and you can hear drunk brits calling 24/7 ! As for the crowing of the cockeral, actually as strange as it may seem you do have working farm families living close by , again if you love peace please go to a 5* hotel where the chavs love to come back from a night on the town at stupid oclock in the morning waking everyone up.
Sunbeds can be an issue but when we visited in oct the hotel was quiet so we were spoilt for choice , however in summer get out of bed and go get one is the only answer, no point in complaining if you cant be bothered to go down until 11/12 o'clock and all the sunbeds are gone !!.
People who return year after year dont think they own the place and I would like to think that sadik, ilyas or other members of staff would let people know if they thought that they were taking liberties, after all it is a business and no one is bigger than the hotel ! People return because they love the place and the family that own it, and no one gets any special favours , sometimes people just come on holiday and wont mix with anyone , your choice so dont class others as unfriendly !.
The food here is second to none and we really mean that ! , we cant really comment on the english side to the menu as we rarely order any english meals, however if you order turkish we promise you will not be disappointed in taste or price !.
Yes beer and imported drinks are quite expensive, but they are everywhere so no change there !
The views of the Babadag mountain range is spectacular and the gardens are wonderful , the rooms although dated are kept clean and towels and sheets changed on a regular basis, but listen you may get the odd glitch to your room so just go and see one of the staff and they will have it sorted, its a holiday for gods sake why stress !
We have been all over the world but this is a wonderful place run by wonderful people , hence the reason we return yearly

Room Tip: Self Catering if you dont want tradional turkish breakfast ( but you dont know what you are missing...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kazza10091961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in the B&B side of the complex, which we found to be dated in appearance. The room was fairly small, because once we had unpacked we were tripping over the suitcases.
Balcony was ok with no real view, but if they chopped the tree down a great view of the sunset would be had.
Bathroom is a wetroom but the toilet was loose, and the toilet seat was also loose. The shower area would flood due to bad drainage. During our two week stay the bathroom was not cleaned once.
The hotel is run by Sadique and Iliyas who will do anything to make your stay comfprtable, but their downfall will be their moody un helpful worker known as mushy (Mustapha).
The time we stayed they must have had a problem with mosquitos, because i was bitten quite a few times, aswell as the wife, and quite a few other guests.
We noticed athat quite a few of the guests were over 50 and were regular to the hotel.
Our stay at the hotel was an altogether pleasant one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
1.1 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#84 of 102 in Oludeniz
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#4 of 102 in Oludeniz
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Rose Hotel
Red Rose Hotel
#25 of 55 in Oludeniz
43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pine Valley
Hotel Pine Valley
#1 of 55 in Oludeniz
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorkem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorkem Hotel

Address: Oludeniz Mah. Incircik 2 Cad. No: 39, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range: $23 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorkem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorkem hotel provides its guests a very peaceful atmosphere in a-so-green setting. In our facility, along with a A-la Carte Restaurant with various choice of food, there is a bar and an open swimming pool surrounded by trees and colorful flowers. In Gorkem Hotel’s all rooms air-conditioning and hair-dryer provided , the balconies have the perfect panoramic view of the garden and the Babadag mountain. Due to our location we are in such an appropriate position inbetween Ölüdeniz and Fethiye that you can reach either within 10-15 min of bus journey. On th other hand we are only 36km away from the Dalaman airport. We also do provide our guests airport transfere service and free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Gorkem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing