We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”
Review of Tolay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tolay Hotel
Ranked #57 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days, had a room overlooking the laundry, which was ok, however noise from hotel behind in the early hours was sometimes annoying! The staff - Ali, Tolga, Murat and Kamil were all very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was ok, it was something to fill the gap every morning after all only greedy people need a full english everyday! We used the hotel as a base and went out most days but when we used the pool it was clean, sunbeds were always available. The bar and meal prices were similar to those in town so for some where to drink after a meal out it was ideal as there was not thumping music like every bar in town. This was a cheap holiday for us and we really enjoyed it, we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieE469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Debbie, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the noise from the neighbouring hotel is a problem we are aware of but unfortunately unable to control. We hope this did not spoil your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    87
    27
    23
    23
See reviews for
76
136
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hi all, i recently went to the tolay hotel in hisaronu well what can i say.you wont find a much better hotel for the price especially in the peak time.
The hotel staff are superb so all my thanks to the tolay team so thanks to Ali ( The hotel manager ) Tolga,Murat and Kamil the bar staff these guys are great and they all know your name within hours of meeting you also any advice on the surrounding areas these guys know all about it.
Overall the hotel tolay was clean tidy nice pool great food and they looked after everyone really well the breakfast included in the price was typically turkish and consisted of tomatoes,cucumber,cheese,honey,jam,olives,boiled eggs,bread and butter,tea and coffee all in all plenty to choose from and healthy too,if you want english breakfast they sell a variety of full english breakfast items.
Hotel is situated 200 yards from the town of hisaronu so great location but you are far enough away as not to hear the clubs and bars at night,also lots of eateries and all very good where i ate,
The hotel pool is not as big as a lot of other hotels but even in peak times you can always get a sunbed and always plenty of room for a swim.
If i had one criticism it was the price of the drinks they were 5 lira (about 1.75 ) for 30 cl of draught efes most other places it was between 4 and 5 lira for 50cl and choice of bottle or draught and believe me the bottles are a lot better this might seem petty but 30cl works out to be about £3.50 a pint and over two weeks adds up.
All in all i would recommend this hotel to anybody and i am booking here next year as for the drinks if they sold the 50cl bottles instead of 30cl of draught for 5 lira i think they would double there custom as the 2 weeks i was there a lot of residents went elsewhere for their drinks then just come back to hotel later for a couple before bed i hope this helps you all and like i said dont be put off because of the drink prices as the hotel and staff more than make up for this once again thanks again to all the staff and i will see you all next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewg10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Andy, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thankyou for your review. We have taken in to account your comments about the prices of drinks. We are going to review our prices more in line with the prices in town for next year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

First 3nights was woken at 2am in the morning by guest who feel the need to shout a conversation to each other whilst being sat right next to each other did not go down well when it woke me and my 3 year old up, staff didnt do much about it as i suppose they dont want to ask them to be a litlle more considerate of other guests didnt spend much time at hotel and glad i didnt really the staff were okay but the pool was merky and i dont think i ever seen it cleaned the food was limited choice no cold drink offered with breakfast this was additional and a lira to toast your bread i'v stayed in turkey more than 10 times and never know to be charged to toast my bread, the only good thing i have to say is the room was a good size and the housekeeper was great friendly and polite.

Room Tip: hard to say as if you get a main block room you have the bar noise to deal with if you get the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conswalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are sorry to hear you had a few issues with your stay with us. First of all, we do ask guests to be considerate of others late at night and any guests who do cause any disturbance are asked to keep the noise down by the staff. The pool is cleaned in the early hours of the morning, every morning, however when people wearing suncream use the pool during the day is can cause the water to appear "glazed over" this may be what you are referring to. We have a company we come to check the pool water every week to make sure it is all ok, the findings of this are put into a report for anyone to see. We have a wide range of food on the menu, and can also accommodate any special requests. The contract for the bed & breakfast offered is for a Turkish breakfast which includes only tea or coffee. We've read your comments about toasting the bread at breakfast and will take this into account for next year. We do this, as we find when people ask for the bread to be toasted and are paying a lira for it, they don't waste it. I will pass on your comments to the housekeeper for you. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at the Tolay Hotel! We have had a fabulous holiday, could not have asked for more. Throughout the whole holiday staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but very clean and for the amount of time that you spend in them they are perfect. Pool area was lovely and cleaned daily, a relaxing area to enjoy the glorious weather. Breakfast as specified when you book is a basic Turkish breakfast not an English breakfast. Yes you did have to pay to get your bread toasted but it was 1 lira for 5 slices ( about 27p), not really a big issue at all! There was absolutely nothing to complain about with this hotel, staff, food, pool, rooms, bar were all perfect for the price we paid. If you want 5 star then go and pay for it!!!!!!!!! We will be returning for our summer holiday next year. The hotel is in a perfect location 2 minutes from the town with loads of lovely bars and restaurants.

Thank you to all the staff at the Tolay for making our holiday the best ever!!!

Claire and Rob

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Claire & Rob, thankyou for your great review of Tolay hotel. We enjoyed having you stay with us as much as you did. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbroath
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from here and what can i say?? We go on 3 holidays a year and i can honestly say this is the worst 'hotel' we have had the misfortune to stay in.We arrived in the early hours and were shown to our room no.36 which was a total disgrace.There was no shower cubicle?? Bathroom was just a tiny wet room where you had to shower,shave and s*%* all within an arms length of each other??The 'shared balcony' had a stunning view of next door hotels store room.Hasten to say we asked for a shift in the morning which to be fair we were given to a basement room which was slightly better but not great by any means.The 'balcony' here was below ground and had a wooden table which was riddled with wood lice and one chair.The room was situated at the back of the kitchen area where we had to listen to staff members cackling on to all the hours of the morning.Now to the' stink that seemed to come at the same time of the day.A sewage lorry came 2 or 3 times a day to dump waste from all the other hotels into what must have been the main sewer outside the front of 'hotel' on the dirt track which was overrun with chickens which one had the misfortune of being taken by a wild boar who hunted in a pack from the adjacent woods.Now onto the breakfast....wow.. slices of bread which you had to pay a lira each to have toasted??with spread and jam or feta cheese tomato and cucumber,and boiled eggs that were disgusting.Ok turkish breakfast but come on charged to toast your bread??Ali the manager was a good guy who was always happy to talk to you,as for the owners son he didnt give you the time of day.The bar prices were reduced during our stay to try and attract more business at the bar as there is no entertainment.We paid for the bbq night to then be told it was cancelled as there werent enough people interested...I wonder why? I could go on and on but i think ive got my point across and we will certainly not be returning here.In fact i think if there isnt a radical change in the running of this establishment it wont be there for much longer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hello Stuart, we are very sorry to hear of the problems you had with your stay with us. The hotel does have some rooms where the bathroom is more of a wetroom, some guests actually prefer this ,also most of our rooms have shared balconies. We did move you to a different room and assumed all was well with this one as you didn't bring any more concerns to our attention. The kitchen does back on to the basement rooms, but our staff are considerate of guests during what are considered "unsocial hours" but they are also there to work from around 8am which is when people are up having their breakfast so you can expect noise from people in the restaurant and kitchen. There are never gatherings of staff in the kitchen areas after around midnight when the restaurant and kitchen closes. It is untrue that the main sewerage drain is at the front of the hotel, the drain you are referring to belongs to the next door hotel. We have a sewerage system installed in the hotel for our waste. The chickens do not overrun the hotel and these are part of the working hotel, and as for wildlife surrounding the hotel, this is also a natural thing we can't control, as you would find in any establishment near forest land. The breakfast is a traditional Turkish one and we charge for the toast as we find people don't waste the bread if they are paying to have it toasted, this charge of one lira is for as many slices as you require. There is entertainment provided at the hotel and Turkish nights always go down well, but as the season goes on, if not enough people are wanting to attend, it is not feasible to provide a big Turkish night for only a few guests. to make this worth our while, we would have to charge more and we are not willing to do this to our guests. As for some staff, all are willing to be of any help they can be but politeness & courtesy works both ways, however we are sorry you feel this way. Tolay hotel has been open since 1992 and has many repeat guests who come back 2 or 3 times a year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We returned from The Tolay a couple of weeks ago and have already booked again for next year! The hotel is basic but spotlessly clean and the staff are wonderful. We had a great holiday, met some lovely people and cannot wait to return. Ali, Tolga, Murat and Kamil went out of their way to make sure guests enjoyed their stay. Ali is a great asset to the hotel and really does go the extra mile for guests and Kamil kept us entertained throughout the fortnight! Like other reviews, we think if they sold Efes for 5tl for a pint like all the other bars and some hotels, then guests would spend even more time at the hotel bar! All in all a lovely, friendly hotel, great value for money, really good location and we are looking forward to seeing everyone again next year!!
Until then, keep up the good work!
Margaret and Malcolm
Newcastle upon Tyne
England
x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGARET L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hello Margaret & Malcolm. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, thankyou for your kind review. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff and look forward to seeing you very soon Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I traveled to the today hotel at the end of June as a single traveller, I found the hotel to be excellent value for money.
The resort is right on the doorstep but far enough away not to be bothered by the bustle of it all.
My room was really comfortable and the maids came every day to make up the room, the whole place is spotless.
The staff really are what make this hotel, Ali and his team are fantastic at what they do and are always up for a laugh and a bit of banter, they seem to get all the guests together and there's always a good atmosphere around the bar.
On one day of my holiday I left my iPhone in a taxi and thought I had lost it, I didn't even know the name of the taxi company I had come back from the beach with, I wrote it off and thought I would have to claim on my insurance, when tolga heard that I had left It, he was straight on the case, calling around to see if he could find it which to my amazement he did! He even took me on his scooter to go and collect it from the taxi office, I cannot be more greatful to him for doing this for me, he went above and beyond and that is just one example of how helpfull all the staff at the tolay are.
I was a little worried travelling alone but they made me feel really welcome and I had a great holiday, I'm looking forward to coming back in 2013 with a few friends.
Thanks for a fantastic 10 days!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mrlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Matthew, thankyou for your great review. We very much remember you staying with us and had a great time with you. Thankyou for your good feedback on our hotel and staff. I am happy to hear your story of how helpful our staff are and I have passed on your thanks to Tolga, who also thanks you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. All our love xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
1.9 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.4 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#66 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hisar Holiday Club
Hisar Holiday Club
#46 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolay Hotel

Property: Tolay Hotel
Address: Hitit Caddesi, No:10 | Hisaronu, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tolay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tolay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing