We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkey”
Review of Yakamoz Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oludeniz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yakamoz Hotel
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have been hearing about this restaurant for a few years now, however we only decided to book a table this year 2013, what a lovely little place, the food was excellent, the hotel has only 4 bedrooms, so book up quickly, we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 227 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Peacocks' screams rend the morning mist, lazy smoke rises from village chimneys, proud cockerels proclaim the morning, tortoises noisily mate under my balcony. This is Turkey.
Not for me the delights of the Grand Bazaar or the Sultan Ahmet in Istanbul. Not for me the hustle and hassle of broad avenues of shops and restaurants offering "English Breakfasts". This is a small retreat halfway up a mountain near Fethiye.
I watch the shadow of Baba Dag slowly slide down the side of Mendos mountain as the sun rises, suddenly to flood this tiny valley while an old lady urges her flock along the lane, their wooden sheep-bells clonking. Pleasantries are exchanged with a friend gathering herbs from the hedgerow as the Imam's call floats over us. This is paradise.
Clear blue sky blesses us. A tiny black and white woodpecker hammers at an old olive tree, his wary eye on a cat prowling nearby as I breakfast on salt cheese, fresh bread and coffee under a vine-laden pergola. This is Yakamoz Hotel.

There is nothing more to add. Please try this extraordinary experience yourself, it will change your life.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the main hotel is quieter than at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our first trip to the Yakamoz and it didn't disappoint. Friendly, welcoming staff, fantastic food and excellent walks. We stayed in the basic room which was quite small but we plan to come back again and will book a superior or room in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakamozone, Owner at Yakamoz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a few words on trip advisor

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Best wishes

Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks end Aug / beginning Sept and couldn't have wished for a better hotel / holiday. We chose to book here based on the reviews we'd seen on Tripadvisor. We've stayed in Turkey a dozen times over the last 18 years and visited all different areas. We last stayed in Ovacik about 16 years ago and have stayed All Inclusive at 5* hotels for the last 4 visits but felt we missed the 'real' Turkey so decided to book direct with this hotel, arrange our own flights and used the airport transfer arranged by the hotel (which was excellent) Julie couldn't have been more helpful/efficient with the booking etc. I can only reiterate what other reviewers have said about the service, food, ambience etc. The hotel is traditional Turkish style and decor, immaculately clean, and in a rural area but only a 10-15 stroll to the main road or you can get a lift morning and early evening in the hotels minibus (free of charge) Hisoranu, Olu Deniz and Fethiye are within easy reach by the very cheap, (air conditioned!) dolmus which run every few minutes along the main road. The food is wonderful (with an extensive menu - I didn't eat the same dish twice in 14 days,and there were still some I wanted to try! ) all were delicious, beautifully presented and served by the courteous, hard working, friendly staff. The staff here are all amazing! They work so hard to ensure that your stay is everything you could want and more. Ibo and Adam work long hours (as do the others) and the care taken by Ibo when serving you wine is a delight (He could teach a thing or to to many waiters I have encountered in top class establishments in the UK!) Kenan (the chef) obviously loves his job and you would pay double in UK for the dishes he prepares! The ladies who take care of the rooms (I forget their names) keep them immaculate and with a cheerful smile whenever you see them. A nice touch is Mehmet and Julie coming round the tables in the evening chatting to all the guests, asking what you've been up to, making suggestions for trips etc and just passing the time of day. We booked the boat trip organised by the hotel which was a lovely day out, only 12 of us on a large boat. Mehmet also arranged jeep hire for a day for us as we wanted a drive out and explore the area. We followed one of the hotels planned routes which was excellent, easy to follow, and took in some fabulous scenery! The pool area is lovely and even in August was never too busy with plenty of sunbeds and the hammocks in the garden under the trees were a must for a post lunch snooze when the sun was a little too hot :-) Yes the garden area was a little unkempt with very few flowers, but maybe that was to be expected towards the end of a very long hot summer season? I can imagine in spring it being a different sight. Yes there were lots of returning guests, and during our second week many of these were more elderly, but we found everyone friendly and keen to offer advice, if you wanted it, and contrary to another reviewers comments we sometimes found we were the only ones still up after 10.30! :-) If anyone wants more details information or advice please get in touch, as I'll be happy to help if I can. All in all we had a wonderful, relaxing, peaceful holiday, good food, good company (when you sought it) fantastic, friendly staff, wonderful weather. Would we return? Definitely!! It's hard to pinpoint exactly what makes this place so special, as its a mixture of lots of things, but it certainly is that.....but let's just keep it our secret.... We don't want everyone knowing about it :-)

Room Tip: We had a room on 1st floor opposite reception which was very spacious, modern quiet. Wifi signal was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank drichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakamozone, Owner at Yakamoz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking tine to write your kind comments, we are very happy that you discovered us and that you enjoyed your stay.

Booking a holiday with us is very easy and straightforward and from the intial email to the transfer to the hotel is made as hassle free as possible so you are already relaxed from day one of your holiday.

Our garden is not the easiest garden to grow flowers as it is quite shady and as you mentioned after a long hot season there is not much room for growing, but, we are always looking to improve every area that is used by our guests.

We feel Yakamoz is a special place and we know that it is important for all of our guests old and new to have a good holiday and be able to leave with special memories of their stay.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future and don't forget to spread the good word about Yakamoz

Best Wishes

Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our first visit to yakamoz.

We arrived on the 7th Oct for two weeks having booked the Olive cottage at short notice, after seeing the yakamoz advertised in the CSMA magazine. It turned out to be a sound decision!

The hotel is situated off the beaten track a short bus ride from Fethiye. It is surrounded by several small farms and a new hotel (The Sahara Sur) is close by.
The only noise we heard at night was the occasional farm dogs barking and several cockerels with defective time clocks crowing, followed by the early morning call to prayer.
Was this a problem ? No, not for us, even my wife who is normally a very light sleeper was not overly disturbed, you are in a rural setting after all!!

We found the Olive cottage to be a little dark and rustic for our taste (we like bright and a touch more modern) so after spending the first night (slept like logs in very comfy bed) we asked Julie if it would be possible to move rooms. She could not have been more helpful !! After looking at several rooms in the new annexe we chose one of the new superior rooms on the first floor which was perfect for us!

In our opinion Yakamoz provides great value for money! It was very very clean, the room we eventually stayed in was spacious/modern and had a big comfy double bed. The food/wine were excellent with pre dinner drinks, bottle of wine and 3 course meal costing as little as £45!!
Quite a few of the guests staying at the Sahara Sur used the Yakamoz restaurant on account of the food being poor at their "all inclusive". The Yakamoz restaurant is not large, and as long as this is not allowed to disrupt the Yakamoz guests experience it provides a welcome change in terms of the different atmosphere this provides!!!

Reception, restaurant, patio area again were kept very clean. The gardens could do with a little TLC but (i was informed) have suffered from lack of attention whilst the new upper floor was added to the annexe, this will probably be addressed over the coming months.

Getting around and about was surprisingly easy, a 12 or 15 minute stroll back to the main road from the hotel took you to the main bus routes to Fethiye, Ovacik, Hisaronu and Oludeniz, the buses ran every few minutes and are very cheap (5 to 7 turkish lira)
Alternatively you can walk to most places using the printed directions provided by reception, an example would be the 2 walks to Hisaronu, one via the outskirts of Ovacik taking 30 mins the other via the forest track taking around 50 mins.
One particular day, whilst my wife lazed by the pool, myself and another guest Ian, accompanied Mehnet on a walk to the ghost village of Kaya, about 6 miles and 3 hours away we had a couple of beers and turkish pancakes and jumped on the bus back to Yakamoz for mid afternoon, very enjoyable!

We took a couple of trips, organised through Julie during our stay, all day boat trip with lovely lunch from Fethiye harbour with captain popeye was excellent and at £22 each was great value.
Alternative safari up into the mountains (take some warm clothing if going in May/Oct) was also excellent, the views/scenery were stunning with lunch provided by turkish family in the grounds of the farmhouse. Home made cheese/bread/jams were superb!!

In our opinion all the staff were all focused on going that little bit extra to ensure you had a great holiday. Thanks to Mehmet, Julie, Ibo and Adam in particular BUT ALSO TO THE REST OF THE STAFF, together they make a great team!!

One very minor negative was that the pool was a little to cold for myself/wife but this didn't stop other guests, in particular John who is aged 80+, so maybe we are just a couple of wusses!!

The acid test, would we return to Yakamoz ? Yes already booked for Oct next year and convinced 2 friends and sister/brother - law to join us!!

All in all, taking all personal factors/preferences into consideration a great holiday providing superb value !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor in the new annexe are all air conditioned, bright modern and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobanBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakamozone, Owner at Yakamoz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments

You chose an excellent part of Turkey for your late break. It's a great area to explore with a good chance to see a real part of turkey.

We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us and that we will be welcoming you back with others in 2014.
We hope that the pool will be warmer ...

Best Wishes

Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Yakamoz is really warm and friendly, the staff and management go the extra mile to help. The food is good, the rooms clean and things work well, the prices are fair for the level of service and comfort, lots of guests seem to be on their return trips. I'm looking at returning with a party of friends to go walking in the cooler start or end of the season, hope to return.

Room Tip: The annex offers very good value, don't be put off by the music from a nearby hotel , it stops a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanofCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakamozone, Owner at Yakamoz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review of the hotel.

We value all the feedback we receive from our guests

Our hotel is situated in a perfect place for people who want to take part in walking holidays or walking in general and we look forward to welcoming you back to Yakamoz

Kind Regards
Mehmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

we returned to yakamoz this year mid september and after a seemless transfer arrived in the very early hours to be greeted by adam and later mehmet. no european working directive here! the hours of effort put in by all the staff is what stands yakamoz apart from the others! a couple of cold beers to wash the dust away and a quick catch up and it was off to bed for a few hours in the new rooms upstairs, very nice indeed!!
down for breakfast , ibo, kenan,julie sanya and a few well known faces made a perfect start to our weeks** experience**.sachandriz mentions cliques and territories and for newcomers to see tables of fours and sixes it might seem that way but everyone at yakamoz in my experience are willing to advise, steer, befriend, share knowledge ,all with a smile! .most yakamoz veterans who know the ropes, pitfalls, shortcomings, mustsees, mustdos are totally approachable wether round the pool , at the bar, at the next table at dinner. we are avid readers of yakamoz reviews and hope toby1952 was staying at yakamoz and not takamoz, steaks stay when standards had slipped was due to ""atmospherics"" ,but in our opinion jonathan dews got it spot on with his summary. yakamoz still continues to do the bizz so to mehmet and all the staff cok tesekkur ederim!!

Room Tip: a room is a room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igster53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0 mi away
Ocakkoy Holiday Village
Ocakkoy Holiday Village
#97 of 121 in Oludeniz
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
2.9 mi away
Oyster Residences
Oyster Residences
#44 of 121 in Oludeniz
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
#11 of 121 in Oludeniz
218 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#18 of 121 in Oludeniz
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yakamoz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakamoz Hotel

Address: Ovacik Mah. Incircik Cad | Fethiye, Oludeniz 48380, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: $19 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yakamoz is small,secluded and friendly hotel situated in a quiet location. Offering Turkish hospitality and fabulous Mediterranean and int. cuisine. Yakamoz offers guests the ideal place for a stress-free holiday. Because of our small size, the intimate atmosphere ensures that you will quickly make friends, enjoying pleasant after-dinner conversation with like-minded people. Before long, you will find you know everyone by their first names and many of our guests return year after year, regarding Yakamoz as their second home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing