We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located large hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buyuk Antakya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buyuk Antakya
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Antakya
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
“Centrally located large hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

The facilities at this hotel seem able to handle tour groups, meeting participants, and families. The lobby is quite large although somewhat dark and has a separate sitting room (with Internet) that could seat around 30 people. This is not a fancy hotel despite four stars on everything from brochures to soap, but it was comfortable. Our room had adequate surface space and traditional dark brown wood furniture that one might see in an American hotel (I’m mentioning that because one guidebook described it as "tastelessly furnished," which perhaps it was earlier). The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The only complaint was that the tub (there was no separate shower) was in need of a scrub and the bathroom could have used some updating. Breakfast featured some local dishes in addition to the usual Turkish breakfast items. Staff was helpful.

  • Liked — View from the balcony
  • Disliked — Dirty tub and old bathroom fixtures
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveloguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your opinions.All of your opinions is important for us.
We would like to see you in our hotel again.


Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
12
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

The Buyuk Antakya Hotel has the air of aged dignity. The building is a distinctive two winged ziggurat that dates itself with an abstract gold leafed frieze.

The service here is simply amazing. The staff materialize out of nowhere with cups of tea, and are always happy to answer questions with a smile.

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city, catty-corner from a nice urban park where the locals promenade at twilight. Happily for me, it is also in the patisserie epicenter of the city, and the baklava and dondurma (ice cream with orchid root flour) are to die for. The Mado right next door is very popular with locals for coffee and dessert.

There really is not much in Antakya for the independent tourist except perhaps the amazing mosaics in the archeological museum. If you find yourself here, for whatever reason, the Antakya makes for a nice travel rest stop.

  • Liked — Amazing service, Free computer with internet in lobby
  • Disliked — Wedding banquets on 2nd floor can be head-throbbing loud but only until midnight.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trufflesaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your opinions.All of your opinions is important for us.
We would like to see you in our hotel again.


Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

There doesn't seem to be much choice in hotels in Antakya and you can't miss this one, it towers over the river. But then I think we were about the only tourists in Antakya, which is a quiet place these days. The hotel is a lot better than it was when Dalrymple stayed 15 years ago, as it was clean and everything worked, and it was a great treat to drink a cold beer on the balcony and watch the sun go down over the mountains. They charged about $120 for the room which seemed quite steep, but it was our first day in Turkey and we were unused to being charged double for everything in the expectation we would bargain hard. No doubt it could be had for much less. The breakfast was great.

  • Liked — convenience and good to have wi fi everywhere
  • Disliked — rather functional
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JKMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your opinions.All of your opinions is important for us.
We would like to see you in our hotel again.


Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antakya hotels
6.1 mi away
Ottoman Palace Antakya
Ottoman Palace Antakya
#1 of 20 in Antakya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savon Hotel
Savon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Antakya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Liwan Hotel
The Liwan Hotel
#3 of 20 in Antakya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Anemon Antakya Hotel
Anemon Antakya Hotel
#17 of 20 in Antakya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cankaya Konaklari Hotel
Cankaya Konaklari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Antakya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
De Liban Hotel
#8 of 20 in Antakya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buyuk Antakya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buyuk Antakya

Property: Buyuk Antakya
Address: Ataturk Cad. No:8 Antakya, Antakya, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Hatay Province > Antakya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Antakya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buyuk Antakya 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Buyuk Antakya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing