We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buyuk Antakya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buyuk Antakya
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Antakya
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good sty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We are a multi-generational family (ages 4-78) and spent two nights at the Buyuk We really enjoyed our stay. We arrived by car and the hotel has valet service and free parking. The hotel is clean. We had free wifi in the room. The staff provided excellent service. Turkish breakfast was included and had many yummy options. We also had dinner at the hotel and that was good too. The hotel is in a good central location. It is a short walk to the archeological museum and to many good places to eat. Recommend eating at Sultan Sofrasi and Anadolou Restaurant- both within walking distance. Also pedestrian street area nearby. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Ön Büro Müdürü at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your positive opinions.We would like to see you in our hotel again.

Hotel Management

Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
13
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

Our trip to Antakya was unplanned and we were very lucky to snag a room last minute while a medical convention was going on.
Despite the international flags outside, the front desk staff was not multilingual. We tried Arabic, English and French, as no one in our party spoke Turkish.
We eventually had our taxi driver come in and translate for us.

There was a complimentary breakfast, quite good. and sometime during the day they brought a fruit basket to our room.

The room was clean, and comfortable. There was a flat screen tv, nice bathroom.
Nice views from our balcony. (next to a river)

There is a good bakery very close by, and further down the street a great photo opportunity with a statue of Ataturk on a horse.

The street behind the hotel is a souk/bazaar/shopping area. Great deals.

We paid $100 a night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your positive opinions.We would like to see you in our hotel again.

Hotel Management

Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I think it is a good choice . The room was tidy and clean, the service was good. But the room rate seems to be a little bit expensive. Generally the hotel seems good!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tameem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your positive opinions.We would like to see you in our hotel again.

Hotel Management

Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAMASCUS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

The hotel location is in center of Antakya on the river side my room has nice view of mountain and river the room is very clean bath also and its have LCD TV and separate AC

Receptionists speak English and they are very kind, wireless INTERNET is free
The breakfast was nice kinds of local delicious chess the waitress is smiling and helpful

I check in 6:00 morning they don’t mind instead of 12:00 they charge me 100 TL (67 $) for one person in double room including breakfast (additional breakfast is 15 TL)

I recommend hot chestnut and also sahlaap (made from milk) cost 2 TL each you can find it near the river

In January there are winter sales in the market like www.lcwaikiki.com and www.ykm.com.tr about 50% to 70%

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MONZER-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your opinions.All of your opinions is important for us.
We would like to see you in our hotel again.


Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

The facilities at this hotel seem able to handle tour groups, meeting participants, and families. The lobby is quite large although somewhat dark and has a separate sitting room (with Internet) that could seat around 30 people. This is not a fancy hotel despite four stars on everything from brochures to soap, but it was comfortable. Our room had adequate surface space and traditional dark brown wood furniture that one might see in an American hotel (I’m mentioning that because one guidebook described it as "tastelessly furnished," which perhaps it was earlier). The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The only complaint was that the tub (there was no separate shower) was in need of a scrub and the bathroom could have used some updating. Breakfast featured some local dishes in addition to the usual Turkish breakfast items. Staff was helpful.

  • Liked — View from the balcony
  • Disliked — Dirty tub and old bathroom fixtures
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveloguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your opinions.All of your opinions is important for us.
We would like to see you in our hotel again.


Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

The Buyuk Antakya Hotel has the air of aged dignity. The building is a distinctive two winged ziggurat that dates itself with an abstract gold leafed frieze.

The service here is simply amazing. The staff materialize out of nowhere with cups of tea, and are always happy to answer questions with a smile.

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city, catty-corner from a nice urban park where the locals promenade at twilight. Happily for me, it is also in the patisserie epicenter of the city, and the baklava and dondurma (ice cream with orchid root flour) are to die for. The Mado right next door is very popular with locals for coffee and dessert.

There really is not much in Antakya for the independent tourist except perhaps the amazing mosaics in the archeological museum. If you find yourself here, for whatever reason, the Antakya makes for a nice travel rest stop.

  • Liked — Amazing service, Free computer with internet in lobby
  • Disliked — Wedding banquets on 2nd floor can be head-throbbing loud but only until midnight.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trufflesaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your opinions.All of your opinions is important for us.
We would like to see you in our hotel again.


Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

There doesn't seem to be much choice in hotels in Antakya and you can't miss this one, it towers over the river. But then I think we were about the only tourists in Antakya, which is a quiet place these days. The hotel is a lot better than it was when Dalrymple stayed 15 years ago, as it was clean and everything worked, and it was a great treat to drink a cold beer on the balcony and watch the sun go down over the mountains. They charged about $120 for the room which seemed quite steep, but it was our first day in Turkey and we were unused to being charged double for everything in the expectation we would bargain hard. No doubt it could be had for much less. The breakfast was great.

  • Liked — convenience and good to have wi fi everywhere
  • Disliked — rather functional
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JKMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEVENT246, Yönetici at Buyuk Antakya, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your opinions.All of your opinions is important for us.
We would like to see you in our hotel again.


Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antakya
6.1 mi away
Ottoman Palace Antakya
Ottoman Palace Antakya
#1 of 20 in Antakya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Liwan Hotel
The Liwan Hotel
#3 of 20 in Antakya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savon Hotel
Savon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Antakya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cankaya Konaklari Hotel
Cankaya Konaklari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Antakya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anemon Antakya Hotel
Anemon Antakya Hotel
#17 of 20 in Antakya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.0 mi away
Teras Aqua Park Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buyuk Antakya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buyuk Antakya

Property: Buyuk Antakya
Address: Ataturk Cad. No:8 Antakya, Antakya, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Hatay Province > Antakya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Antakya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buyuk Antakya 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Buyuk Antakya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing