We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatay Sultan Sofrasi

Hatay Sultan Sofrasi
Ranked #6 of 135 Restaurants in Antakya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

You have the opportunity to try many different traditional food that belongs to that region. Yoghurt soup is very tasty. Kebaps are good. They also served us some nice pastry before the main course. Pumpkin dessert is a must try! They cook it very differently, and serve it with walnut jam and tahini (a paste made from sesame seeds).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    67
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great variety! Loved the food and the service is great!
Tasted new things, lots of spices around there!
Nice place and great location, near everything around!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hospitality and food in all of Turkey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you want to experience Turkish hospitality at it’s finest and enjoy some of the most delicious food in all of Turkey then you must try Sultan Sofrasi. The hospitality began the moment we walked into the restaurant and were greeted by the owner himself who was more than happy to talk with us about his restaurant’s cuisine. The waiters were always quick to refill our waters and clear our plates. The food was also incredible! This is my fourth time to Turkey but this was by far the best meal I have had so far. The meats were top notch and delicious. They brought food famous to the local area that I have not found in Istanbul. My Turkish friends who came with me to the restaurant said this was one of the best meals they had ever had. They even said that some of the dishes we tried could not be found in Istanbul. My advice is to go, try everything, and be prepared for an amazing culinary experience! You won’t regret it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dylan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We agree with fellow travellers' positive remarks below. Sultan Sofrasi is our favorite place in Turkey for lunch. We come to Hatay a few times per year and always look forward to eating there. It is fast, the ingredients are of really high quality and it tastes super-delicious. We always find a few staff members who either speak English or Arabic and they are very helpful and professionally friendly. Ask away if you don't know the food or tell them what you feel like eating and they make suggestions.

We usually sit upstairs, especially in the hot summer months right next to the air conditioners, cooling down from our souk strolls. From there you have a good view on the locals who often take their quick lunches below. I know it is impolite to look onto others' plates but it usually inspires me to order what I see next time and I have never been disappointed.

How the restaurant works: you enter and let one of the friendly staff who comes towards you know how many people are in your party. You walk towards the back of the restaurant where the food is prepared. You can see what is being prepared today and ask away and maybe ask for a menu for more options. Your order is taken electronically and make sure they get it 100% right because they rarely do :). You are taken to your seats and very quickly the first dishes arrive. Yumm!!! After you are done (don't forget to get desert and tea/coffee), you go downstairs again to the entrance where the 'accountant' sits. Payment is done upon exiting. Very efficient.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ibn_Batutas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Sarma is in here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I ate here some traditional food. all are good but Sarma is amazing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Atilla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatay Sultan Sofrasi also viewed

Antakya, Hatay Province
 
Antakya, Hatay Province
Antakya, Hatay Province
 
Antakya, Hatay Province
Antakya, Hatay Province
 

Been to Hatay Sultan Sofrasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing