We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with a superb archeological site a stone's throw away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoyran Wedre Country Houses
Ranked #1 of 15 Demre (Kale) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with a superb archeological site a stone's throw away”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We received a great welcome to a new complex built in a traditional Turkish style consisting of a main small hotel and scattered accommodation in a verdant garden in a beautiful location with an infinity pool and dining area overlooking the mediterranean below. Our room was spacious and comfortable; the food was very good, mainly resourced from the extensive garden. The breakfasts were special with an array of homemade jams (try the sandalwood jam!).
Just a few hundred yards from the Hotel there is an archeological site seemingly untouched with impressive Lycian sarcophagi across two hillsides.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
154
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, Shropshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Consistently high ratings from reviewers accurately reflect what a top quality package Suleyman and Canan offer to all their guests. I am full of admiration for their decision to pack up their lives in Istanbul and for their vision and determination in carving out this small piece of paradise from a remote and rocky hillside at the end of dirt track in southern Turkey. I am also immensely impressed with the quiet, self-effacing way in which they talk about their achievement and go about the day to day business of ensuring that all their guests are content. But why wouldn't you be. This is a fantastic place and there is little I can add to the already long list of plaudits in previous reviews other than to say that Hoyran is really away from it all, not pretend, but actually. There are no modern world sounds to disturb you and at night there is so little light pollution that the star- filled sky is just overwhelmingly beautiful. I really did know I was on a planet on the edge of the Milky Way. But finally I just enjoyed being able to talk to our hosts about a whole range of subjects and learn so much about Turkey both past and present.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter1NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved this beautiful place. If you want care and crowd free relaxation and enjoyment in a gorgeous environment, this is the place for you.
My wife and I travel frequently, and as Intercontinental Ambassador members we usually stay in Intercontinental or Crowne Plaza's worldwide, so we are used to 4 or 5 star hotels with good service and amenities. We got it here at Hoyran.
We were interested in Hoyran Wedre after we stayed in a similarly themed cottage hotel 'Gallipoli Houses' near Anzac beach in Western Turkey last year, 2011.
We were driving around Western Turkey again this year and were making our way from Antalya back to Bodrum to return home. We booked a 3 night stay at Hoyran but we enjoyed the area, the hotel and the hospitality so much we wished we had stayed for at least a week. We WILL return!
Hoyran Wedre is very easy to find using the simple instructions sent by the owners. We liked the sound of the 'Attic Studio' because it was a separate cottage by itself, but after Suleyman showed us several of the other rooms available, we wouldn't hesitate to stay in any of them. They are all full of interesting antique furniture brought down from Ankara by the owners and were wonderfully decorated with no doubt a female touch ;).
I don't really want to repeat what others have already said about Hoyran. Needless to say the pool is wonderful, with a waterfall at the front and a children’s pool at the back, with an amazing view down the long valley to the sea some 1500ft below. The main building is original with the other buildings sympathetically built to keep in character with other stone buildings in the area. There are plenty of nooks and crannies to explore.
The home cooking we had at both lunch and dinner was superb with great attention to detail - many thanks for that Canan - all enjoyed with bottles of the local white wine available. We spent many hours whiling away our time relaxing on the main building terrace checking e-mails on the free wireless internet and just generally enjoying the beautiful view by the huge old tree.
Hoyran Wedre is a beautiful place to stop and relax in. Both Canan and Suleyman were wonderful hosts and enjoyed hearing our travel stories as much as we enjoyed hearing how they first thought up the idea of Hoyran Wedre from their engineers desks back in Ankara. The effort they must have put in to get from a paper idea to reality must have been tremendous, but it has worked, it has worked very well in fact, which is why my wife and I would heartily recommend this hotel for any discerning traveler who enjoys the peace and quiet of the countryside mixed with fine accommodation and food and great hospitality.
Many thanks Canan and Suleyman, we really hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: This is a rare and idyllic place. Every room is wonderfully furnished with old antiques without bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBooth1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our fourth hotel on the Inn Travel Lycian way walk trip and we were thrilled with the place. We had an extremely tough day's walk, followed by a somewhat hairy road transfer up to Hoyran. On arrival we were given tea and cake (good timing as they always serve this about 5pm). Our room was absolutely lovely and spotlessly clean. Food was the best of our entire holiday and the hosts were amazing.

We spent our rest day visiting the nearby ruins which are highly recommended, followed by a leisurely lunch at the hotel, reading by the beautiful infinity pool and then more delicious food for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scout6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hoyran Wedre. From Birthday cakes to a plush and beautifully clean suite, Hoyran Wedre exceeded our expectations in every way. The website photographs do not do it justice.

There is so much to see in the area, from walking the Lycian way to taking the waters at Olympus.

Fabulous food and disceet service + children very much welcomed.

Perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorgeousGeorgians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After several days walking the Lycian Way, it was a joy to relax in this beautiful, unspoilt location. From the moment we arrived, our hosts Suleyman & Canan were caring & attentive without being too intrusive. We enoyed the treat of afternoon tea (so English) with delicious home made cake followed later by a wonderful dinner served on the terrace overlooking the garden & swimming pool. We loved the eco element of the hotel and the use of locally grown produce & herbs in the kitchen. We can say, without any reservation, that the shower in the bedroom was the best we experienced in Turkey. We would love to return again one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is difficult to believe this is a modern construction ; the buildings at first glance seem as ancient as the landscape ; albeit the rooms are comfortable , with good showers and air conditioning ; our hosts were attentive and charming without being overwhelming ; the setting is stunning ; the food was delicious and authentic ; there is a wondrous infinity pool overlooking the deep blue sea. There are fascinating ancient monuments a few hundred metres away , and more magnificent ones a few kilometres away [ warning- a steep walk is involved!] . We would happily return to this unique place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryCubitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Demre (Kale)
3.3 mi away
Kale Pansiyon
Kale Pansiyon
#2 of 4 in Demre (Kale)
19 reviews
18.1 mi away
Presa di Finica Hotel & Suites
16.2 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#3 of 46 in Kas
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Beymelek Tas Evler
Beymelek Tas Evler
#5 of 15 in Demre (Kale)
30 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ankh Pansion
Ankh Pansion
#2 of 4 in Kekova
52 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Narnia
Hotel Narnia
#14 of 67 in Kas
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyran Wedre Country Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyran Wedre Country Houses

Property: Hoyran Wedre Country Houses
Address: Kapakli Mahallesi Hoyran Mevkii. No:25, Demre (Kale) 07570, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Demre (Kale)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Demre (Kale)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoyran Wedre Country Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoyran Wedre is a country style hotel built of stone and wooden in the antique Lycian village Hoyran, that is on the Toros Mountain at the south coast of Turkey. The hotel has 2 suites and 9 double rooms all decorated in different styles. Each room has a functional fireplace. The life in Hoyran is far away from the stress and noise of the big cities. All you can hear here is the voice of the nature and the spellbinding silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hoyran Wedre Country Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyran Wedre Hotel Demre (Kale)
Hoyran Wedre Kale Demre
Hoyran Wedre Country Houses Turkey/Demre (Kale)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing