We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xanadu Resort Hotel
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Belek
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited the Xanadu 5 - 19 October and arrived in the early hours of the morning. The reception staff were very attentive and our room was extremely comfortable and always kept clean. The first thing we noticed when we went for a meal was the lack of restaurant staff and finding a clean table proved annoying day after day. We presumed that, at this time of year, many of the summer season staff had returned to school/college and the hotel did not or could not replace staff. I will say the restaurant staff worked hard to accommodate guests but because of this, they were not as friendly as we have experienced in the past when we have visited other hotels in Turkey. The food was very good with a good selection at meal times.

As has been mentioned in a previous review, the air conditioning had been turned off prior to our visit. When we mentioned this to reception and Guest Relations, they were in denial and said no one had complained but having spoken to a number of other guests, we soon realised that this was untrue and the hotel finally had to admit that the air conditioning had been turned off because "it was winter" and "the Turkish people were cold". We mentioned this to our Thomas Cook rep who duly spoke to the Customer Relations people but to no avail.

You very rarely saw anyone in the swimming pools because the water was so cold. The children's pool was never used all the time we were there and I felt for the families with small children.

The Xanadu hotel was very remote and anyone who likes to step outside and go for a leisurely walk will be very disappointed. Even the small train pulled by a tractor did not venture as far as the Xanadu but did take other guests back to their hotels from Belek.

The hotel itself was a lovely building with nice bars, coffee and tea places and there even a bowling alley which we used on the one stormy day we had. The grounds were very nice and well maintained and the beach area including the bar/coffee/tea shop was a delightful place to relax and enjoy.

We would not return to the Xanadu because of the above comments but would try another hotel and area next time.




The hotel itself was a lovely building, the grounds were lovely and well maintained

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and high floor room which we got but we were above the children's enclos...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
There are newer reviews for Xanadu Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two week holiday at the Xanadu, which had been recommended by a work colleague. I have to say it was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at in recent years, and we can understand why many of the people we spoke to return year after year. There were a lot of different nationalities staying, but there were always plenty of sun beds, whether you wanted to stay around one of the pools, under the pine trees, or on the beach, at whatever time of day you looked. The restaurant buffet was very good, but we particularly enjoyed the four a la carte restaurants, Chinese, Mexican, French and Italian, which you could visit as often as you liked if you booked the day before. The evening entertainment was ok, the shows were good and at the Xanadu bar most evenings they had live music. The bar staff were very friendly, and a special mention for Nesli and Hussain, who looked after us very well. All drinks were branded, and nothing was too much trouble. I have seen some previous comments that the restaurant tables were not always cleared quickly enough, but we didn't really see this very often, and all the staff work very hard, sometimes under a lot of pressure, so you may have to wait on an odd occasion, but don't let this put you off. We had a bungalow room in the grounds near the secret garden pool and bar. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, with a small fridge stocked with beer, minerals and water. Normally the air conditioning would be available, but a few days after we arrived it was turned off for the winter season, and as previous comments, the weather was around 28-30 degrees but the hotel did not switch back to air conditioning. They did supply a fan for our room though, which was a help. We had a great relaxing holiday, including a day being waited on in the hired beach pavilion, which although quite expensive at 75 euros, was a lovely treat, and we will definitely be returning next year.ee

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dach38burnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went for 7 nights on 30th April till 7th may2013 the hotel is very clean staff friendly drink plentiful .we played golf on the Carya golf course which is behind opposite the pines and dunes it by far the best kept golf course I've seen
Didn't do any entertainment stuff so can't comment the pool areas are nice spacious and clean and plenty of bars so crowds every time you want a drink .
You do get what you pay for and we were very pleased with what we got for the price

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satnav1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

An excellent hotel with vegetation, huge sand beach, clean pools, nice staff, extremely clean. Very good food, different each time. A big surprise was the river located between the resort and the beach. The only bad mark is for the entertainment people. They were bored and seemed tired. They didn't entertain at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pagu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Over all the hotel was very good, food was fantastic, facitlities first class and service staff great.

Only issue we had was a lack of day time enetertainment and low value evening enetertainment. staff often didnt turn up to run the activities they did do. Evening was lack luster, I think lip sinking to abba is a bit naff. The live bands were good and the disco was ok.

I would return to this hotel again

Room Tip: better views from higher floors in the main building
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our first time at the Xanadu and we won't be going back. We have stayed at other hotels in the area that are far better and I would not recommend the Xanadu to others.

The service was extremely poor. On numerous occasions we couldn't find a clean table to sit at and no one to set one for us. Ordering drinks took forever as the waitresses and waiters were very scarce.

The staff work hard, but it is clear that there are not enough at the hotel to provide the service I would expect from a 5 star resort, so this isn't a criticism of them, but those running the hotel. Other people we met have been staying at The Xanadu for the last 5 years and theycouldn't believe the drop in service.

For those looking to use the outdoor pools at this time, think again, the water is too cold.

On the plus side, the entertainment was good, with plenty going on during the evening and plenty of bars etc to go to.

It is a shame as this could be a really good hotel if there were enough staff to give proper service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephenfbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just returned home from spending another 2 weeks at the Xanadu Resort Hotel and we have, once again, had a truly fantastic holiday. Having been to this hotel on a number of occasions over the past 5 years we have seen many changes but the main reason for us returning time and time again is primarily due to their very friendly and attentive staff, their excellent quality / variety of food and drink, their overall attention to detail, but most importantly because of the totally relaxed atmosphere that the hotel never fails to deliver. We have already booked to return to this hotel in 2014.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are very quiet and get the sun early evening.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BANNRIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belek hotels
1.9 mi away
Cornelia De Luxe Resort
1.8 mi away
Papillon Ayscha Hotel Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Papillon Zeugma Relaxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Susesi Luxury Resort
Susesi Luxury Resort
#35 of 88 in Belek
2,032 reviews
3.6 mi away
Limak Arcadia Golf & Sport Resort
0.3 mi away
Gloria Golf Resort
Gloria Golf Resort
#11 of 88 in Belek
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Resort Hotel

Address: Acisu Mevkii, Belek 07500, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Belek
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Belek
#25 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#26 Family Hotel in Belek
Price Range: $154 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Belek Village nearby Antalya in Turkey. This grandly scaled property, directly on the beach, offers a High Class All Inclusive resort experience for the holiday of a lifetime. Be carried back to the times of the ancient Romans among the columned walkways, ancient-style pools and amphitheatre of the five-star resort with something for everyone - the Xanadu Resort Hotel. This very impressive resort has a grand presence with its commanding architecture and beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Xanadu Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Hotel Belek
Xanadu Belek
Xanadu Resort Hotel Belek, Turkey - Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing