We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xanadu Resort Hotel
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Belek
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Travelling with Thomas Cook, we were welcomed in Turkey by the rep, who said that Xanadu was great, and I have to agree, but there are some problems. We had a private transfer to the airport, which was a godsend. The welcome from the man at the reception wasn’t the friendliest we have experienced, but were given a welcome cocktail, and our bags arrived in our room minutes after we did.
We stayed in the main hotel, and despite being above the children’s club, and close proximity to the club, we found it relatively quiet (although at the time of travelling, the average age of holiday maker was around 60, so this may have something to do with this). The room was very nice, modern amenities, lovely bathroom, and the mini bar was filled daily.
I have to agree with some of the comments about the swimming pool, it certainly was NOT 27 degree, and at sometimes painful to get into! But the weather was hot enough to brave the cold waters. Travelling in October we found that there was no problem getting a sun bed after 10-11 in the morning. There is no pool service in terms of staff offering drinks, although the Xanadu bar is in close proximity to the swimming pools.
The buffet food provided excellent choice of freshly cooked meats and fish, which we found great! Some of their side dish choice we found as slightly odd, I think that a lot of the time the hotel was catering for their large amount of Russian visitors. Again I agree with some of the other reviews, in that the drink service was lacking in the buffet restaurant, when you did manage to catch the attention of a member of staff, you may have to wait until after you finish your dinner until receiving your drinks….We visited the Chinese, Italian and Mexican a la carte during our stay. We really enjoyed the food, and here the service was exceptionally. I would say that again some of the menus were a little unconventional, my Italian main consisted of Chicken and scrambled egg?? We really enjoyed the Chinese, visiting twice.
At lunch times we favoured the Xanadu bar, which served a selection of freshly prepared pizza, pastas and a selection of salad. We preferred this location for lunch, as the service was excellent. This is the location we favoured in the evening, the live music offering was fantastic and varied during our seven day stay. Again we found the staff fantastic here, always keeping an eye on our glasses and offering us refills. The problem arises, I think, with the bar staff, or lack of them. In this bar, as with all of the bars, there was only one bar man, dealing with a lot of guest’s orders. But the entertainment was so good and the waiters so attentive, that we didn’t really mind a small wait before drinks (and as premium spirits are used, this isn’t always a bad thing).
For what we paid for our week away, we found that the resort offered all we needed for a week of rest and relaxation. If you can afford it, I would recommend a visit and treatment at the spa, which was the icing on an almost perfect cake.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EpsomGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
There are newer reviews for Xanadu Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the Xanadu Resort for 2 weeks sept/oct.

The hotel is nice, clean and met our needs for a relaxing two weeks. It is not however the luxury 5 star resort it claims to be and the service standards were some of the worst we have come across in an All inclusive.

Good Points
We had a room in the main building over looking to gardens to the rear. This was a positive as it meant we were not disturbed by the evening entertainment at the pool bar which was fairly loud until midnight.

The room was very clean on our arrival. Massive bed which as other reviewers have said, is very firm but this suited us fine. Mini bar was restocked daily although only 2 cans of beer. Large wardrobes and storage and decent bathroom facilities. The hotel currently offers a laundry service free of charge.

The pool areas were kept clean daily and plenty of choices of sunbeds in sun and shade. The 3 pools were all very different, so something for everyone. We didn't use the beach but there were plenty of sunbeds and shade there too. Other guests did say it gets very busy during the summer months though.

The pool bar was excellent. By far the best service in the resort with friendly and efficient staff. Snacks and icecream on offer 12 - 5 and a large array of non alcoholic and alcoholic drinks. The service here was great during the day and evening.

The a la carte restaurants form part of the all inclusive and have unlimited visits. We used the mexican, italian and chinese. The mexican was fantastic with great service. The italian was poor on the first visit however second time round it had improved and we asked for the pasta starters as main courses. The chinese main courses were not great first time round, dry duck and fatty lamb. Second time, however, we again asked for the beef and chicken starters as main courses and these were amazing. They seemed very willing to meet our requests.

The main buffet was fairly extensive although after the first week it became apparent that the food was repeated weekly and we grew a little tired of the repetition. All the food was hot and well cooked though.

The games room was great for kids and adults alike. Bowling, table football, air hockey and arcades.

Although we didn't have children with us, it was lovely to watch the staff with the kids at the resort. They really looked after them and spent time with them.

The spa is amazing but beware it's not cheap. We had a tour which was worth it, just to see the suites of rooms that cost 1000 euros to use!! We had a treatment and used the pools and facilities which were all of a very high standard. We also got a free spa pass (for our anniversary) which we used on our final day. This meant we had the use of the showers etc and didn't have to pay the very expensive late checkout charge of 100 euros.

It was our anniversary and my birthday while we were away and on both days we received cake and sparkling wine, with spa vouchers, balloons and a letter from the hotel.

Bad stuff

The service at breakfast and evening meal in the main restaurant was very poor. Some days we'd eaten our full meal before we had even seen a member of staff to ask for a drink. The staff were abrupt and lacked any warmth or friendliness.

The lobby bar and outside terrace service was also very poor. No where near enough staff each evening for the number of guests. The waitresses tried hard but things took a lot longer as their English was not very good. There didn't appear to be anyone organising the service. This was not at all the fault of the staff, there simply was not enough of them. We waited up to 30 minutes some evenings to even place an order for drinks.

The service at guest relations was luke warm at best. At one a la carte booking she actually huffed and sighed about taking it.

The safe in our room kept locking shut and over the 2 weeks, we could not convince reception or maintenance that it was not the batteries (these had already been changed). The showers in the room are also not great and the temperature varies quite a lot depending on how many other people are showering.

The maid service during our stay was not good. The bed was made nicely, however the rest of the cleaningleft a lot to be desired, which is a shame because it was immaculate when we arrived On our maids 2 days off however this improved greatly so it obviously varies massively from maid to maid.

Overall
This is hotel had it's good and bad points. If rapid friendly service isn't high on your wish list then this hotel will probably be great for you. In fairness, it didn't stop us from having a great holiday and a very relaxing and enjoyable time. It's just not as good as the 5 star equivalent in mexico or the caribbean and yet it probably cost more...........

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chuckthechimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Having been to Belek and stayed at several different 5 star hotels for the last 5 years, this is the 1st time we've came away from our holiday very disappointed! We had requested a room in the hotel prior to our arrival at Xanadu along with a kettle as we were travelling for the 1st time with a baby, only to be told the hotel was full which we later realised wasn't the case and when we got to our room there was no kettle. However we were happy with our bungalow as it was more appropriate with a baby. The room was clean and tidy and the mini bar was filled daily! The cleaning staff were very friendly particularly the cleaning Supervisor who made a real fuss of our baby. The grounds were quite nice how they were set in the forest made nice walks with the pushchair. The food in the buffet suited us but service of drinks at times was poor, the same goes for the bar, at times you were waiting upto 15 mins to be served! But in fairness to the staff in the bar area, at times there were only 2 max 3 girls to serve all the tables and they didn't stop! The main thing we were looking forward to with this holiday was getting our little one in the pool, he absolutely loved it! However, we had a storm a couple of days into the holiday and ever since then the pool never returned to the heat it was, although the board read 29 degrees every day, it certainly wasn't that temperature! It was such a disppointment not to beable to use the pool, as you're very limited with things to amuse a 5 month old. Due to the storms we were all bitten and insecticide wasn't used for several days after, which was a bit of a concern with the baby!! But the final straw for us was when it came to check out, we went toesk several days before to try and arrange for a late check out as our pick up from the hotel wasn't until 22.30 and we had to make up sufficient bottles for the baby to last us incase of delays, hence needing a kettle and the whole process took well over 1 hour!! We were told to return on the day of check out, which we did only to be told we couldn't keep the room on and if we wanted a room it would cost us £77 for 4 hours. When we tried to explain we had to make up bottles using sterilising bags, they said the hotel would do it and we could use the water from the restaurant for the bottles, then when we asked where we could bath our baby we were told to use the showers... Obviously not happy with this service we asked to speak to the Manager, when the guy on the reception started to shout at us and said the Manager will say the same. Out of principle we weren't going to pay £77! It wasn't about the money but the fact we were going to have move rooms, we thought they would've been a bit more accomodating. As we had to wait in the reception area on our last day for 8 hours we witnessed one of the Russian guests who wasn't happy with his room throw a book across the reception which hit the guy on the head, ofcourse he was given an upgraded room instantly, need i say more!!!!!! Bad Management!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hilly237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We've just got back from the Xanadu after an 11 night stay via Thomas Cook. My husband and myself went, he had previously been put off visiting Turkey after a visit 15 years ago to Marmaris for a lads holiday so I had a job persuading him to give it another try. This hotel was recommended by a colleague whom I knew would go for a resort as far from the 18-30's crowd as possible so I knew it was a safe bet!

I realise there are a lot of mixed reviews on the site, some of which based on our visit seem a bit unfair,although I think that the experience you have will be very much determined by whether you've visited before. Generally those that have seem to think that the service levels have worsened in recent years, if you haven't been before I don't think you'd know the difference. With regards to its 5 star rating, have visited several all-inclusive hotels in Europe (including a 3 star in Majorca - enough said!) I think the rating is fair. Perhaps it wouldn't quite be 5 star in the Caribbean (who do all-inclusive like no-else) but as far as an all-inclusive goes in Europe its right up there. If you're in any doubt visit one or two of the 3 star all-inclusive's especially those with 1 pool and 1 buffet restaurant serving school dinner type meals and you'll soon get the picture!

Antayla airport was absolutely fine, both arriving and departing got through customs etc reasonably quickly and then had a taxi transfer to the hotel which took about 30 mins. We were greeted immediately at reception and were pleased to get a bungalow type room in the gardens, where we were driven to with our cases straight away. We were also given some info at reception over the facilities available.

The room was fine, clean, well decorated with plenty of wardrobe space (illuminated too - very handy!) Bathroom was fine, with various toiletries. We had a balcony overlooking the golf course and a huge bed. We found that the room was serviced every day and always felt fresh and clean. The bed was a bit hard but it depends what you're used to. Contrary to what some of the other reviews said we could hear no music whatsoever in our rooms and were never disturbed. The mini bar was filled every day with no prompting needed.

There are several bars on site. The Xanadu bar is based near the larger pool and offers a selection of food you can help yourself to (salads and pizza mainly) or a menu you can order food from, ie burgers, pasta, chicken etc. We ate here often at lunchtime and had no problems. If its your first time, just sit at a table and a waiter/ess will come over and take your drinks order, if you want a menu just ask them for one or pick one up off the bar, and they'll come over to get the order. Again contrary to other reports we didn't have any problem getting drinks although we didn't use this bar in the evening. We only waited a couple of minutes at most. You can also get ice-creams from here, with a good selection flavours.

As far as other bars go, there is a beach bar if you use the beach, we didn't simply because we preferred the look of the pools. There's a fashion bar down in the shopping arcade, though we only saw this used when we were by the top pool. There is a bar at the secret garden pool which is handy ( you can use this no matter where you are staying in the hotel). In the hotel itself there is a lobby bar which has seating inside and out and what they call the Irish bar or Rosebud bar though we couldn't see what was Irish about it! We used this bar a lot in the evening as its quiet initially, you can sit at the bar and chat with others the staff are good and its a nice ambience. It might not suit if you're a smoker though. We also used the lobby bar as well in the evening and although busy we didn't struggle with drinks at all.

Restaurants - there's the main buffet restaurant - you just sit at any table and help yourself and someone will come over to get you drinks. This is the one where the service is hit and miss. They weren't the fastest with drinks and sometimes the tables weren't laid quickly. It also isn't overly apparent where the different foods are. It was fine for breakfast and lunch but we only used it the first night and the night we were flying home in the evening. The service was far better in the a'la carte restaurants. 5 of these are based off the main restaurant (Italian, Mexican, Chinese, Turkish and French) the last (Russian) is separate and the only one we didn't go to. Don't let the fact they are situated off the buffet restaurant put you off, the food is different and you do actually feel like you are eating somewhere different. You can book them anytime up to 3pm on the day you want to eat but generally I'd advise booking the day before especially if there are a few of you. We generally booked the morning before when we were on the way to the swimming pools. They were all good, favourite was probably the chinese, if you order the duck as a main course it comes just like crispy duck at home, pancakes etc. They all give you nice little touches, ie meze waiting for you at the turkish, garlic bread at the Italian so give them try especially as they don't cost any extra. You can order up to 4 courses in each one so you shouldn't go hungry!

Pools - 3 main pools, the secret garden which was quiet with no music, it was a decent size but had no shallow end and it was cold! Having said that they all were really but at least with the others you could get in gradually!. There was a pool which was shaped like a beach and was pretty, there were kids here but even though I'm not a big fan of children it wasn't overrun with them. It could get quite loud with music though. There a pool that it set above this one, which although you could hear the music was quieter and seemed better if you wanted to swim. There were always plenty of loungers and they have sunshades attached to each so no messing about trying to get umbrellas. Even if you came down mid afternoon you'd have no problem finding somewhere. There are 2 or 3 waterslides near the top pool but you need to watch for when they are open, usually a couple of hours each day. It's also worth saying there are plenty of toilets around and even the ones by the pools were clean and fresh. With regards to towels you'll get cards at reception, usually one per person, however if you ask they'll given you another one each. Its advisable to get 2 as the loungers can get pretty hot and the towels don't cover them fully. The towel place as always open when we came down in the morning around 8ish sometimes and seemed to have plenty of stock all day.

Staff - there seems to be some criticism about lack of them and I think its probably fair to say that you got this impression occasionally. At no point however did we have long waits for anything. Some of them seem more experienced that others and some speak better English than others but we had no probably being understood. The only time it happened was when I asked for crisps and got chips - not exactly the end of the world! I think you also have to remember they deal with a lot of nationalities so have to learn the basics of several languages. With regards to friendliness, it does vary a bit but again in didn't affect anything.

We didn't try the room service or go and see the entertainment but from what we heard it appeared fine. One thing that is worth trying is the laundry service, the info can be found in the wardrobes but we sent 2 lots of washing before we came home and got it back washed and pressed. If you send it you are guaranteed to get it back before 5pm the next day - its worth it not to have piles of washing on the way home!

Other facilities include a gym, which was air conditioning and looked well-equipped, a 4 lane bowling alley and a large screen in the sports bar where the Premier League games were on. There were also some games machines there. There is a also a spa which we didn't use. It cost 15 euros if you wanted to which was probably reasonable. There is a bus service that runs to Belek every half hour or so and cost a euro each way. There are also taxis around if you want them.

On the last day we had to check out at 12 although we weren't leaving till the evening, to keep the room would cost £77 which we didn't think worth it as it would have only been till 6pm. Instead you can use the indoor pool. They have a luggage room for the cases and then in the changing area of the indoor pool there are large lockers which can store your hand luggage for the day. There is also a shower, towels and hairdryer when you want to get changed later. Its much better that the facilities provided in some hotels.

All in all we had a great time, there are a few minor things that need attention but I've yet to find anywhere perfect. We'll definately go back to Turkey and are quite likely to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank looby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were really impressed with the Xanadu Resort Hotel and would happily recommend it! The grounds are absolutely lovely – from the river teeming with fish and hunting Kingfishers to the pine woodlands with red squirrels scampering about.

The service is slightly lacking but this did not have much of a detrimental effect – things like having to ask for wine to be topped up and not always finding a table made up. But once you sit down within minutes a waiter/waitress will come over and make the table for you.

The food is plentiful and we found it to be varied, preferring to use the main restaurant rather than the a la cartes. I expected the a la cartes to be separate restaurants so you feel like you are going out to dinner in a different place, but they are just rooms off of the main buffet restaurant. We tried the Mexican but it was nothing special so we stayed with the main restaurant, which we enjoyed each time.

We had lunch most days in the Xanadu Bar – Turkish pancakes freshly cooked, salad and pizza available and ice cream on tap!

The baklava (Turkish pastries) every night in the main restaurant was truly delicious! Don’t bother buying it at the airport as it just does not taste the same!

At the time of booking I mentioned to the travel agent it was my husband’s birthday whilst we were there and on the day the Xanadu totally spoilt him! They put balloons and flowers in the room and then delivered a cake and champagne later on in the evening… really nice touches that were most appreciated.

The pools are wonderful. We liked the ‘No Entry’ pool (strangely named!) – plenty of places around the edge to sit and read your book whilst dangling your feet in the water. The Secret Garden pool was a little too quiet as we liked the music around the other 2 pools.

There is a lovely area called Bird’s Paradise which has hammocks and seating all under the pine trees – really peaceful.

All in all, a wonderful relaxing week and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Holideers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Xanadu, the hotel was really nice, the grounds, the standard of the rooms and facilities were all excellent but the level of service was very poor. At a five star resort the staff should be more pro-active.

The main problems we encountered were:-
Breakfast - tables never laid up and you have to ask for this to be done, you have to ask for cutlery and coffee cups and then ask for coffee and then for milk. I have travelled all over the world and even in 3* places the staff know and anticipate what guests need/want. The staff spoke very little English so you never knew if they understood what you wanted. The arrangement of the food is really strange, eggs then sausage next to sweet stuff, just seemed wrong. No skimmed milk, no sweetners no margarine, couldn't always find the butter.
Staff seem more interested in clearing empty tables than dealing with guests or guests requests.
Lunch - at the snack bar by the pool - very good not a hugh choice but enough for a lunch time. Excellent selection of Ice Creams all day at this bar (the best service we had all week was from the girl on this bar).
Dinner - buffet food was OK not great - bit dis-jointed as some bits were inside, some out on the terrace, some stuff repeated in both areas. No real flow to the open air buffet set up. Drinks service was very poor at dinner too, had to ask and wait all the time.
Al a carte - went to the chinese twice and the french once - these were both very good and you did receive good service at these restaurants.
Bars - pool bar was ok - but no pool side waiter service, staff were nice but not overally friendly. All other bars the service was very very slow - you had to wait to be served, wait for the drinks, ask for nuts when you could see others were getting them.

On the whole the place was nice but the level of service lets this hotel down. The need a head waiter or more staff overseeing the others as they don't seem to see the obvious things holiday makers expect.

For the price we paid we were dis-appointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tw-SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just returned from a two week stay certainly not a five star hotel. The resort and rooms were very clean, but the service was very slow they seemed very short staff especially at the outside bars, a wait of 30 mins for a drink was very regular, but got offended if you went to the bar ! three of my party of 5 had stomach problems with the food and spoke to many other guests with similar problems including one guest who had to stay in hospital overnight. The so called adult only restarurants are rooms of the main self sevice dining room with no windows and all you hear and see are the self service dinners and children walking past. Pools were good but beach was poor for kids and very dirty saw childcut food on glass in sand.
Childrens playground littered with glasses left from the night before, where adults mainly from the conferences had be in during the evenings. I had to clear galsses away from the childrens slide and swings before my grandson could use the equipment.
Complaints from every one about the noise from the bars and shows at night which could be heard in any room untill th early hours
THREE STAR would be more appropriate would certainly NEVER go back.

Room Tip: Best rooms are sea view but to much noise from the bars at night
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pw_photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belek hotels
1.9 mi away
Cornelia De Luxe Resort
1.8 mi away
Papillon Ayscha Hotel Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Papillon Zeugma Relaxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Susesi Luxury Resort
Susesi Luxury Resort
#35 of 88 in Belek
2,037 reviews
3.6 mi away
Limak Arcadia Golf & Sport Resort
0.3 mi away
Gloria Golf Resort
Gloria Golf Resort
#11 of 88 in Belek
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Resort Hotel

Address: Acisu Mevkii, Belek 07500, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Belek
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Belek
#25 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#26 Family Hotel in Belek
Price Range: $151 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Belek Village nearby Antalya in Turkey. This grandly scaled property, directly on the beach, offers a High Class All Inclusive resort experience for the holiday of a lifetime. Be carried back to the times of the ancient Romans among the columned walkways, ancient-style pools and amphitheatre of the five-star resort with something for everyone - the Xanadu Resort Hotel. This very impressive resort has a grand presence with its commanding architecture and beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Xanadu Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Hotel Belek
Xanadu Belek
Xanadu Resort Hotel Belek, Turkey - Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing