We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but not for us - Belek resort too man made”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gloria Verde Resort
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Belek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not for us - Belek resort too man made”
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Having just returned from the Gloria Verde resort, I wanted to give a review as I didn’t think the hotel quite lived up to the reviews already posted on this website. The hotel itself is nice, the décor is maybe a little outdated for my taste but the rooms are clean and finished to a reasonably high standard.

The pool area is very nice, no issues getting sun loungers at any time of the day and no need to get up early to reserve!! There is plenty to do for children which meant the hotel had more families than we had hoped (so good and bad there, depending on your point of view!) The beach was a bit of a disappointment, only a small stretch (although private to the hotel) with lots of sun loungers, meant it felt cramped and not that picturesque. Additionally as you get to the sea, the beach turned from sand to pebbles which made it uncomfortable to walk. There was however a pier, which meant you could bypass the stones and get straight into the sea from there (although the sea was deep at this point).

The food on the whole was good, plenty of choice (although it was a bit repetitive). This was our first experience of staying half board, and based on this experience we probably wouldn’t do it again. Although both breakfast and dinner were buffet service, drinks were waiter service and the service could be very slow (especially at breakfast where you could finish eating before anyone came to offer you tea/coffee/juice – we normally had to go and seek someone after about 20mins).

There are three al la carte restaurants; a French restaurant, a Far East restaurant and a fish restaurant. You can eat at each of these once during your stay as part of the half board price. We were not quite convinced of the authenticity of the themes of these restaurants, but on the whole the food was good (although not amazing). However the wine list for these restaurants was ridiculously expensive, starting at €32 for the cheapest bottle of wine, the next was €40 and it carried on rising rapidly up to €180+!! You were looking at paying at least €55 for any wine made outside Turkey!

Lunch was a disappointment (I’m sure it would have been better if you were all inclusive), there was very little choice as there is little option but to eat at one of the two bars/pubs in the hotel as Belek is a 15-20min tractor ride away (the tourist bus!) and again food and drinks were expensive. As a warning, everything in the hotel and Belek was priced in Euros so it was just as expensive as any other European resort, if not more so - €2 for an ice cream in Belek!

Finally there was a lot of entertainment at the hotel, e.g. shows in the evenings, activities during the day. This was somewhat necessary as there was so little to do outside the hotel and Belek did not appear to be a particularly interesting place to spend time, but it gave the holiday a bit of a Butlins feel to it.

Overall, we had a nice time lazing by the pool, reading books, but didn’t really get a feel of Turkey as a country as the resort is so man made, so wouldn’t recommend Belek as a resort unless you want a golfing holiday!

Liked best:
Pool
Weather

Liked least:
Belek as a resort
Service
Butlins like feel of the activities

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    151
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
453
262
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Everything was looking oldish.
Food/spa/pools were good. Our room on the ground level was hot and humid most of the time. Airconditioning was working only in certain hours. We didn't try to change the room. By the time we figured out that our aircond was not broken - it is just hotel policy tor saving energy it was time to go home.
We liked newer kids pool with sand, water slides and a juice bar at a spa, although bar attendant was rarely there to serve.
It used to be our favorite hotel in Belek. Not anymore. Gloria Verde badly needs a face lift!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Luxury Link

Helpful?
1 Thank lilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Just returned from Turkey. Could not believed my eyes when we got to the hotel. The service provided by the staff was amazing. They make you feel special and i felt like i was in a proper 5* hotel as opposed to some 5* hotels i have been in. The staff are so friendly, always had a smile on their face and they go the extra mile to make your trip that bit more special.
The food was amazing. Presentation of the food out of this world. We were on half board which we felt was sufficient. Quite a lot of people were on all inclusive. You can use the three a la carte during your stay there. we used it once but thought that the buffet was amazing enough not to bother with the a la carte restaurant. Water and wine is free during dinner.
in terms of entertainment there was something happening each evening or you could go to the sister hotel arena to watch their show. worth going on Sat for the fire of anatolia (short version). we thought that they put a lot of attention to details in their show and thoroughly enjoyed it.
They are some daytime activities organised, one tennis court ,volleyball court, table tennis waterslides etc but you can always go to their other hotels. Gloria golf had even more facilities for children.
As others have mentioned, the prices for the spa are on the high side.we did not use the spa because of the price.
Overall we thought the hotel was amazing..don't hesitate to book. paid 399 for the holiday with first choice. would have gladly paid a lot more to stay at that hotal.

Amazing swimming pools both inside and outside including a jacuzzi

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I think my Overall Rating speaks for itself plus the fact that last October 2008 was our 13th year staying at the Gloria Hotels & Resort and, in recent years always at the Gloria Verde. I certainly agree with all the comments of your previous reviewers. I have not stayed at the Gloria Serenity but have heard it is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IerseMeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

I just returned from Gloria Verde in Belek where I stayed with my family for one week. The hotel is a fantastic experience with excellent staff, food, pools and weather (end of October and most of the days with 28 degrees...). We booked the hotel with a friend to play golf and I have to say that golf in Belek is terrific. There are 11 or more 18 holes golf courses with a distance by taxi of less than 30 minutes. About six of them were opened over last five years which shows the expansion of the region. We played in three of them and there are all nicely kept. We played Cornelia golf course (Faldo development) which is said to be one of the best courses in Europe - highly recommended indeed.

We booked Gloria with all inclusive and this was a perfect decision. All inclusive there is much above the standard with fresh orange juice, chivas regal and many coctails included. My wife and 2 years daughter enjoyed the life in the hotel, with plenty of swimming pools and nice sunny weather...

I will go back...

  • Liked — being close to many golf courses
  • Disliked — water from the shower which was changing from hot to cold without touching the tap..
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piotro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a week long holiday at the Gloria Verde resort and the one word to sum up our experience is TRANQUIL. First, the small and insignficiant things, no iron/press at the hotel, no english movie channel and no shops outside of the hotel. On the positive side, a very lavish hotel, set in lush gardens with a very good buffet selection for breakfast and dinner. The pool is spacious and you can visit sister hotels, serenity and golf resort if you get bored here. Belek town centre is a tractor ride away or a 40 minute walk and you can take a bus to Antalya which is worth visiting. Overall, we found this hotel and its facilities glorious. But as said by another reviewer if the world wasn't so big, we would definitely come back here.....go ahead and book.

S&N

  • Liked — hotel surroundings
  • Disliked — lack of shops outside hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SN46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON KEYNES
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Excellent break. This is probably the best AI hotel I have stayed into date. Noticeable plus: I travel a lot on business and throughout the stay here the customer focus of the staff was brilliant. Genuine smiles and close attention to detail.

Food - just look at the pictures - and this was the main buffet!. A la carte's (all but one included in AI) also very good - french one in particular.

Several bars on site found the beach bar and the upper louge bar the best. Both very relaxing and comfortable in very different ways.

Brits in minority in this hotel but not an issue. SPA treatments (not cheap) but brilliant.

This is one I will go back too

  • Liked — Lovely rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LINDAM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belek hotels
1.1 mi away
Maxx Royal Belek Golf Resort
4.6 mi away
Regnum Carya Golf & Spa Resort
6.3 mi away
Club Asteria Belek
Club Asteria Belek
#3 of 87 in Belek
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sueno Hotels Golf Belek
0.4 mi away
Cornelia De Luxe Resort
1.1 mi away
Gloria Serenity Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Verde Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Verde Resort

Property: Gloria Verde Resort
Address: Ileribasi Mevkii, Belek 07006, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Belek
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Belek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#16 Family Hotel in Belek
#21 Business Hotel in Belek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gloria Verde Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Verde Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Verde Hotel Belek
Gloria Verde Belek
Gloria Verde Resort Belek, Turkey - Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing