We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Tired"”
Review of Vodisek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vodisek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Koper
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“"Tired"”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Location (midway between train station and town centre) was excellent for my purposes, although the "reception" - through a "wine bar" on the front of the building - could have been more clearly signposted. I got the impression that the hotel had seen better days. Furniture was scuffed, light bulbs were missing. The room was big enough, and staff were very friendly (complimentary coffee on arrival). Downside was the food - breakfast had minimal choices, and although there was a (small, seafood) restaurant sharing the hotel's breakfast area, the menus were not translated into good English, and there was no facility to charge my meal to my room account.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    43
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
35
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, ACT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am surprised by what some others have written about this hotel. I have stayed at the Hotel Vodisek quite a few times over the past few years and i wouldn't keep returning if I didn't like it ! Fair enough, it isn't 'flash', but seriously, what do others expect for less than 50 euros a night, including a more than acceptable breakfast.And I think the rooms are more than adequately sized and the bathrooms are great - larger and better appointed than the bathrooms of some MUCH more expensive hotels I have stayed in. As for the 'mediocre coffee' mentioned by 'melted_snowball', I am no coffee snob but the coffee offered by the hotel staff (and I mean not a coffee from the machine provided) was a nice touch and perfectly OK. I've always found the staff of the hotel a welcoming bunch, and to have my laundry done for free (as a hotel regular) was much appreciated. Next time I am back in Koper I will be sure to make a return visit to the Hotel Vodisek.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dallachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After two very modern hotels elsewhere in Slovenia, this was the throwback to Yugoslavia: small rooms, bad furniture, tiny bars of soap, a single (slow) elevator and no way of taking stairs, small hotel breakfast of mostly cold breads and such, mediocre coffee, and a feeling of being trapped in the ugliest part of town, and Koper isn't lovely to begin with.

That said, it's not super-expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koper hotels

Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is directly at the main Istria bicycle trail - easy to walk to town or to go shopping just across the street. Parking is convenient and plentiful. Don't expect any luxury though (except the very nice shower) - it's basic but ok. The staff did not smile a lot indeed, but was always very helpful with any kind of request.

Our room did get some exposure to a humming noise from outside, but it was bearable (and better than the A/C of other hotels)

If you are looking for a nice reception area or pretty building, don't go here, though.

So: If you are budget conscious and need a place to stay in Koper, this can be recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kibofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Well, don't get afraid by the outside look, it is pretty decent once you get in. Of course you can find more spacious rooms, nicer bathroom and so on... but for medium budgets, short trips or especially travel trips you will enjoy being just close enough to walk downtown, and far enough to easily park or leave the town.
The only downside is the breakfast, I am used to slightly better!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were staying in Koper to watch the Slovenia v Scotland football match. The location of the hotel was excellent, 2 mins walk to the stadium and 5 mins walk to the old town. The room we had was a quad, it was clean and spacious only complaint was there was no hot water for a shower in the morning. The buffet breakfast was good with the normal selection of cereals, cold meats, fruit etc. Although we were only there for one night the staff were friendly and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a budget hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarenville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Reviews and guidebooks warned us about "communist-era" hotels in Slovenia and Croatia, but this was the only one, even on our limited budget, that really seemed to have survived intact from 1967.
The name is absent from the sign (seriously, we circled twice before deciding that the building labeled "Hotel" was definitely our destination), and the entrance is almost hidden in a row of business doors. The lobby is dark and cramped, and the neighbourhood is parking lots, construction sites, and grocery stores.
However, it is not awful--don't run screaming from the spot. Coastal Slovenia is an expensive area if you aren't booking for a week into one of the resort hotels. This place has free onsite parking, clean rooms, breakfast included, and is only a couple of blocks to the edge of the city centre, where restaurants can be found. It's only a short drive to beaches and the tourist draw of Piran. So if you want a night or two in this area without breaking the bank, this is an option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centralNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koper
3.9 mi away
Casino Hotel Carnevale Wellness & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bio
Hotel Bio
#3 of 6 in Koper
60 reviews
4.9 mi away
Belvedere Hotels
Belvedere Hotels
#2 of 6 in Izola
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel marina d.o.o.
Hotel marina d.o.o.
#1 of 6 in Izola
177 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
8.2 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vodisek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vodisek Hotel

Property: Vodisek Hotel
Address: Kolodvorska cesta 2, Koper 6000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Koper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Koper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vodisek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vodisek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vodisek Hotel Koper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing