We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Estalagem Santa Iria
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel in Tomar is in a great location. It is located by the river with huge gardens surrounding it. The hotel is in the old quarter.

In days gone by, it would have been a grand majestic hotel but now it is starting to show its age. The rooms are a decent size with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The furniture is nearing the antique stage. For a one night stop over it was adequate. The evening was cold so the heaters were on.

I think you are paying for the location.

Parking was in the grounds of the hotel which was great. We left the car there after checkout and toured the town on foot.

We enjoyed Tomar. The convent was worth the 6euros admission. You can walk up to the convent from town.The town was also interesting.

The hotel was antiquated but it had character.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We only drove past the tiny bridge to the park in front of the hotel about 3 times before we realized that what we thought was a pedestrian bridge only was actually also the driveway.

Beautiful and peaceful setting in the middle of a busy little town. We visited Tomar for a couple of days and I can't imagine a nicer setting. The park on the island was such a great buffer that you could imagine you were not in a town at all.

I only rank it lower on value as we are budget travellers and we spend more here than almost anywhere else. Not that it was expensive, but just that it was more than we spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewBede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The entrance drive is easy to miss because: 1) there's a big sign with a circle and red slash, i.e. "Do Not Enter;" 2) there sign for the hotel is tiny that has "Except for clients" or something like that; and 3) the driveway looks like a narrow pedestrian bridge. We had to stop a couple of times to even find the correct street as it's easy to become disoriented in Tomar. In general, Google maps are worthless in Portugal because they reference street names that aren't signed and the information provided is too vague. If you ask for directions, have a paper and pen handy and have the person draw a sketch.
The hotel is on two floors and there's no elevator. Bathrooms are small and inconvenient - no place to set toiletries except in the bidet - and no blow dryer. The shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water.
We ate in the hotel restaurant the first day and the food and service are very good.
It's an easy stroll across the river into a park with a pond/waterfall and playgrounds. The old part of the town is also within walking distance.
We spent the night here to visit Convento do Cristo, which is worth the time if you like quiet, meditative places.

Room Tip: The rooms have pretty views whichever side of the hotel you're on, and there are balconies, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aishasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The best part of the hotel was the position. The room we had was small and the bathroom antiquated. Needs a total refurbishment. The breakfast was very adequate. We did not eat in the restaurant and cannot comment but they were not busy! Tomar is a lovely town and hotel adequate for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulACTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is approached by a drive of plane trees in a park and first impressions are excellent. The welcome was very pleasant. The room my daughter and her husband had was lovely large, with two windows and an excellent bathroom. I wish I could say the same for our room - number 6. My daughter had asked for a room with a shower for us as baths are not so easy. The edge of the shower must have been 14" off the ground, which was not easy stepping out of it. The toilet intake pipe had been turned off - presumably because it did not stop running when turned on. Their was no plug in the sink. All rooms were taken, so it was not possible to change. Our window looked out on the river and unfortunately the frontage of a very large hotel beyond that - not the hotel's fault of course. We were only there two nights but it was a shame as the hotel was lovely. The dining room was attractive and the food was excellent with good service. The lounge and bar area was very large and comfortably furnished..One thing we could not find was any information about the town and area.

Room Tip: Just refuse room 6!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Pretty hotel on an island, good location for the centre of town, with easy safe parking. Has an air of faded glory, with some eccentricities, but staff welcoming and breakfast ample. Rooms look out from a spacious balcony over the tree-lined lawn. We could have stayed longer, would be a good base from which to explore the area. Good restaurants in town.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

You have to drive into the park along the path(!) from the main road which I found very strange. We paid 49€ B&B for a nice room with balcony overlooking the river. Bathroom is basic but very clean, shower weak, took ages for the hot water. Breakfast is not buffet, you are served juice, cheese, ham, yogurt, bread and jam, tea or coffee in the very nice restaurant. But it is perfectly sufficient and I imagine that if you wanted more that they would give you it. Staff friendly and speak English.

Free parking, in the centre of town, easy to find. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomar
0 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
0.1 mi away
Residencial Uniao
Residencial Uniao
#2 of 9 in Tomar
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residencial Trovador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa da Avo Genoveva
Casa da Avo Genoveva
#3 of 9 in Tomar
28 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#3 of 4 in Batalha
414 reviews
9 mi away
Casa Do Adro Hotel
Casa Do Adro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ferreira do Zezere
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Santa Iria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Santa Iria

Address: Parque Municipal do Mouchao, Tomar 2300-332, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estalagem Santa Iria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the city center in a island at the most beautiful and peaceful site at the city of Tomar the Mouchao Park, among flowers and landscape of the Nabao river. The Estalagem of Santa Iria have a beautiful garden, restaurant with fireplace, a meeting room, a bar with fireplace and a private car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Estalagem Santa Iria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Santa Iria Tomar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing