We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Estalagem Santa Iria
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location is perfect - right in the center of Tomar, within walking distance of the Convento. It's in the middle of a park, and the balconies give you a great view. The furnishings are a bit dated and interesting. One of the largest beds I've seen in Europe, but VERY firm. Bathtub/shower is a bit different, in that the faucet is at the middle of the tub, rather than the end; makes taking a shower somewhat awkward. Plenty of hot water and high water pressure. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast was good but basic. Price was a little higher than I would think appropriate for low season with these furnishings. I would still recommend it, though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kccarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 139 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just a superb location, on a private island in centre of town. An older hotel with typical cramped rooms, but a wonderful big balcony overlooking the park and river. A nice bright dining room. Service a bit eccentric, but friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sedillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel was a find after a long tired driving day. It is on an island, so incredibly quiet. (What was interesting was the level of renovation – newly painted rooms, lovely curtains and bedspreads, but sort of worn green carpeting. Then, brand new shutters out to balconies, but old plastic furniture. It’s almost as though they did not finish. If you just drive there, you might ask to see the room first.) That said, I would recommend this hotel – it was clean, the staff was very welcoming (limited English, but we worked well with our dictionary and they were patient.) The location was terrific, and there is easy parking out front by their park. The bed was a bit hard, but fine for us. Breakfast was pretty good and service great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Pensione was great, service also, room is clean and bathroom also. Nice position with beautiful park view from the balcony. Peaceful and quite. Breakfast was nice and simple! We were very satisfied! Men on check in was very helpfull :

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tajcica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the hotel amidst the beauty of the trees and river. There is usually only one person doing the check in, restaurant waitering and bar service but its kind of amusing - they are all very friendly. The building is unusual and stunning, having been built in 1949. I think our bed was from 1949 because it was rock hard. We didn't let this spoil our stay though as it was a totally unique experience. There was usually a coach load of day tourists filling the restaurant at lunch time so we always ate out. One evening we returned late from a big road trip and were disappointed to be told we could not use the restaurant due to some other kind of function. The food we did sample was very pleasant - although service felt a little stiff at times. Don't expect a mini bar, air conditioning or a hair dryer screwed to the wall because they just aren't there! Tomar is amazing and this hotel fits well with it's unique charm.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SARASAURUS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel has a lovely pensione atmosphere with vintage charm. When we checked in that evening there was a roaring fire in the lounge. The gentlemen who checked us in also acted as bellman and waiter. We did have a light supper that was quite good but felt a little awkward as we were the only ones in the dining room. The same scene was repeated for breakfast. It was the only hotel during our stay in Portugal that apparently did not have enough guests to serve a buffett breakfast. The service in the dining room was quite attentive.

The room was basic, clean and a great value for the money. As previously stated, there was a lovely balcony off of the room that opened up to views of the park.

The only downside is that even with GPS the hotel was a little tough to find. We ended up having to ask a local for directions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane from WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is so lovely with a large veranda, private balconies and all set in a quaint little park. There are two fireplaces, a bar/ lounge and separate dining room. But the place is worn thin and moving into serious shabby. Breakfast is poor without any local freshness or flavors. The two nights we ate dinner there, the food was largely canned...very hard to believe in portugal! The fires were expertly tended by Albino, a professional and compassionate gentleman who also registered new guests, served the wine, acted as waiter and bused tables as well as tended the bar...all at the same time! You can walk everywhere from this hotel and the night view of the castle is magic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akachan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomar
0 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
0.1 mi away
Residencial Uniao
Residencial Uniao
#2 of 9 in Tomar
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residencial Trovador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa da Avo Genoveva
Casa da Avo Genoveva
#3 of 9 in Tomar
28 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#3 of 4 in Batalha
414 reviews
9 mi away
Casa Do Adro Hotel
Casa Do Adro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ferreira do Zezere
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Santa Iria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Santa Iria

Address: Parque Municipal do Mouchao, Tomar 2300-332, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estalagem Santa Iria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the city center in a island at the most beautiful and peaceful site at the city of Tomar the Mouchao Park, among flowers and landscape of the Nabao river. The Estalagem of Santa Iria have a beautiful garden, restaurant with fireplace, a meeting room, a bar with fireplace and a private car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Estalagem Santa Iria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Santa Iria Tomar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing