We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That is not a hotel which I may come back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Estalagem Santa Iria
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Yes, the location of this hotel is in a middle of an small island which has some charm. You may park the car right in front of the building. The personel is very friendly even though some of them may not speak English very well but they do try their best to help.

What I dislike mostly is the outdated furniture and decor which makes you feel like to stay in a hotel in 60's or every earlier. There is no air condition or refrigerator and I do not understand how they may get a Four Star rating. The mattress is extremly hard which is not comfortable at all. The isolation is not that good too but fortunately there were not many guests when we stayed there. During the weekend some young people are hanging around in the evening, also a bit noisy.

The breakfast is very simple and there is no any hot food except coffee or tea.

As a whole, considering the price and quality, I would not recommand this hotel. Of course you may find it pleasant if you do not mind those negative points I list above.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ForrestNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 139 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

Set in the valley of the Nabao in a charming park, this inn is a great stop over, with clean modern rooms, good food, heat, and a short walk anywhere in the wonderful city of Tomar.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisqueporra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Although the rooms and hallways in this hotel were a bit outdated, the ambiance was charming. It is centrally located on a small island. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the park setting (a plus for our Happy Hour!). Friends stayed here and there was a Soup Festival in the park on the days they were visiting. Free parking; breakfast excellent. Restaurant on site was quite nice. Our visit in Tomar, especially to the Convento do Cristo (Knights Templar) was a highlight of our month in Portugal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jxschode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This cute hotel is on an island and the rooms have balconies that over look the park and river. The hotel is older but that adds to it’s charm. We spent one night there and the rate included breakfast. We actually tried to change our flights to a later time to spend another night there as we found the hotel so charming. Short walk to restaurants and short drive to the castle. Staff was very nice to deal with. The town of Tomar is small and driving in town is not an issue. Parking is free. We slept with the windows to our room open and in the middle of the night and heard nothing, it was sort of eerie and then at 4 AM the clock struck four, that was cool.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank get_with_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Charming hotel in a terrific location in Tomar. Nice staff, very friendly. A little updating wouldn't hurt the rooms, however. The water from the hot water tap in the bathroom was a strange brown colour (possibly rust?), and that put me off a bit. But otherwise it was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realmsofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We only stayed at the Santa Iria for one night but could'nt have picked a better location. We could have gone for a more upmarket modern hotel situated directly behind the Santa Iria but frankly, we wanted to experience something of the real Portugal. As previous guests have commented, the breakfast is a little limited but the service is more personal and the coffee delicious!
The hotel is accessed via a narrow bridge that takes you across the river into the middle of the park. You can easily miss the sign so do not drive past too quickly.
There are plenty of restaurants nearby in the town serving all types of fare ranging from Indian, Italian through to traditional Portuguese food. All within easy walking distance.
The hotel itself is clean and comfortable for a couple of nights but you probably won't find enough here to stay longer than this. Good 3* accomodation with very polite and attentive staff.
The morning after our stay at the Santa Iria, we walked up through the town all the way up to the castle and the convent. You can easily spend 2-3 hours here as the convent and castle grounds (if you choose to walk the wall) are considerable. The convent charges only 3 Euro's entry per adult (cheap by UK standards). Very good value for money.
I suggest if considering walking up the hill to the castle, you have very sturdy shoes the pathway is only secure about two thirds of the way up but has been eroded by water damage towards the top so is not in great condition all the way and you have to pick your way carefully. There is a car park so you can drive up and there are some stalls at the top selling fruit, ice-cream and cold drinks. The convent also has a cafe although it was not open on the day we visited.
I would definitely recommend a visit to Tomar and the Santa Iria. An extremely intesting historical site and very pretty place. Even my husband enjoyed it and he is not that inspired by history.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaldingUKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed in Tomar for one night in May. It was a cool day and we had nowhere reserved but looked at possibilities on TA beforehand. We had a pleasant little room with a terrace overlooking the pretty park and up to the monastery. Very very reasonably priced and it included breakfast. Parking out front was perfect for us. Short stroll through the park across a little bridge (the same one you use to access this hotel - was confusing when we first arrived!) and you are in town. We wandered around for a bit but it was very chilly and most restaurants were closed as it was a monday. However we saw a couple of likely lads (a small group of well dressed men) heading into this little doorway so we thought we'd check it out. Had a fanatastic, simple but very very tasty meal (my husband had steak, I had sauteed kidney's in the most devine mustard and wine sauce). Its very small, only 6-8 tables, but had plenty of wine to choose from with dinner. Called A Casinha D'Avo Bia on Rua Dr. Joaquim Jacinto on one of the streets leading from the river. I mention this because it was hard to get a good restaurant open and this one isnt listed in the restaurant section. (I hope they dont mind). All and all very happy with Tomar and the monastery is fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gidday!again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomar
0 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
0.1 mi away
Residencial Uniao
Residencial Uniao
#2 of 9 in Tomar
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residencial Trovador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa da Avo Genoveva
Casa da Avo Genoveva
#3 of 9 in Tomar
28 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#3 of 4 in Batalha
414 reviews
9 mi away
Casa Do Adro Hotel
Casa Do Adro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ferreira do Zezere
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Santa Iria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Santa Iria

Address: Parque Municipal do Mouchao, Tomar 2300-332, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estalagem Santa Iria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the city center in a island at the most beautiful and peaceful site at the city of Tomar the Mouchao Park, among flowers and landscape of the Nabao river. The Estalagem of Santa Iria have a beautiful garden, restaurant with fireplace, a meeting room, a bar with fireplace and a private car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Estalagem Santa Iria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Santa Iria Tomar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing