We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel dos Templarios
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quite spectacular”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is certainly one of the most beautiful hotels I've been to in Europe. The grounds and fountains are impressive and the hotel's lobby and entrance are simply grand in their beauty.
The rooms are excellent and the view from my balcony was just lovely.
Food at the hotel is quite good. In short, I think it is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in in Portugal. The only thing that bothered me was that the water drainage in the bathroom was slow in the tub and the sink and normally no one likes to stand in a pool of water while showering or have a little pool forming in the sink as they wash their hands or face.
Aside from that, everything was great and I definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    442
    72
    8
    5
See reviews for
267
544
33
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This old hotel is well-maintained and centrally located near the river. The rooms are spacious and modern, as is the bathrooms. Service is in English is desired and very professional. The restaurant is amazingly good, lovely presentation and reasonably priced. Everyone in the hotel is friendly and helpful - a nice surprise to our visit in Portugal.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

On our way from Lisbon to Lisbon to Porto we stopped for a night in Tomar. This 4 stars hotel was a wonderful surprise!We got a huge room with a great bed and a terrace overlooking the pool and the river , The hotel has 2 swimming pools (one of them indoors and small), Breakfast was satisfying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Easy to find in centre of town in huge grounds and in easy walking distance of good restaurants. You enter into an unbelievably huge lobby - very impressive. The rooms were OK and bathroom a good size, but we only paid 60 euros B&B so cannot complain. We ate out but had drinks in house and were surprised how cheap they were for a hotel; breakfast was good and what you expect travelling around Portugal . A great base for exploring - everyone goes to the castle and tomb of Fatima, but visit the caves at Mira de Aire - very hard to find but absolutely stunning - I had seen their history on Nat Geo and they are a must see.

Downside - always mark down hotels where you pay for wifi - no excuse for this ripoff charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when we booked a room here. Upon arrival we were delighted to see how beautiful the property was. We were given a room on the top floor, with a balcony, overlooking beautiful Old Tomar and the park. The service was excellent and the room was spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pschneid221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is convenient for the old town of Tomar and the Convent of the Order of Christ. Rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Overall what you would expect from a 4 star hotel and at a price one might pay in a lot worse establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel very much, it was easy to find and the entrance and gardens with the fountains were a welcome sight on arrival. The breakfast was fine, similar to others we experienced whilst travelling around. The pool area was very pleasant to relax for a while (it was very hot in Tomar in early September), there is also a small but nice indoor pool. We did not use the restaurant because it seemed very expensive and there was no buffet on offer. We loved Tomar with the setting on the river, it is a charming place to wander the streets, also visited the very impressive convent. The only disappointment was that the restaurants we tried, using reviews on Tripadvisor, were not of a very good standard, but having said that we struggled to find good restaurants in several of the places we visited on this trip, which included Obidos, Luso, Tomar and Evora. Our best meals were at our last stop in a village near a beach on the Alentejo coast where the restaurants seemed to be less touristy and served better food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomar
2.7 mi away
Estalagem Santa Iria
0.2 mi away
Residencial Uniao
Residencial Uniao
#4 of 9 in Tomar
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residencial Trovador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Casa da Avo Genoveva
Casa da Avo Genoveva
#2 of 9 in Tomar
27 reviews
14.1 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dos Templarios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dos Templarios

Property: Hotel dos Templarios
Address: Largo Candido dos Reis 1, Tomar 2304-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel dos Templarios 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location in the middle of the city of Tomar, close to the historical centre surrounded by majestic gardens and leaned over Nabão River is the Hotel dos Templários. Strategically located in the centre of the Country, with easy access to A1 and A23, 130 Km from Lisbon, 190 Km from Oporto, 80 Km from Coimbra and 31 Km from Fátima. In the Hotel dos Templários you may enjoy life the way it should be lived. With rooms and suites decorated with refinement, and 14 rooms for meetings or businesses. You may also taste a selection of gastronomic dishes accompanied by a selection of local wines with an excellent service rendered in an attentive and discreet way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel dos Templarios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Templarios Hotel
Dos Templarios Tomar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing