We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old tavern”
Review of Casas Das Ratas

Casas Das Ratas
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Tomar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vila Nova de Famalicao, Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An old tavern”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was one of our favourite places in Tomar. We can drink local wine poured directly from the barrels into our glasses! They also cook simple but delicious homemade skacks. The environment is very tipical: it´s an old tavern!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    198
    58
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely atmosphere in a dark, narrow restaurant. Menu was simple but superb with a reasonable choice of food (although you do need to like cabbage :0), Desserts were excellent and superb value). Service was second-to-none and our waitress was pleasant and accommodating; her English was also far better than our Portuguese!. In fact our waitress was busy running across the street to Casa Matreno to serve there as well and apologised for this but it did not diminish the service offered. Wine was very good and very reasonable and our lunch in total was under 50 Euros for 4 of us. The food is the same in both restaurants but the Casa das Ratas has the edge with its unique atmosphere and quirkiness - if you can put up with the uncomfortable seats!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doubleorquits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Casa Matreno and Casa das Ratas”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We actually visited Casa Matreno which is just across thee street from Casa das Ratas. They share the same menu and plates are taken back and forth, so we guessed they had the same owner. The food was excellent, plentiful and very reasonable. The service was incredible and all the staff were very friendly. It was so good that we went there the next night too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VALUE”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Casa das Ratas is a fascinating, small, dark restaurant with historic décor - dusty racks of wine bottles line the walls of the narrow room, with only about 28 covers. This place really has "atmosphere". The food is simple but extremely good, and outstandingly good value. The staff speak some English (although you'll do a bit better if you can manage some Portuguese). Given its size I recommend that you arrive fairly early, or reserve. If you can't get in, go to the Matreno, opposite - they share a kitchen so the food and prices are identical, but the Matreno is more modern, light and airy, with tiled walls. Appetizers, main course, 1/2 litre of house red wine and coffees totalled under €20 (for 2 people). Remarkable - and all extremely tasty, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cascaispickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After reading such good reviews here at TA, we went there to check it out. the atmosphere was traditional and was decoreted with sense of humour. the food was great, we tried the "maranhos" with sauteed vegetables and cow's "entremeada" also wth sauteed vegetables and french fries and the dessert was fenomenal. the whole meal ( two persons) was under 30eur. the staff were very kind and polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddyKrueger_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casas Das Ratas also viewed

Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 

Been to Casas Das Ratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing