We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go there it's great”

Alminhas Restaurant
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Alminhas Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 93 Restaurants in Tomar
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just go there it's great”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate at Alminhas twice in June would recommend to anyone great staff and chef this place is a joy five star plus you just need to ask and it is done wonderful

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigelno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    54
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not always good”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have eaten here 3 times over 3 months but it will be a while before we bother going again, if ever. The first time my wild boar was tough. OK I know it is a game animal but I have cooked this and it doesn't have to be tough. The 2nd time the pork slices were very tender and no complaints.
The 3rd time I tried the w. boar (javeli) again but it was still very tough and my chips were limp. My husband's turkey (peru) was sliced and bland with no taste. Most unusual for here. I even asked if it was the same chef on (the owner) and was told yes. We were not happy with the meal, especially as it is more expensive than a lot of other restaurants in Tomar.
The sweets are also very expensive (3.50€ when most places are 1.50 - 2.50), though they are different. My husband's was such a small portion it was an insult.
Several friends rave about this place, but perhaps they choose different things from the menu. I have to say the waitress is always pleasant and helpful in explaining dishes, but for us, there are better places to visit in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BWPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in central Portugal for a reasonable price”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After many disappointments we finally found a very good restaurant in central Portugal.
It's in Tomar and it's called "Alminhas".
I am a bit spoiled and that's why I get so bored easily in restaurants where other people seem to enjoy the setting and the food.
But Alminhas is different.
Their food is superb, the service is excellent, everybody speaks English and the price was really friendly for the quality we got.
I need to go back to try more of their different specialties.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabellebigandstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“outstanding octopus and service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

skipped the hotel dining room, cruised into town - and not disappointed! prompt service (seemed to be all women waitresses), excellent olives seasoned in oli and thyme! house wine by the glass, mains of octopus and beef followed by desert of lemon ice cream and light as air creme brule...for only 35Eu. Perfect ending to an enjoyable day touring Tomar!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant is very pleasantly set, although when full, it is quite noisy. The food was very good. The service was good. Pleasant stuff working there. The price was very reasonable especially for such good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gleshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alminhas Restaurant also viewed

Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 
Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 
Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 

Been to Alminhas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing