We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owner/waiter, food was ok”

Restaurante Piri Piri
Ranked #15 of 93 Restaurants in Tomar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice owner/waiter, food was ok”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a nice place, really cheap, very typical portuguese style. We liked it; the food was good but not excellent, the waiter (who I think was also the owner) was very kind and overall we just had a great dinner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnoukAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    70
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice meal, excelent service”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We dinned there once, and we all had good meals. The waiter (owner?) was very nice to us and the kids.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed in Tomar for a couple nights while 5 weeks traveling around Portugal. Ate at Tripadvisor's number one last night and it was very good, although a little heavy. Tonight we chose Piri Piri and are very glad we did. Both had the chicken piri piri and it was delicious! Kind of wish we had found this place last night. Good size portions. Great prices. Had three beers, two piri, piri chickens, bottle of water and green salad for two. 23 Euros! Can't beat it. Owner very nice. Kept checking on us to make sure all was well. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.
,

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oddessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best and bigest surprise, simply DELICIUOS!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The best food ever! Tradicional with a small touch of inovation. Delicious food, cosy corner restaraunt in down town históric center of Tomar. The food was so Deliciuos, that we whent for lunch, and had to go back for dinner. The house desert is a magic hapenning, a great surprise,...adictive really.
To the owner, Sr. Victor (remember us, the family that showed up twice in 1 day?!?), all the best from our family in Pedreira,and South Africa.
LOVED YOU FOOD, and staff is so kinde.
Thank you,
Rita

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaRita75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ask for the sauce”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The chicken piri-piri not only has the spice rub, but there is also a house piri-piri sauce. This is extremely good not only on the chicken, but on the grilled pork (and I imagine just about everything else on the menu). A friendly, pleasant little restaurant, with a good wine list. But the sauce, that's special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firenze02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Piri Piri also viewed

Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 
Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 
Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 

Been to Restaurante Piri Piri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing