We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great little island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilha da Culatra

Ilha da Culatra
Olhao, Portugal
351912345678
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$28*
and up
Ria Formosa Catamaran Trip from Faro
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great little island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Caught the ferry from Olhau. Decided to walk along the south beach from Culatra to Faros. Coming back, thought we'd go along the north shore.......ending up a bit trapped and had to paddle through a few salt marshes....

Quaint little island with lovely beaches and charming villages.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank patnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    122
    26
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“I often wonder why we locals do not visit it more often...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I often wonder why we locals do not visit it more often...the only good excuse I find is that we are definitely spoiled when it comes to beaches.
The island of Culatra (actually Culatra is the name of one of the only 2 settlements on the island, also called Farol [lighthouse], the name of the other settlement at the westernmost end of the island) is a truly unique place.
During the year there are not so many scheduled boat trips to the island but in season you have maybe up to a half dozen per day. Typically the boats will do a triangular route touching at the island's 2 settlements and then returning to Olhão (mainland). Chances are you'll do at least one of these legs with a stop on the way to or back from the island.
I enjoy getting off at the first stop (whichever) and taking my time walking to the other one - meaning finding a nice spot at the beach (usually one where you don't see a leaving soul a mile out) taking a nap, swimming and moving on to the next spot until eventually reaching the other settlement.
You can enjoy/swim the lagoon (north) side but the ocean (south) is definitely the best.
Forget the settlements which are uncharacteristic although some people may find there a pleasant third worldish character kind of, and go for the truly unspoilt beauty of the rest of the island.
Bring whatever you need and enjoy. I always do.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JOSE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Try the funky little beach bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Near the lighthouse, very cool, great people. Careful, you'll want to stay there all day long. There's also a lovely family run little fish restaurant, with great home cooked food and a lovely helpful waitress.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookman55
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Go to Pingo Doce, buy yourself a big picnic and go to Farol. Sit on the beach and sleep or birdwatch. Walk to Culatra, have a beer or a coffee and get the boat home.
Or just have lunch in Culatra. Wonderful relaxing day out, away from the noise of the traffic (and in the off season away from everybody else as well!)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We recommend catching the ferry to Farol and then strolling through Farol towards the lighthouse, and then stroll back along the Big Beach to Culatra

If you enjoy birdwatching and get the tides right you can then stop for a while in the small estuaries/lagoons to watch Storks, Egrets and waders.

or perhaps stay on the beach go for a paddle/swim in the Atlantic

On returning to Culatra have a late lunch at one of the many cafes, before catching the ferry back to Olhao.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank retsehcniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilha da Culatra also viewed

 
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Ilha da Culatra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing