We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and town & excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for a week in April - the reception staff were very friendly , helpful and informative & our1st impression was very good.

Initially, we were given a room on the top floor which faced west & had the afternoon sun - perfect for sun worshippers but we immediately realised that it would be too hot for us so we asked if we could move to a room facing east (on the floor below) which the staff were more than happy to arrange and we'd like to thank them for that.

The sea facing room was beautiful and a pleasure to come back to every day - it was well appointed with a huge bed and had free wi fi and a fabulous private & spacious balcony with glass front so that we were able to enjoy the views of Ria Formosa National Park which is magical.

The town of Olhao is busy enough with plenty of bars, cafes & restaurants ranging from locally caught fresh seafood (simple & delicious), Italian and even Indian cuisine.The 'old town' was absolutely charming and the main area of the town (behind this) had everything required.

We liked Olhao because it is unspoilt - the residents were very friendly & it is an authentic Portuguese working town and as such has activity all year round. It is not a laid out tourist 'resort' so if travellers are looking for that (clubs etc) then this is not the place. There was a good article in 'The Guardian' about Olhao which more or less said it all!

There's a lovely shaded promenade adjacent to a marina which leads to the indoor fish and vegetable market which is the hub of all activity. Beyond that is the fisherman's harbour. apparently Olhao's port is the most important on the Algarve.

A short train journey (10 minutes) takes you to Faro which is beautiful - the 'old town' is spectacular (with old Roman walls) and is well worth a visit. And there are many more shops to browse.

The only suggestion we would make to the hotel management would be to install some stylish lounge furniture to 'fill' the space in the lobby/reception & bar area in order to encourage guests to relax & perhaps have a drink. At the moment this hotel does not have a 'lounge' area (except the sunbeds) and the existing furniture near the bar/reception area is very 'upright' and unappealing,This is just an observation intended to enhance the hotel's facilities & didn't affect our enjoyment in any way.

We will definitely return to this hotel and will perhaps explore more of the Eastern Algarve (Tavira & Vila Real) next time.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Top floor balconies are exposed to the sun. Lower floor balconies have a ceiling. The west facing ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sophila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
There are newer reviews for Real Marina Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,269 - 1,275 of 2,616 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great hotel equivalent to a 4* in UK. Good location, a short distance from the airport though not if you want a holiday resort. Hotel rooms and public area are well appointed with good facilities. It is a quaint working town though would appear to be just getting over the recession. ideal base for exploring the Algarve or west Spain. Lots of reasonably priced excellent restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank 627CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just back after a week there in April. Really nice hotel, very clean, very comfortable. We had a city view room and realised very quickly we should have paid the extra e150 for a sea view but they were all booked.
Gym and indoor pool excellent. Buffett breakfast up there with the best too.
Only real flaw is the appalling wifi, so don't expect to be able to use the internet as it's dodgy at best.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Wonderful accommodations, pool area was really nice. Parking was free in a lower level garage, very secure. Nice views of the bay area, often gets cloudy in the morning so the view comes out around 1100 and is nice until the evening. Walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a car if your stay is for an extended period of time to visit nearby cities. Olhao is nice but c...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned after a four night stay, I would highly recommend this hotel. We had a suite on the fourth floor (room 425) which face south and west so you have sun most of the time. This room is massive, large bedroom with sitting area and a separate lounge area, two bathrooms and a very large balcony facing south and west. Something I have never come across before the mini bar was not stocked, you have to fill in a card and hang it on the door, this worked nicely we just went to the shop and filled it ourselves, All the staff were very helpful and keen to oblige, the breakfast was also very good and again the staff are so efficient.
One thing to mention is I would not want to stay too close to the lifts as they make a noise every time they arrive.
I would have no hesitation to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for three days in April and the weather was great. We had a third floor room with views over the lagoon, which I would highly recommend as the balcony was spacious and sunny. The breakfast had all you could wish for. We ate in local Portuguese restaurants so cannot speak about the hotel restaurant other than for breakfast.
staff were friendly and very informative on arrival giving a good idea of what is available. The trip to the island arranged at the desk in reception was well worth going on. Rooms are very comfortable and a good size. Unfortunately wifi was a bit sketchy in the room so you had to go to the passage to get a good reception. We loved the fact that Olhao is not too touristy and a genuine Portuguese experience. We would definitely go again and would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing is a must.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a very quiet hotel off the usual tourist route in the Algarve. We had a junior suite which was huge and overlooked the lagoon. Very clean and well presented hotel but a bit 'cold' feeling especially in the dining room and bar. Food was perfectly ok but not outstanding, plenty of local restaurants just a short stroll down the road from fish, pasta, Indian etc. Didn't use spa or pool as were out and about but looked ok.

Staff very good and can recommend the island tour.

Room Tip: Our room was on third floor at the front of hotel and very nice, however be aware there is a busy ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,606 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
4.9 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: $62 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing