We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
255 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent a week here from the 8th January, hotel was of an excellent standard. Our room was very large and comfortable with a fridge and air con. Good quality furnishings. Dressing gown and large fully towels. The breakfast was very nice, cava, good orange juice and coffee, the food was very samey though, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, tomatoes and also the same cooked meats every day. Bread was excellent as were the small portuguese tarts. There was a large conference for a few days when we were there, so we expected lots of noise, especially late at night, but it was extremely quiet. We thought the staff would be overwhelmed with this amount of people (200), but seemed to do a good job. We did notice a bit of a smell coming from the water, which I assume would be much stronger in the summer, and might be a bit off putting. We both had a full body massage which were half price and were very good, we were offered fruit teas and water at the end. Didn't try the pool as you needed a cap, we used the gym most days and this was more than adequate. We asked at reception for a kettle, and as a previous person has mentioned, they would charge for use of the cups which is a bit much. Had a cocktail in the bar which was very nice. Hotel is pretty handy for the ferry, we went to Farol, not a thing open, so walked to Cultera, about a hour and a halfs walk, few cafes open, probably better in the summer. Not too far to the train station, only about 15 minutes, trains were cheap, we went to Faro for a few hours and also to Tavira which was pleasant. We took the small train to see the area which was only about 2 euros 75 each. Market day is Saturday, so it was nice to see lots of people going about their business.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that most services corresponded or even exceeded your expectations, especially the Pastéis de Nata. Please note that apart from the breakfast items listed in your description, guests can also order eggs to their liking.

Regarding the smell of the water mentioned, we presume that you were referring to the tidal flat or wetland, located in the Natural Park in front of the Hotel, the Ria Formosa. It might exhale an odour, but it is not influenced by the seasons, and only happens if various factors like tide and wind direction, amongst others, come together, which doesn’t happen often.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    699
    174
    28
    13
See reviews for
418
1,379
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel excels at customer service, nothing is too much to ask and they are quick to help, always courteous and smiling. The suite we had was on a corner of the hotel with an L shaped balcony 100 foot all round with sun loungers and views to sea and land, we ordered room service for breakfast every morning. 2 superb bathrooms very large and luxurious, a lovely sitting /dining room, plenty of space for clothes and moving around. The decor was excellent with furniture to match - very smart white leather. The pool is above street level and you can see the sea from it! Spa treatments not indulged - indoor pool is very adequate. Sauna and Steam room a little worn. Gym adequate. We visit Portugal often and this is one of the best hotels we have visited. The area is quiet and a trip to the nature reserve well worth the effort, we hired bikes to make the journey. It is easy to walk. Special treat was to see Pink Flamingo fishing. Boats leave the area regularly and should be indulged, the beaches reached are a real treat. Local food specials are fish and again each meal we had was a treat and gorgeous. There is an excellent ice cream and coffee shop right on the sea front, lovely place to sit and eat/drink in the sun at lunch time. This is a not your usual seaside resort in the Algarve, its relatively quiet and restful. We will go again to drink Hendricks and look to the sea, or watch the shellfish collectors at low tide, bliss. OH- and the bed was so so so comfy.

Room Tip: Sea views - Suite if you can get a deal. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nette01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Reading that you consider us to be one of Portugal’s best hotels was the icing on top of the cake.

Thank you so much for your kind review and comments, which we will share with our team and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, hopefully soon, for another perfect stay.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

lovely hotel, attentive staff, and a generally relaxing and enjoyable place to be.

Fantastic room - we had a standard sea view room but it felt much more luxurious than a standard room, huge marble bathroom, very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean and lots of room.

We had an evening meal in the main restaurant which was of a higher standard than we'd expected, the dessert was especially good (spiced chargrilled pineapple), nicely spaced tables and candles to create a nice atmosphere. We also had two lunches at the less formal bar on the first floor again it was of good quality and enjoyable.

The area itself is interesting, if you're expecting a pristine picturesque village then this will not be for you, that's not to say the village is not without charm, the marina is both pretty and fascinating, and it's great to watch the boats go by from the hotel pool or your balcony.

All in all this hotel fully deserves it's five star status.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments, especially the ones about our team and our food. We are sure that our Executive Chef will be delighted to hear how impressed you were with the menu and food and we would like to thank you, also on behalf of him, for your consideration.

We are happy that you were equally pleased with the standard of the rooms, the cleanliness and atmosphere and thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Full praise to the front desk (Messrs Santos and Pereira and your colleagues, take a bow) for adjusting our booking from a single large bed to two singles. (My Mum and I are close but not that close). Very well finished, we loved the glazed lifts facing the ocean as well as the exceptionally fine decor in the corridors and reception areas.
Though rear-facing, we profited from very comfortable beds, a reasonable balcony and a marble bathroom.
Spa was well-staffed with friendly people and the swimming pool as much as we could ask for. It being January, we did not try the outside pool.
Breakfast was exceptional comprising all the usual angles of a continental breakfast and the necessary concessions to anglo-saxon appetites (sausages and bacon). I especially enjoyed the crunchy freshly baked bread.

Two things about the rooms and the spa. The rooms did not include coffee/tea making equipment. Using the Sauna at the spa was an extra 10Euros which I thought was an irrelevance being too much to justify a 30 minute steep but surely too little to be much commercial value to the balance sheet. But, I do not decide the pricing model in these places.
Would definitely swing by this place again.

Room Tip: Well of course try and get one to the front. But, Beware of low-tide . There are some things that ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank POBRIEN30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really enjoyed reading your review and especially that our Front Desk was able to help you in such a quick and competent way, making sure that your experience at our Hotel was perfect from the very start. We are very happy that you enjoyed every single bit of it, actually so much that you would return, which is the ultimate compliment!

Thank you so much for your comments, suggestions and alerts, which will be taken into consideration and we really look forward to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four day break in Olhao staying at this hotel. The hotel overlooks the marina and if you are able to get a room on the front of the hotel, as we did the views are great. A 5 minutes walk along the seafront will bring you to the many bars and restaurants and also the indoor fish/vegetable market. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with a warm smile from Katherina on reception and she checked us in with the minimum of fuss. Our room was spacious and had an extremely large, comfortable double bed. The bathroom too was spacious and well presented. The only small criticism of the room is that it does not have tea or coffee making facilities as standard. It can be provided at a one off cost of €6. A little surprising for 5* hotel but not a major issue. The buffet breakfast each morning was outstanding. Fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages, cold meats and cheeses and pastries were all available and well stocked. Coffee was served at the table by the friendly and attentive restaurant staff. This set us up well for the day. The spa is very nice with an indoor pool, jacuzzi and gym. Be sure to take a swimming cap with you as this is mandatory if you use the pool or jacuzzi. Each day the spa has a special offer on one or two of their spa treatments. Our check out was problem free and carried out by a delightfully friendly chap called Nuno. All in all I thoroughly recommend a stay here. We will return for another stay soon I am sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank streakymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind, detailed review.

We are really happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the facilities and services provided.

Thank you also for your suggestion to provide tea and coffee facilities as a standard, which we will have in consideration. In the meantime, and as you mentioned, guests can request a kettle at our front desk. Please note that the kettle is free of charge, only if additional items are ordered, a Room Service tax is applied.

It was really gratifying to read that you too are considering returning and we look forward to welcome you back soon for what will hopefully be another wonderful experience at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just got back from a 4 day break to the Real Marina Hotel and Spa and it was lovely...room was of excellent quality and the finish throughout the hotel was done to a very high standard. It was my boyfriends birthday whilst we were there and the hotel staff delivered a chocolate mousse cake(with candle) with champagne to our room free of charge which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice all round.The resort itself is quite quiet so if you don't want this then I would suggest a different resort. However, the restaurants we visited were lovely and extremely good value for money. Pizza na Pedra was absolutely delicious and excellent value for money with lovely staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review, how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were with the service and the Hotel. We are also happy that you liked our small birthday surprise and hope that it made your boyfriend’s day even more special.

Thank you very much for having shared your feedback with us and on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there between Christmas and the New Year. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Rooms and en-suite comfy, spacious and clean. The gym is small but adequate. Buffet style breakfast was very good, The hotel offers a boat trip to the nearby islands which is fun and well worth the money! Captain Tiago and his colleague were friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is close to restaurants, a Saturday market and reasonably priced boat trips to the beach and islands. For other activities it is necessary to take a train/bus to nearby towns and villages. I particularly recommend Tavira. Only downsides were the intermittent wifi, the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, and the wardrobe doors which were fiddly to open and close. A comfy lounge area would also have been a plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that you have spent a relaxing and enjoyable time with us and that most services, facilities and the location of the Hotel corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.

Thank you also for your constructive feedback and suggestions. We are very pleased to inform you that kettles are available upon request. Just contact our Front Desk upon your next visit, as they will be very pleased to assist you. Also your other comments will be taken into consideration and we assure you that we will try to improve wherever we can.


We look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Diretor
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,521 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing