We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Pensao Bicuar Residential(Olhao)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$125
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stork Hostel(Olhao)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$68
Hotwire.com
View Deal
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,141)
Filter reviews
3,141 results
Traveler rating
1,886
953
238
40
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,886
953
238
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsria formosavillage viewlovely hotelfishing townstar hotela sea view roomfish marketindoor poolbottle of champagnehalf boardbed and breakfastshort breakreception staffrelaxing breakcooked breakfastfaro airportbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,662 - 1,667 of 3,141 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here in September with my boyfriend and it is a very lovely hotel. Never stayed in a 5 star hotel before ( aged 22) and it lived up to its expectations. The rooms were divine, the beds as they say are truly comfortable, a nice spacious bathroom, complimentary robes too!
We had the full breakfast package which was a complete buffet, with various fruits, cereals, pastries and drinks. You were certainly full after!.
The location is lovely and tranquil, although there is not much going on in the area, you can travel and see different things( information available at reception).
We had an afternoon flight and therefore checked- in around 9 pm, we got the bus from the airport and it was a bit difficult finding the hotel after getting the bus and at night. But simply ask along the promenade and everyone knows the hotel (its quiet big!)
You can get a boat to the 2 islands near by which we enjoyed relaxing on the beach. Do be aware that these islands are homes/ holiday homes of the Portuguese residents and they travel to and from the mainland to the islands, there were no toilets available to the public : /,there were drink huts/bars but we did not see any toilets when we were there.
You can also travel into town, Faro and then onto Albufiera via bus which only takes about 1hr and 40mins for a decent amount of euros.
The only negatives for the Hotel was we had to wait awhile for the cleaners to clean the room, this was only a problem as they would knock early ( whilst we were still asleep) and after breakfast they would not have come back to clean it yet, we had left the 'please clean the room' sign and we went and sat by the marina for a while, to find that when we returned they had still not been. So we stayed in and had lunch when they knocked on the door in the afternoon to clean it. I understand that it is a big hotel but to have your day interrupted and to have the cleaners clean in the afternoon was a tad annoying.
Another point, is that we were laying out by the pool when one of the bar staff came and asked us whether we were guests at the hotel..... no one else was asked... Not sure whether it was because were we younger a young couple or not as if we could not afford to stay at the Hotel.. Hope this doesn't occur next time.
Other than that we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicolina_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind, detailed review.

We are very happy that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and that it lived up to your high expectations.

We regret, however, that you were not entirely satisfied with the time your room was cleaned. Depending on the number of arrivals and departures of the day, the time the room is cleaned may vary, but whenever we know that a guest has a preference for a specific time frame, we try our utmost to respect it. Upon your next visit, please contact our Front Desk who will be very pleased to register your preferred time.

We also would like to apologise if you felt uncomfortable by the approach of one of our team members. It was certainly not his intention and not judgmental. We suppose that maybe other than our pool towels were used or that they were not clearly visible, which is why he probably followed up.

We are pleased that you still consider returning, which ultimately is the best possible feedback, and look forward to welcoming you again for another enjoyable stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed over christmas as Real Marina Hotel & Spa, chosen mainly because of tripadvisor reviews, and we were very pleasantly surprised that the hotel lived up to the reviews.

Journey by car from Faro airport took around 20 minutes.
Booking in at reception was quick and easy. Reception staff were always helpful with any information we required. Plenty of car parking available (and also free underground parking if you require it)

We booked a suite with sea-view, and it was worth every single penny, the suite was fabulous.Two sides of the bedroom had floor to ceiling windows and gave a fantastic view over the harbour. Great sunrises and sunsets ! The suite was so nice that we lived on room service for most of the week ! The food (with the exception of a rather drab pizza) was excellent.

Breakfast was also very good. Very nice coffee, and the scrambled eggs were particularly good :-)

The wi-fi is free, and the service was excellent. I think in the whole week it dropped out once for a few seconds. There WAS a power cut one evening, but that happened at about midnight! And lasted about 30 seconds! So wasnt' an issue!

There is an indoor pool ( small) and a well equiped gym. There is also a larger infinity pool outside for when the weather is warm.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby, and several little cafes near the market which serve coffees and beers for a very reasonable price (Euro a bottle of beer anyone!). It was easy to get lost in the back streets, but everywhere felt safe so no problems. A trip to Tavira is worth doing, it's only a short drive away.

Boat trips to the Ria Formosa can be booked in the reception area for 20 euros, and was worth the trip out.

So I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. We will be staying in a sister hotel in Albufeira in a months time and feel much more confident that the accomodation there will be good having stayed here.

We will definitely give this hotel another visit if we stay in Olhao again.

Room Tip: Get a suite with sea view- well worth the extra
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for having chosen to stay once again in one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

We are sure that you will find in our sister Hotel the same hospitality and friendliness that you found at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and we hope that you will enjoy your stay there as much as you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and consideration and we look forward to welcoming you to the Hotéis Real Algarve soon and hopefully also to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Big and not so personal, but excellent and service minded staff. Very nice stay. Located spot in the center and next to the harbour. Olhao is a good starting point to explore this part of the Algarve.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank egilwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and especially the quality and friendliness of our team. We will make sure that your kind comments will be passed on to our staff and thank you on behalf of them.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Prós: New hotel, Gym. Breakfast. Bed comfort
Against: incredible a 5 star hotel with so terrible internet. Wrong informations given by reception staff. Surroundings and the city has nothing to do. Electricity come in and out every nights.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to list the points that you enjoyed the most, but also the ones that in your opinion require improvement.

We regret that Olhão did not correspond to your expectations. Olhão is a charming, typical fishing town and not the usual touristic destination. It is great for anyone who wants to explore the real Algarve, but we understand that some guests might prefer to be close to the commodities and entertainment a touristic town, like Albufeira, offers. We believe that it might suit your expectations better and maybe you would like to consider it, as well as one of our sister hotels in Albufeira, for your next holidays in the Algarve.

We also noted your other comments and suggestions and assure you that we will try to improve wherever we can. Power cuts however are outside of our reach, as this service is provided by the electric company. Still, we are not aware of consecutive power cuts in this area.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA soon.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Well, I chose this hotel because of the reviews that it had on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.

As a surprise for my partner I chose to take her to Portugal and chose to stay at the Real Marina Hotel & Spa. It was special Because I wanted to propose to her.

The reception hotel staff were fantastic, their sound knowledge of the area, as well as their attention to detail can not be faulted. As I previously stated I wanted to propose to my partner and they kept this very discreet.

The room was brilliant, I chose to upgrade to the 'suite' and was not disappointed. A massive bedroom, beautiful sea view from the balcony along with a marble effect bathroom. To add to the beautiful room we were given robes and slippers (it's the little things) that gave this hotel a special edge!

We chose to eat in the hotel on our second night and the service is second to none. Again their attention to you was of the highest quality and, as my partner and I are not used to 'proper waiter service', were in our element when they served us to brilliantly.

Finally, I must add that the champaign and strawberry's were such a night touch. Myself and my (now) Fiancé had a knock at the door and complimentary champers marked a momentous occasion for the pair of us.

If you are looking for an affordable, well presented hotel with staff that go over and beyond your expectations, along with food that is first glass then look no further then Real Marina. We will be returning (as this hold a very special place for me and my partner now) and everybody to book this place. Just perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dave1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We enjoy reading all reviews, but yours was indeed special and very gratifying!

Thank you so much for it. It was really rewarding to read that all your expectations were fulfilled and even surpassed and how pleased you were with the assistance our staff gave you for such a special occasion, as your proposal. We are happy that they helped to make it even more memorable for you and your fiancée.

Please accept on behalf of our whole team our congratulations on your engagement and we hope that you will spend many more memorable moments and celebrations with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you might require and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews