We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in the sun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bliss in the sun!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A first-class hotel in a perfect location in the lovely small town of Olhao. Firstly the staff throughout the hotel were all very friendly, polite, professional and helpful. We were there for 10 nights on a B&B basis and Jaime who was in charge of the restaurant for breakfast was a real star. His customer service was as impeccable as his smart dinner suit and we never had to wait more than 30 seconds to be seated. The choice for breakfast was perfectly acceptable with hot or cold food available as well as the most delicious local fruit and cakes.
Overlooking the marina area the hotel swimming pool area was sometimes busy but never left you with the feeling of being overcrowded. Every area in the hotel was spotless and the generous sized rooms had all the amenities you could require including a fridge (except tea and coffeee making facilities). The good sized balconies had views over the Ria Formosa.The free wi-fi was fine in the public areas but a little variable in the bedrooms depending on where you stood!

Olhao itself is a pleasant and, as yet unspoiled, small town with typical Portugese features and only 20 minutes from Faro airport. We were there when the annual seafood and music festival was on which added to the atmosphere. We dined in a different restaurant every night so there is plenty of choice within easy and flat walking distance(under 10 minutes) from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose on on the third or fourth (top) floor and, if you like the sun in the evening, ask for one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and especially the service provided by the entire team and Jaime in particular. Your comments will be passed on to our team and we would like to thank you on behalf of them for your consideration.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA for, what will hopefully be, another perfect stay with us and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    747
    189
    31
    15
See reviews for
480
1,451
63
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times and have found it a lovely hotel. It's clean and the rooms are great. Stayed on a B&B basis and can't complain at all about the breakfast - enough choice to keep us satisfied. The area of Olhao is lovely - plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance of the hotel. Also venture up the little winding streets to find lots of excellent cafes. Visiting the islands is a must - its very cheap to get across by ferry and the beaches are amazing. There are some lovely restaurants too. All in all a great hotel in a great position.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H_Had_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

A returning guest is the biggest compliment for any Hotel and it was therefore really gratifying to read that you have visited us several times now and that you once again had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us.
We acknowledged that you were especially satisfied with the cleanliness and the quality of the rooms and breakfast. We will make sure that our Executive Housekeeper and Executive Chef will be informed.

Thank you, also on behalf of them, for your consideration and for your kind review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another perfect experience at the Real Marina and Olhão.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed early August 2013 during a week's business trip.
Very clean, good sized room and bathroom and comfortable bed with a good sized balcony.

Pleasant staff in all areas and efficient. Breakfast perfectly good with choice, comprehensive if not extensive.

Olhao is a Portugese village, not an English tourist trap, and is therefore more traditional and better for it. Some nice bars on the waterfront and good restaurants. A quiet, relaxed place for a relaxed holiday. Don't expect to be constantly entertained, but pleasant it is. Service is usually attentive, but can be slower than home, but is often more friendly, especially if you are friendly too!

Room Tip: Try get a sea front facing room for the view. The rear facing rooms are perfectly good with great b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dbartle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, which was really appreciated.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing stay with us.

Thank you once again for your review and especially for your kind comments about the friendliness of our team.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

what a wonderful place, will go there again very soon I hope,thats if I get a good bargain,so peacefull, the food @drinks in the hotel are a bit expensive, but the town is very close by with some very nice food places,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank trishy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As we already mentioned, there is no bigger compliment than a guest who returns or is planning to return. We were therefore extremely happy that you enjoyed everything so much that you are returning soon! Thank you so much.

We have several special packages available and are therefore pretty sure that you will find a good deal, but if you require any assistance in choosing the most suitable for you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you for having left your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks Nest, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife, our 10 month old daughter and I stayed here in June 2013. We were all very excited and this was our honeymoon destination that had been booked for a long time. We were on a half board and only ate in the hotel. We realised straight away that the food was very poor level, but we enjoyed the convenience of eating at the hotel for the first couple of days. My wife and I both got food poisoning as a result. When we brought this to the attention of the staff they just distanced themselves from it and said it wasn't possible. The hotel general manager wasn't even there to speak to and he just gave us a very arrogant email stating that as there was no other complaints about the food that it couldn't be possible. We left three days early as we got no assistance from the hotel. It is nothing short of misleading advertising to say it is a 5 star hotel, the indoor pool is awful, once you get over being forced to wear a swimming hat, the issue remains of it being tiny and uninviting. Front desk staff were good, but management are very poor. There is no variety in the rooms either so an upgrade only equates to a different view. Not a five star, don't bother for honeymoons or anything which requires something a bit special. Olhao is also a bit of a grubby little town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephenjoegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that you were not satisfied with the way your complaint was handled. It was certainly not our intention to be arrogant or unhelpful, but we hope that you understand that we are not able to pay compensations based on a self-diagnosis. No doctor was seen or even called, as you claimed that you were too ill for it, and no other of the over 250 guests staying with us at the time reported illness or felt unwell.
We are not sure what you expected us to do under these circumstances, but the accusations you are making are very serious and shouldn’t really be made without any kind of foundation, especially not on a platform like this.

Our guests can rest assured that we comply with all health and safety standards demanded by the HACCP program, which we decided to implement by our own initiative when the Hotel opened and under which regular health and safety audits are being carried out. We are very proud to inform that we so far have passed all these audits and never had any incidents.

Kind regards

Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Real Marina Hotel and Spa in August 2013.

Being a short walk from the main strip of restaurants and a short drive from the airport, it's in a good location. Furthermore, the hotel isn't in the middle of an area of bustling activity. As we wanted a relaxing break, this was perfect for us.

The hotel is reasonably new and it shows in the overall condition. Similarly, rooms and communal areas were kept to a high standard of cleanliness. Staff were very friendly and very helpful at all times but without being overbearing.

Our room was a good size with a reasonably sized bathroom that had good lighting. As a minor point we also noticed the towels didn't moult which we've noticed in some hotels of a similar rating.

We had a Village View room and our balcony view overlooked the back of the hotel and land that that's seemingly earmarked for future development. This didn't bother us as we spent little time in our room and based on previous reviews, we expected a similar view. Although if you do want a nice view, be sure to book a Sea View room.

Breakfast was average and for a hotel of its rating, we expected better. Nonetheless, it was fine for vegetarians and offered a reasonable selection. We didn't have dinner at the restaurant but did have lunch there on a few occasions. We found it reasonably priced for what you'd expect in a similar hotel and a decent quality. There wasn't a huge selection for vegetarians but the staff were willing to accommodate nonetheless which was appreciated.

As an aside, for any vegetarians, you should be aware that as a town on the coast, restaurants in Olhao largely offer seafood and limited vegetarian options. Though for a short break, this didn't have an adverse impact on us. Furthermore, there are some restaurants that, albeit in a minority, will be able to cater for you.

The hotel does have complimentary wifi but it was weak inside our room and would often drop or be intermittent. This wasn't an issue for us but it might be if you needed to get online with a strong connection. Outside of our room and in the communal areas of the hotel, the signal strength was fine.

The hotel has a nice pool and was never overcrowded during our stay. In months when the weather is milder, or for those who just prefer to swim indoors, there is also an indoor pool but you are required to wear a swimming cap if you use it.

The hotel has a reasonably priced ferry to the three closest islands. The pier is across the road from the hotel and depending on which island you visit, the journey should be less than an hour.

One of the hotel's main features is its spa. The hotel offers 50% off a different treatment each day and these are advertised weekly. We both went for massages which were decent and at 50% off were good value. However, at full price not so much.

Overall, a very good hotel that we would recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ShahLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, which we really appreciated.

We are happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your suggestion to offer a larger variety of food for vegetarian guests, which will be passed on to our Executive Chef.

Thank you once again for your review and recommendation and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for a week at this hotel, and it is a very relaxing place to stay. We stayed in a room overlooking the Apartments which was fine, as it got the sun in the afternoon. the hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. The food was lovely and good value. You can get an evening meal with any amount of wine for €25 which is very good value. The breakfast is superb and the views from the dining room is very nice. The bedroom is a good size not overly big but more than adequate for a couple. The only complaint is the door stopper in ensuite is just in front of the toilet which means that you can easily whack your toe off it especially in the middle of the night. I ended up having to put a towel over it while we were in the hotel. I am not sure if all rooms have the same problem, very bad design and very sore when you do stub your toe on it.
It is a nice walk into town approx. 10 minutes to the first restaurant. The town is small but has some interesting buildings in it. There is no beach but it is easy to get a boat to any of the islands which are worth seeing. There is a great train service from the town and the trains seem to run on time, tickets are very cheap so it is a great way to see some more of Portugal.

Room Tip: Stay at least one night in the hotel to have dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deckie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed staying with us.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback and for your kind comments about our services and facilities. Thank you as well for your suggestion to move the door stopper.
We regret if you hurt your toe. Our Maintenance Department has already been informed and is checking if anything can be done.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for an hopefully as or even more enjoyable stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,069 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,567 reviews
15.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing