We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good .4star but that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Good .4star but that's it”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. Olhao is amazing - great islands to visit and less touristy than most Algarve resorts. Hotel is quite impressive. Huge reception area and great rooms. We did feel it was overpriced however. When we were there, the breakfast area was served in their lobby rooms due to renovations. The breakfast was not good and certainly miles off 5-star standards. Also, they never told us at check in, that the breakfast area was moved. The hotel had some excellent half price spa offers. The pool area was lovely but the pool is small for the size of the hotel. The bar was disappointing too as it felt like an airport bar - no atmosphere. The hotel is fine - clean and modern, but i'd only go back if they reduced their prices given the breakfasts and amenities on offer. If the hotel improved the breakfasts and offered some live entertainment options in their bar, it would be much better,

Room Tip: Room high up to the side for views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that you were not satisfied with the value for money received, especially since, apart from the quality and friendliness of our staff and service, this is the point that guests praise the most.
The feedback regarding the breakfast is usually also very positive, but we will make sure that our Executive Chef will be informed.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA for a, hopefully, even more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    698
    174
    27
    13
See reviews for
416
1,379
62
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Real Marina operates a five star hotel as well as an apartment complex separately. As we haven’t pre-booked a room at the hotel, the staff was very kind to show us both options – a hotel room and a two-bedroom apartment. While the prices per night were similar, the hotel room does include all amenities such as breakfast, gym and indoor pool access at the hotel. Regardless, we opted for the apartment as it is much more suitable for a family. The apartment was very modern (including electric shutters) and very big (e.g. 3 bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen). It had a very nice and big terrace from which you could see the sea (side view for all apartments). The apartment also included a pool on the roof. We also spoiled ourselves one morning and paid for breakfast (EUR 12.50/person, young children eat for free), which was very nice and plentiful.

One negative item is the lack of access to wireless Internet. While anyone can access it wireless in the lobby, in the hotel rooms and apartments it is via Ethernet cable only. Considering that most nowadays travel with some sort of tablet, this is no longer an acceptable option for a five star hotel.

Room Tip: If you travel with a family and don't care so much of having breakfast included and indoor pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are really happy that you have spent an enjoyable time at the Real Marina Residence and that you also had the opportunity to experience some of the services of the Hotel.

In order to avoid misunderstanding, we would just like to highlight that although the reception service is the same, the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and the Real Marina Residence are two separate properties, being only the Hotel a 5 star property. The Residence is no Hotel and has therefore no official star rating.
We would also like to add that the Hotel rooms have free wifi access. Only the apartments have access via a cable.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay at the Real Marina.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 10 days in this hotel. It was our first experience of a 5 star hotel and, on the whole, it did not disappoint! The staff on reception are fantastic - friendly, efficient and welcoming. Our room was lovely though we would have preferred a higher floor. We had floor 2 which was really floor 1 in terms of layout. We paid extra for a sea view and were glad as behind the hotel is a fairly derelict! We had a lovely balcony, very good air conditioning and the luxury of a fridge.
Beds were very comfy. The room was cleaned every day, though in the last few days of our stay not until very late in the afternoon.
The pool is very small for this size and grade of hotel at about 12 metres. This was fine during our first few days but inadequate once lots of children arrived! There is no lifeguard to supervise their antics and no one to enforce the sign warning against reserving sun beds! The indoor pool is even smaller and bathing hats must be worn.
The pool bar / cafe had lots of choice and though much more expensive than town, not as expensive as hotels of this standard in England. For some reason it closed at 7.30pm! The hotel would entice far more guests to eat in if they used this rather than the dark, empty restaurant and bar on the ground floor! We didn't try the restaurant as it always seemed deserted and it was pretty expensive.
Breakfast provided ample choice for even fussy eaters. There was even sparkling wine! All was buffet style except coffee. The coffee was never hot enough but we topped it up with hot water! We experienced breakfast in 2 different locations due to repair work going on. The frost venue offered more space whilst the second provided nicer, if rather crowded surroundings.
It was my birthday during our trip and we were surprised by the delivery of sparkling wine and cake to our room. They even sent a candle and matches. It was a lovely, unsolicited touch which was much appreciated.
Olhao itself is much quieter than other areas of the Algarve but there are lots of Portuguese tourists, nice local bars and restaurants. I had misread the hotel information so though it is indeed sea front, there is no beach! Ferries run every 2 hours to the local islands. The ferry opposite the hotel is 6.50 return per adult whereas the one in town (about 10 minute walk) in half that. You can also take a train one stop to Fuzeta (2.80 return) and get a ferry every few minutes to a fabulous beach.
We also took the train to Faro and Tavira.
Would we return? Maybe for a short break. Our 11 year old wasn't with us this time but the small pool and lack of beach would make it less than ideal for her.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would consider returning, which is the ultimate compliment for any hotel.

Thank you also for sharing tips about things to do and visit while in Olhão and for your suggestion to keep the Ria Lounge open during the evening. A suggestion which will be passed on to our F&B Management and which will be taken into consideration.

We really hope that we will be able to welcome you back with your daughter. Although Olhão has no beachfront, it has the beautiful islands you mentioned that can be reached by boat, which is especially exciting for children who usually love the whole experience of taking a boat to get to the beach.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came here after a week staying with family in a Villa in Vilamoura, which I have to say was a bit too touristy for us. Nevertheless, we arrived (via the port end of town) and I was beginning to think we had made a mistake until we found the hotel. We were travelling with a 6 and a 3 year old. Thought it would be easier to write Good and not so good points:

GOOD
Excellent room (we had a junior suite)
Cleaning service excellent - thoroughly cleaned every day
Plenty of power points
Lovely bathroom and plenty of towels
Comfy bed and lovely bedding
Free parking
Free WIFI
TV in both rooms of our suite (but with limited English channels)
Safe in room
Food is mainly buffet - we thought it was excellent with an excellent choice every day (but don't expect Michelin star quality), We stayed half board and loved the food!
Staff - really friendly - (a special mention to Constantyn and Marisa who were just lovely)
Good drinks package at night with dinner - instead of paying for drinks individually

NOT SO GOOD
Aircon is noisy in the room if its on all night - but on the plus side there is aircon
You have to pay if you want to use the indoor pool (and the sauna apparently)
The pool area is quite small
The kids pool is just a paddling pool
There are no beaches you can just walk down to - you have to get a boat or drive to the nearest
The downstairs restaurant was having maintenance so we ate our dinner upstairs outside which was just lovely - we were a bit disappointed when we had to go back downstairs to eat
Not a great place for kids - we weren't expecting to have kids clubs etc (as I don't think our kids would do that anyway), but it could do with a kids play area - although there are two play areas within a 10/15 min walk down the front
We had a room with a kind of wasteland / car park view - it wasn't great although we could see a teeny bit of the sea
This room only got sun in the morning on the balcony
Water is expensive in the room - 2.50 euros per small bottle
Only vanity mirror outside of the bathroom is a full mirror by the front door.

Overall we had a nice time. We are not a family that expects everything to be focussed on around having children as we appreciate that there are people that don't have children and don't want a hotel full of kids and kids play areas - I thought I would just mention it for other people who may expect this as we thought the hotel is more suited to couples than families for this reason.

We went out on a boat trip booked with the lady downstairs too - although this was nice, it would have been nice to have a bit more sightseeing and a little less history from the captain. It was very interesting, but you feel obliged to look at him speak, rather than look around you at the beauty. The stop at the fishing village is a bit odd too - mind your feet if you have to walk over the fishing nets when you get off the boat!

If you have a car, a drive to Barrill beach is great - you can walk over a wobbly bridge over the water and then catch a train to the beach. We spent two great days here, although hire of two sunbeds and parasol are 13 euros for half a day.

We also went to Pera to look at the sand sculptures - I really enjoyed this, but you couldn't really spend more than 2 hours there (including lunch) - well we struggled!

In Olhao though, there are lots of restaurants, lots of supermarkets (Lidl, Continente), Ria Shopping Centre (we didn't go here), and a McDonalds in case you are missing eating hamburgers!!

Overall, a thoroughly good week's holiday within a lovely hotel. Would recommend to families, but make sure you have a car!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view if possible and on one of the higher floors, as it overlooks the pool. If th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and for giving us the opportunity to improve by listing the good and the not so good.

We are happy that the good points prevailed and that you enjoyed your stay with us, but we assure you that the not so good points will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.
Actually, some of the points can be solved quite easily, like for instance the view of the room and the sunny balcony. We would recommend booking a sea view room if you ever visit us again, since they have the nicest views. As our rooms face different directions, some get more sun in the morning and others in the afternoon, and although we never can confirm the allocation of the rooms before, we try to have requests in consideration. So just contact us before your next visit and we will happily try to allocate you a room with a balcony with more sunshine, but please consider that the rooms with most sunshine are the ones facing south, which would be our sea view rooms.

Please note as well that the Indoor Pool is free and not a charged service and that we have a small play area for kids in the Hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Slick hotel, nice room, lovely bathroom, reasonable bar, great breakfast. The Maid serviced our room everyday but at around 4 pm which we thought was too late. We had a bed and breakfast deal, but would have liked to have eaten dinner in the hotel now and then. however dinner was overpriced so we ate in the local town which was only a few minutes walk. One week was long enough, but thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that you have spent a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

We acknowledged your comment regarding the time your room was cleaned and regret if this was not the most suitable time for you. Please note that whenever we know our guests preferred or convenient time, we try to have this in consideration. So please do not hesitate to contact us before or during your next visit.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for a, hopefully, even more enjoyable stay with us at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The most restful. Peaceful hotel I have ever stayed. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Fantastic views, really good restaurants within walking distance. Lovely seafood. Lovely sun beds available at the pool. Regular most over too the islands.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Supatecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and how impressed you were with our team and the atmosphere at our Hotel.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another peaceful stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel and its staff cannot be faulted. The room was spotless and cleaned thoroughly everyday. The pool area is good with plenty of sunbeds and free daily towels supplied which was great. Olhao is not geared up for tourists in the karaoke bar/trinket shop sort of way which was a pleasant change. We went on the ferry twice to the islands and caught the train 3 times, once to Tavira which is well worth a visit. We stayed on a half board basis. The first 3 days which was dinner ordered from a menu was superb. The 4th day was buffet outside with a singer and guitarists which was also fine but after that the buffet became the norm and was roughly the same every night so I would recommend going on a B&B basis.

Room Tip: A seaview is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MORDIE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that almost all services and facilities corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. Unfortunately however, you were not as impressed with the Buffet of our restaurant as with the other services and we will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our Executive Chef.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,516 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing