We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, nice and still not so turistic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been twice with my family (July 2011 and July 2012) in this lovely Hotel.
I can only make positive remarks, the only thing you need to be careful is the location: It is in the Ria Formosa National Park on the coast of the Algarve it is close to Faro, is one of the area's most popular destinations for bird lovers and good if you are looking for relax with its 5 barrier islands and 2 penisulas, but altohugh it is on the coast there is no beach in front of the Hotel.
We knew that and it was not a problem for us but, well is probably not the right place for families with teenagers that looks for bars or discos.
Hotel is simply great, a big value for price, spotless clean and large rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and a nice pool. Being there the second time with a small kid we really appreciate a second small children pool with very shallow water.
Good breakfast, wide parking in front of the hotel and a garage in the basement (you probably want to hire a car if there for more than two/three days), quiet and absolutely to recommend.
The second time with small daughter and mother in law, we got a large and sunny suite with two bathrooms for a really good price.

There are many beaches easily reachable with a car (10 to 30 minures driving) on teh sea coast or on the river side, but our preferite is the one you can reach with a boat in fron of the hotel, on the Farol island (one of the barrier islands). Isalnd itself is nice and location of many holidays houses, but the beach itself is gorgeus and almost empty (at least for mediterranean standards), with clear blue water, and a great restaurant nearby.

I cannot comment neither SPA nor the restaurant, bar is fine, but Olhao is a very nice port city, center of fish in Algarve and is packed with many, cheap and delicous fish restaurants all at walking distance from the hotel.

To summarize, it was a pkeasant surprise (although partially expected after reading the reviews) and we'll try to get back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefano6408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

As we mentioned above, there is no bigger compliment for us than a repeated guest and knowing that you visited us twice over the last few years and are planning to return again, is therefore really gratifying for us.

Thank you so much for having shared this with us and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,676 - 1,682 of 2,944 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been here 3 days now out of a 7 day stay and I can't make up my mind about this place.... So I'll share my thoughts and u decide. Rooms brilliant value, large spotlessly clean and comfortable,bed is huge and linen top notch. Bathrobe and quality toiletries provided but no slippers and no body lotion? We are half board and breakfast is superb. We have vouchers provided by the hotel so can have lunch by the pool or evening meal. Dinner is either fixed choice menu 2 choices for each course or buffet, you never know which evening to evening.. They are doing a drink deal at dinner 5 € for alcoholic drink of your choice and water averages out at about 3 glasses of wine per meal, good value considering what they charge otherwise.
Other than dinner the hotel is dead at night. This is not a hotel for families, but rather for couples who want spend quality time together. We have hire car and its a great touring base but I wouldn't want to be in the hotel all day every day. This is not a resort hotel, it's a hotel. Staff are ok and speak great English. Olhao will fill one afternoon, watch out for beggars....

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank holidaygirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that most services and facilities corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. We regret however that those were not fully met when it came to the entertainment or activities, but as you stated we are a Hotel, not a Resort and we never claimed to be one.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina hotel & SPA. .

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

One thing is definitely true that the hotel is lovely, and spotlessly clean. But i think staff need to understand how much time and money does it take to come to stay there and become a truly customer orientated.I cant say our stay was awful but it didn't meet my expectation . The Reception was nice and helpful but the rest of the staff doesn't know what customer care is about. Forget about attention to detail, nice smile or even " Good morning" ( room number is all what you need ...not your name . The beach is far so if you are traveling with small kids it will be very uncomfortable. It also very quite in the evening ( no entertainment )The bar is empty ( sometimes no even a bar staff around).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia_v25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely regret that we didn’t meet your expectations and are disappointed that this was due to the quality of service, precisely the point that guests usually enjoy the most. We do not understand why your experience has been any different, but the feedback that we usually receive is that our team is extremely friendly and helpful.

We will however pass your comment on to the department heads and assure you that we will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in all areas and circumstances.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again for a, hopefully, more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had booked into this hotel for a 4 night stay after reading several fantastic reviews in the last few months.After a 20 minute drive from the airport, we were immediately impressed with a warm welcome from the porter/bellboy, Nuno Santos, who was on hand throughout our stay and we were impressed with his polite and professional manor.All hallways and rooms carpeted so you dont get any 'corridor traffic' during the night. We were very impressed with our room ( sea view a must ), and spent most of the time around the pool, where it was advisable to get your spot early without having to be up at the crack of dawn to reserve a sunbed! The spa offered 2 or 3 50% off treatments each day which you would be silly not to take advantage of. two very good tips coming up; During breakfast and evening meal I noticed 75% of people using the smaller option plates for their meals ( which just didnt look right! ), not noticing or being informed that there were 'normal' size plates on the shelf/worktop next to the wall ( hot plates under a plastic lid )......no problem with using these, people just were not aware they were there. The simplest directions to the nearest supermarket are, as follows; Walk towards town, but down the esplanade ntil you get to the 'turtle enclosure', then face inland, and take the alley ( we named it turtle alley ), for about 100 yards, kinking slightly right before an innocent looking grren signed building, which is the supermarket ( does a good impression of the tardis inside! ). Everything you need is in there.Take the independant option re the boat trips so you can do your own thing without feeling you're 'on the clock', and have a whole beach to yourself on the Atlantic coast ( the 20 minute walk to get there if you dock at Culatra is well worth it ). So, in summary, a very nice hotel in a lovely location....chill out and have a good time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pug296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review.

We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and especially the service provided by Nuno. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to him and would like to thank you on his’ behalf.

Thank you also for having shared useful tips with potential guests and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another fabulous stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I travelled here last week for a few days with some girlfriends. It was a 10 minute walk to the centre of the town for shopping. Great value in the Chinese shops. Plenty of up market shops also. No shortage of places to eat. Highly recommend Gunthars. 10 mins in a taxi.

Hotel has a good position. Great it has the indoor and outdoor pool. Rooms lovely and staff very friendly. Helped with advice on thongs to do. Booking taxi's and so on.

Only bad thing was they ask for €1.00 for a glass of ice. If you wanted wine gasses in your room you had to pay. Rooms have a little fridge. Good selection of English speaking TV channels. Area quiet. But if you want a few glasses of wine and dinner a great place to eat. Hotel cocktail *Scarlet O Hara* so nice. Bring swimming cap for indoor pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarletbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciated your kind review and would like to thank you for it.

It was really nice to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, but also the town of Olhão.
Thank you also for your suggestion to not charge for the delivery of ice and wine glasses. This is done because we have a service charge for room service deliveries, but we will take your comments into consideration.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Boss re-visited the hotel with her sister (2nd-16th May) after we had 2 weeks here 18 months ago. Before her arrival I had requested a couple of things, a room near to where we were before( sea view, a must!) and a kettle. Both requests were fulfilled although the hotel wanted to charge for the use of 2 cups, stingy or what!
The hotel was as good as ever with one exception. On our previous visit we went half board and thoroughly enjoyed the food, breakfast and dinner were excellent. This time the girls discovered that half board clientele are offered the daily "Chef's Special". Basically 2 choices of each course. This went down like the proverbial lead balloon after the quality that the girls were expecting. No mention of this on the holiday blurb, no mention on the hotel web site that if you go half board, expect less of a choice than other customers!
It was amicably sorted out but it was disappointing after the high expectations and one of the reasons for booking this hotel. As ever, cost was mentioned.
So, life has caught up with The Real Marina and Spa, shame!

Room Tip: East side sea view gets you the sun from about 10am until 6pm ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billg715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for having visited us again.

We are glad that you once again enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that the dinner choice didn’t correspond to your expectations.
We did indeed implement some changes in our restaurant in order to guarantee a smoother operation and reduce waiting times. This is why we introduced the Chef’s Daily Special and the feedback so far has been positive. Since we do want to offer our guests as much flexibility and freedom as possible, guests who prefer à la carte rather than a menu, are also able to use the half-board vouchers for the à la carte lunch in the Ria Lounge.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from another fantastic stay at this great hotel- Fantastic room with everything spotless and clean -Great food - Friendly helpful staff - Great location for exploring islands and walking - Cant wait to return to the real marina yet again in September! .Thanks to all staff for a fantastic week !!!!!!-TIM ARNOLD/LESLEY WRIGHT

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wimborneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

As we mentioned before, the most gratifying compliment for us is when a guest returns and having read that you visited us twice already and are coming again in September, really made us happy and proud.

Thank you so much for having shared this with us and we look forward to welcome you back again in September for hopefully another perfect stay at the Real Marina Hotel &SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,722 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
21.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
19.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: $66 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing