We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some obvious changes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Some obvious changes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Boss re-visited the hotel with her sister (2nd-16th May) after we had 2 weeks here 18 months ago. Before her arrival I had requested a couple of things, a room near to where we were before( sea view, a must!) and a kettle. Both requests were fulfilled although the hotel wanted to charge for the use of 2 cups, stingy or what!
The hotel was as good as ever with one exception. On our previous visit we went half board and thoroughly enjoyed the food, breakfast and dinner were excellent. This time the girls discovered that half board clientele are offered the daily "Chef's Special". Basically 2 choices of each course. This went down like the proverbial lead balloon after the quality that the girls were expecting. No mention of this on the holiday blurb, no mention on the hotel web site that if you go half board, expect less of a choice than other customers!
It was amicably sorted out but it was disappointing after the high expectations and one of the reasons for booking this hotel. As ever, cost was mentioned.
So, life has caught up with The Real Marina and Spa, shame!

Room Tip: East side sea view gets you the sun from about 10am until 6pm ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billg715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for having visited us again.

We are glad that you once again enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that the dinner choice didn’t correspond to your expectations.
We did indeed implement some changes in our restaurant in order to guarantee a smoother operation and reduce waiting times. This is why we introduced the Chef’s Daily Special and the feedback so far has been positive. Since we do want to offer our guests as much flexibility and freedom as possible, guests who prefer à la carte rather than a menu, are also able to use the half-board vouchers for the à la carte lunch in the Ria Lounge.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    586
    151
    24
    7
See reviews for
337
1,187
50
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from another fantastic stay at this great hotel- Fantastic room with everything spotless and clean -Great food - Friendly helpful staff - Great location for exploring islands and walking - Cant wait to return to the real marina yet again in September! .Thanks to all staff for a fantastic week !!!!!!-TIM ARNOLD/LESLEY WRIGHT

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wimborneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

As we mentioned before, the most gratifying compliment for us is when a guest returns and having read that you visited us twice already and are coming again in September, really made us happy and proud.

Thank you so much for having shared this with us and we look forward to welcome you back again in September for hopefully another perfect stay at the Real Marina Hotel &SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Real Marina sells itself as a 5 star hotel. So what sets a 5 star out against other ratings?

Attention to detail I would have thought, making sure that the holidaymaker enjoys their stay, doing the little things that are important, going the extra mile for their guests as well as suberb food and accommodation.

We soon found out that this hotel lacked many of the above.

Myself and wife arrived Wednesday 8th May to celebrate my birthday in the sunny Algarve. We had always wanted to visit here but nearby Spain had claimed our winter sunshine trips until now, so with high excitement and high hopes we booked the Real Marina.

An early flight brought us to the Real Marina's door at about 10.30 am, a long day at the pool or exploring the town awaited for us, we thought.
Front of house staff took our passports, photocopied them booked us in etc, then told us that no room would be available to us until 3pm that afternoon.

OK we were disappointed, but these things can happen so we asked for a room to use briefly to shower, change, start our holiday.

Use the toilet we were told! Sorry? Use the toilet ! Its around the corner there ! The hotel toilet we asked? Is it in use by other guests ? Yes. But you can change there. Its OK.

I mentioned that we have stayed in other hotels that had rooms specifically for this purpose but was told the hotel was full. End of story.

So off to the toilets we went, me to the gents, my wife to the ladies. Luckily the gents had only a few users as I struggled with embarrassment and my luggage and tried to change from travel clothes to summer gear.

A room was made available to us at 2.30 that day. It was a fine room with a great view. We enjoyed the hotel breakfasts and pool area, loved the small town enjoyed our stay.

A note to other visitors to Olhao - If you plan to visit the enchanting islands nearby - please take the large ferrys which travel at regular intervals during the day for just a few euro.

We went on a small boat with a Captain Steve (Seasick Steve we called him) for 40 euro.
He promised he'd be our chef, our guide, our barman, everything under the sun. He took us to Culatra, left us at a restaurant, and we didn't see him again.
One of his workers contacted us and returned 20 euros and told us to get the ferry back to Olhao as Steves boat was broken down.

The small town was beautiful, fab fish and fruit markets, lovely atmosphere, well worth the visit.

So was the hotel worth 5 stars? Certainly not for us. The check in problems spoiled things a little and we heard other guests repeat our own experience.

A small note to the hotel - we checked out, with a lot of other people, at the end of our holiday at 07. 40. so these rooms were empty and able to be prepared for incoming guests

As I said the small things- the small things - the hotel fell down badly on these.
Liked the area but the hotel has work to do if it truly wants to be considered 5 star

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noirc'estnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We regret that your stay didn’t correspond to your expectations due to our check-in policies.

As any other hotel in this world, we do have a guaranteed check-in time, which in our case is 3 p.m. . Of course, guests are able to check in earlier if the room is available before and we always try to have the rooms available before the guaranteed check-in time, but unfortunately this is not always possible, especially if the Hotel is fully booked.

Thank you also for your note and be assured that we clean the rooms as soon as they become available, but this is no guarantee that every guest arriving will have its room ready as soon as he arrives, because most guests do not depart at 7.40 a.m. .

We would like to reassure once again that we always try to make rooms available as soon as we can and that if our staff didn’t give you one before 2.30 p.m. it was not to make your life harder, but simply because there was none available.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

stayed here may2013 4 of us arrived together as one party and 2 of us were given a room key and a room but we were told our room wasn't ready but would be an hour! and two and half hours later we finally got our room. being with our friends in the next room we noted that our room didn't get started on until over an hour and half . later
Olhao seemed to be a nice small town but is very very run down with lots of graffiti. In the middle of the town is what we can only presume is the sewage works and the smell is horrendous, if our balcony door was open the smell was awful. The restaurants and bars are very good but the tramps and beggars are very annoying and one guy must have seem us 6 times a night and after being told as many times still continued to ask for money.
The hotel it's self is 5 star in many ways including its prices. our room was meant to be cleaned every day but the baths and basins were Never cleaned while we stayed there as I. dropped my disposable lenses into the sink and after the room was cleaned they were still there and the bath still had the rough feeling around it and our friend shaved and had hair in the sink it was still there After their room was cleaned.
The pool is fine as long as you want to be squashed in like sardines which is annoying especially as there is plenty of room but you are not allowed to move the loungers . the pool bar shuts at 7 pm and there is nowhere else to sit outside. & the bar inside is Never busy in the at night but when u can get a wine or beer in the town for 1 euro it's not surprising. the food is very cheap in the town too but the smell can be too over powering.
Olhao would be a nice enough place to have a quick trip through but really wouldn't stay here again ever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klaireo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that Olhão and your stay did not correspond to your expectations.

Olhão is a typical town and although we agree with most of our guests that it is a charming town and ideal for anyone who wants to get to know the real Portugal, we can understand that some guests prefer a more touristic destination that is why we also offer two hotels in the centre of the Algarve and capital of tourism, Albufeira, which are perfect for everyone looking for a place with bars, entertainment and close to the main touristic attractions of the Algarve.

We also acknowledged your comments regarding the cleaning of the room. Please accept our apologies if it was not perfectly cleaned. This does certainly not correspond to our usually very high standards of cleanliness and we assure you that our Executive Housekeeper will be informed.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to one of our Hotels.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed at the hotel for a 3 day break, to see another part of the Algarve away fro the tourist parts and to see the real side of Portuguese life. The hotel was an added bonus, with friendly and efficient staff. The room we had was a sun trap from 7.30am in the morning. The pool side bar was very clean and tidy. The poolside menu was both Healthy and reasonable prices could be had by all. Breakfast was enjoyable and did not lack in choice. The spa does a great 50% day on certain treatments. We had a full body massage, which was fantastic ......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

It was a real pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay, but also the services and facilities of the Hotel, as well as its location.

Thank you once again and we sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA for another perfect stay.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice hotel although larger than I would rather choose. Modern, clean and tidy.
Staff generally pleasant and friendly. Very quiet rooms, we had a junior suite which really we did not need but reading other reviews you want a sea view.
Excellent breakfasts during our stay (8th-12th May) we did not try the dinners for 2 reasons really...
We had asked if we might have a kettle etc for making the odd hot drink, yes we could but at 7.5 euro per day! and the same if we wanted a delivery of ice!!
Of course there are many good restaurants in Olhao, the reviews will not let you down! We ate like Kings for very reasonable prices.
We would go back tomorrow if we could, but very good could be excellent!

Room Tip: Sea view room all but essential unless you want to save a bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketheshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, which we really appreciated.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with most our facilities and services.
We would also like to clarify something, which we believe might have been a misunderstanding. We do not charge a rental fee for kettles, but make them available free of charge. Please contact our reception desk upon your next visit and if a kettle should be available, we will place it in your room.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for considering returning! We look forward to welcome you again for what will hopefully be an excellent stay at the Real Marina Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had fabulous stay with family in august 2012, kids loved pool and all you can eat breakfast was great start to the day, lovely fishing village, must go to beaches by boat they all amazing. Would definitely return

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lozloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

As we mentioned several times, a returning guest is the ultimate sign of appreciation for us, so we were really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would definitely return.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again for another great family holiday at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
9.0 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing