We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golda Sol(Faro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,084)
Filter reviews
3,084 results
Traveler rating
1,853
936
232
39
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,853
936
232
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsria formosavillage viewlovely hotelfishing townstar hotela sea view roomfish marketindoor poolbottle of champagnehalf boardbed and breakfastshort breakreception staffrelaxing breakcooked breakfastfaro airportbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,821 - 1,826 of 3,084 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had a great time at Real Marina Hotel & Spa in Algarve Portugal. I can recommend you to have dinner at one of the best restaurants in Olhao you will be delighted!. The Spa personnel is also very helpful and this hotel is really fantastic, you will enjoy your stay at Real Hoteis. I am sure about it!

Room Tip: sea view...they are great!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isareps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind and enthusiastic review about our Hotel, its services and facilities.

It was gratifying to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how impressed you were with everything, especially the staff and the food.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, for another perfect stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My second time in this hotel. Conveniently located between Tavira and Faro if you need to do business in both towns which was my case. And well priced for the winter season. This is supposedly a 5 star resort but in fact only the rooms can be considered as such. They are spacious, well appointed with large bathrooms and confortable beds and pillows. Nice balconies, and large closets. Nothing to complain about in this area of the hotel. Breakfast is not up to the 5 star rating, not in presentation, variety of choices nor service. Fresh orange juice is the only exception. Tea and coffee are mediocre in quality,there are some variety in breads but really nothing in the breakfast has a taste or look of luxury. Service is inattentive and rushed. I particularly disliked the set of metal termos with milk and coffee placed on the tables, no class at all! The bar on the ground floor is unconfortable and keeps odd hours, but there is a convenient coffee shop by the outdoors swimming pool. The weather was lousy but the spa pool was being cleaned so that was very disappointing in a winter stay where indoors pools are mostly used. That pool is quite small but fits the purpose.
Internet is free and easy to access anyhere in the hotel.
Would I spend a summer holiday here? No. But as a winter break option this hotel is not a bad choice at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lagartixa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would recommend us and visit us again.

We regret, however, that not everything corresponded to your expectations and that you were not able to use the Indoor Pool during your stay. We always try our very Best to make sure that our guests enjoy the best possible service, high quality facilities and a safe and healthy environment. For this we are constantly carrying out maintenance works and, unfortunately and although rarely, it might happen that we need to temporarily close a facility, but we are very pleased to inform you that the Indoor pool is fully available again.

We were surprised that you were not entirely satisfied with our Breakfast, its variety and service. The feedback is usually very positive, but we assure you that your comments will be passed on to our F&B Management and will be taken into consideration.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again and that you will have the chance to fully enjoy all the facilities, services and comfort the Real Marina Hotel & SPA has to offer.

Kind regards

Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a stunning hotel! Everything about it is five star, from the beautifully appointed and spotless rooms, the elegant pool area, great restaurant and stunning sea view. Please make sure you book a sea view; it's incredible.
We stayed for a week, normally we're self catering so this was a departure but you just couldn't fault the place and the staff at reception are wonderfully helpful. The only thing I really missed was a kettle. Bar meals are great value and breakfast offered incredible variety (and fizzy wine if you want it!).
Olhao is a great place for visiting the nearby islands with beautiful quiet beaches and the usual Algarve waves. Try the ferries rather than private water taxis; it's so cheap!

Room Tip: Sea view, upper floors
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you appreciated every single aspect of your stay with us, especially the views, the breakfast and the quality of the service provided.

Thank you so much, also on behalf of our team, for your kind and enthusiastic comments, but also for your suggestion to provide kettles. We are very pleased to inform you that although we do not provide them as a standard, we do have kettles available upon request. Should you visit us again please contact us before arrival or request one during the check-in and if one should be available, it will be placed in your room.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Two parts to this review: the hotel itself, and the hotel and Olhao as a short break.

We stayed here for well over a week at the beginning of February. One of the nicest located hotels I have been in, and would rate in my top twenty hotels ever in terms of value for money during the low season.
We found all the staff friendly and helpful, and the service was excellent. Suite was immaculate; breakfast was excellent, with a very large choice. If you didn't want what was on the buffet you can order what you want from the kitchen.
Restaurant and bar prices are in line with 5 star hotels anywhere, and a lot cheaper than most. However there are twenty + restaurants within 10 minutes walk of the hotel, so there are many alternatives.
If you want a sea view then make sure you book a sea view room: some of the rooms at the side look towards the town or the apartments. If you are here overnight or on business you may not worry about this.
A general note about hotels in Portugal if you are visiting from US or UK. They do not generally have much of what you might expect in a similar hotel in London. e.g. Tea or coffee making equipment, tissues, trouser press, ironing board or iron. These are normally available for asking, but you may wish to order things (such as a kettle) when you book your room if you are here on business, or, like me, drink tea all day long. However there is a fridge, and free wi-fi.
I did find the air conditioning a bit loud (for such a new hotel), but I generally do. You can switch it off.....

Overall a lovely hotel, I will certainly try to get back here again!

For a short break Olhao is wonderful if you just want a reasonably quiet time. There are dozens of fish, and some other, restaurants. You do not need a car if you are only here for a few days, and don't want the hassle of driving. Without a car you can spend about four days here and still have an enjoyable time (Day 1 explore the town; Day 2 Ferry to the Islands; from the hotel it is a ten minute walk to the ferries to take you to the islands, where there are magnificent beaches which you will have virtually to yourself. (in February anyway!) Day 3 Train to Faro and explore (2.3E return); Day Four train to Tavira and explore). The station is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, and I used it a lot. Trains are clean and seem to run to timetable; staff at the station are very helpful. NB if you have mobility problems the train is out, as there are no disabled facilities) . There is also a town hopper bus and buses to other beaches. Bikes are a good way to get about as everything is pretty flat. (Hire from the hotel). If you are a birdwatcher then there are wonderful birds on your doorstep around the old salt pans, and in the National Park.
If you have younger children, then you might want to be aware that the town closes down a bit between 5 and 7 in the evening, so if the children are used to eating at that time you will need to plan for the fact that the restaurants will not be open (although the hotel snack bar is open till seven). I guess that teenagers would find the place dull, but I maybe that depends on their interests.

So overall an excellent hotel and a lovely small town ideal for a few days away.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk to reception about the sort of room you want (and how much you want to pay, of course).
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bookman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, the kind comments about our Hotel and for sharing so many useful tips, which we are sure will be greatly appreciated by potential guests.

We are very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and in Olhão and that everything corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. It was really gratifying to read that you were so impressed with the staff, the breakfast, rooms and the value for money that you consider us to be one of the best hotels ever.

Thank you so much and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another perfect stay at the Real Marina and Olhão.

Kind regards

Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday and what a great choice. Could not fault anything about the hotel. Arrived a couple of hours before check in time, but room was available. The design of the hotel and rooms very modern and well done and everywhere was extremely clean. Stayed in a junior suite with a seaview, which if you stay here the seaview rooms are a must. The staff are exceptional from the reception staff to restaurant and cleaning. All extremely friendly, well trained and proffesional, could not fault anyone. We stayed half board again great value, 2 of the four meals we had were a set menu with free drink, wine, water, beer, and came with entertainment. The other two meals we were able to choose the three courses from the restaurants a la carte menu. Every meal we had was excellent and well presented. Also good breakfast. To round the holiday off on the day of my birthday as mentioned by previous guest, without being told it was my birthday, a trolley with a cake, card and sparkling wine was delivered to my room, really great touch. Many thanks to everyone for making it such a great stay.



  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul Tarmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Real Marina Hotel & SPA to celebrate your birthday!

We know how high the expectations of guests are, especially when the purpose of the visit is a celebration, and we are therefore really happy and proud that you have had a great stay with us and that we were even able to make it a little bit more special and memorable with our small birthday surprise.

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another excellent stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews