We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and excelent Kitchen!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service and excelent Kitchen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had a great time at Real Marina Hotel & Spa in Algarve Portugal. I can recommend you to have dinner at one of the best restaurants in Olhao you will be delighted!. The Spa personnel is also very helpful and this hotel is really fantastic, you will enjoy your stay at Real Hoteis. I am sure about it!

Room Tip: sea view...they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isareps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind and enthusiastic review about our Hotel, its services and facilities.

It was gratifying to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how impressed you were with everything, especially the staff and the food.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, for another perfect stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    628
    157
    25
    8
See reviews for
371
1,248
53
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My second time in this hotel. Conveniently located between Tavira and Faro if you need to do business in both towns which was my case. And well priced for the winter season. This is supposedly a 5 star resort but in fact only the rooms can be considered as such. They are spacious, well appointed with large bathrooms and confortable beds and pillows. Nice balconies, and large closets. Nothing to complain about in this area of the hotel. Breakfast is not up to the 5 star rating, not in presentation, variety of choices nor service. Fresh orange juice is the only exception. Tea and coffee are mediocre in quality,there are some variety in breads but really nothing in the breakfast has a taste or look of luxury. Service is inattentive and rushed. I particularly disliked the set of metal termos with milk and coffee placed on the tables, no class at all! The bar on the ground floor is unconfortable and keeps odd hours, but there is a convenient coffee shop by the outdoors swimming pool. The weather was lousy but the spa pool was being cleaned so that was very disappointing in a winter stay where indoors pools are mostly used. That pool is quite small but fits the purpose.
Internet is free and easy to access anyhere in the hotel.
Would I spend a summer holiday here? No. But as a winter break option this hotel is not a bad choice at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagartixa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would recommend us and visit us again.

We regret, however, that not everything corresponded to your expectations and that you were not able to use the Indoor Pool during your stay. We always try our very Best to make sure that our guests enjoy the best possible service, high quality facilities and a safe and healthy environment. For this we are constantly carrying out maintenance works and, unfortunately and although rarely, it might happen that we need to temporarily close a facility, but we are very pleased to inform you that the Indoor pool is fully available again.

We were surprised that you were not entirely satisfied with our Breakfast, its variety and service. The feedback is usually very positive, but we assure you that your comments will be passed on to our F&B Management and will be taken into consideration.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again and that you will have the chance to fully enjoy all the facilities, services and comfort the Real Marina Hotel & SPA has to offer.

Kind regards

Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a stunning hotel! Everything about it is five star, from the beautifully appointed and spotless rooms, the elegant pool area, great restaurant and stunning sea view. Please make sure you book a sea view; it's incredible.
We stayed for a week, normally we're self catering so this was a departure but you just couldn't fault the place and the staff at reception are wonderfully helpful. The only thing I really missed was a kettle. Bar meals are great value and breakfast offered incredible variety (and fizzy wine if you want it!).
Olhao is a great place for visiting the nearby islands with beautiful quiet beaches and the usual Algarve waves. Try the ferries rather than private water taxis; it's so cheap!

Room Tip: Sea view, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you appreciated every single aspect of your stay with us, especially the views, the breakfast and the quality of the service provided.

Thank you so much, also on behalf of our team, for your kind and enthusiastic comments, but also for your suggestion to provide kettles. We are very pleased to inform you that although we do not provide them as a standard, we do have kettles available upon request. Should you visit us again please contact us before arrival or request one during the check-in and if one should be available, it will be placed in your room.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookman55
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Two parts to this review: the hotel itself, and the hotel and Olhao as a short break.

We stayed here for well over a week at the beginning of February. One of the nicest located hotels I have been in, and would rate in my top twenty hotels ever in terms of value for money during the low season.
We found all the staff friendly and helpful, and the service was excellent. Suite was immaculate; breakfast was excellent, with a very large choice. If you didn't want what was on the buffet you can order what you want from the kitchen.
Restaurant and bar prices are in line with 5 star hotels anywhere, and a lot cheaper than most. However there are twenty + restaurants within 10 minutes walk of the hotel, so there are many alternatives.
If you want a sea view then make sure you book a sea view room: some of the rooms at the side look towards the town or the apartments. If you are here overnight or on business you may not worry about this.
A general note about hotels in Portugal if you are visiting from US or UK. They do not generally have much of what you might expect in a similar hotel in London. e.g. Tea or coffee making equipment, tissues, trouser press, ironing board or iron. These are normally available for asking, but you may wish to order things (such as a kettle) when you book your room if you are here on business, or, like me, drink tea all day long. However there is a fridge, and free wi-fi.
I did find the air conditioning a bit loud (for such a new hotel), but I generally do. You can switch it off.....

Overall a lovely hotel, I will certainly try to get back here again!

For a short break Olhao is wonderful if you just want a reasonably quiet time. There are dozens of fish, and some other, restaurants. You do not need a car if you are only here for a few days, and don't want the hassle of driving. Without a car you can spend about four days here and still have an enjoyable time (Day 1 explore the town; Day 2 Ferry to the Islands; from the hotel it is a ten minute walk to the ferries to take you to the islands, where there are magnificent beaches which you will have virtually to yourself. (in February anyway!) Day 3 Train to Faro and explore (2.3E return); Day Four train to Tavira and explore). The station is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, and I used it a lot. Trains are clean and seem to run to timetable; staff at the station are very helpful. NB if you have mobility problems the train is out, as there are no disabled facilities) . There is also a town hopper bus and buses to other beaches. Bikes are a good way to get about as everything is pretty flat. (Hire from the hotel). If you are a birdwatcher then there are wonderful birds on your doorstep around the old salt pans, and in the National Park.
If you have younger children, then you might want to be aware that the town closes down a bit between 5 and 7 in the evening, so if the children are used to eating at that time you will need to plan for the fact that the restaurants will not be open (although the hotel snack bar is open till seven). I guess that teenagers would find the place dull, but I maybe that depends on their interests.

So overall an excellent hotel and a lovely small town ideal for a few days away.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk to reception about the sort of room you want (and how much you want to pay, of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bookman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, the kind comments about our Hotel and for sharing so many useful tips, which we are sure will be greatly appreciated by potential guests.

We are very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and in Olhão and that everything corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. It was really gratifying to read that you were so impressed with the staff, the breakfast, rooms and the value for money that you consider us to be one of the best hotels ever.

Thank you so much and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another perfect stay at the Real Marina and Olhão.

Kind regards

Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday and what a great choice. Could not fault anything about the hotel. Arrived a couple of hours before check in time, but room was available. The design of the hotel and rooms very modern and well done and everywhere was extremely clean. Stayed in a junior suite with a seaview, which if you stay here the seaview rooms are a must. The staff are exceptional from the reception staff to restaurant and cleaning. All extremely friendly, well trained and proffesional, could not fault anyone. We stayed half board again great value, 2 of the four meals we had were a set menu with free drink, wine, water, beer, and came with entertainment. The other two meals we were able to choose the three courses from the restaurants a la carte menu. Every meal we had was excellent and well presented. Also good breakfast. To round the holiday off on the day of my birthday as mentioned by previous guest, without being told it was my birthday, a trolley with a cake, card and sparkling wine was delivered to my room, really great touch. Many thanks to everyone for making it such a great stay.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul Tarmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Real Marina Hotel & SPA to celebrate your birthday!

We know how high the expectations of guests are, especially when the purpose of the visit is a celebration, and we are therefore really happy and proud that you have had a great stay with us and that we were even able to make it a little bit more special and memorable with our small birthday surprise.

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another excellent stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are currently sat in the hotel writing this.This is a lovely hotel with a few minor annoyances.The main one being so much more available but only on request like tissues,slippers etc.
But now to be fair management when made aware of some personal gripes pulled out all the stops and can't be faulted.
We shall return here again and will recomend to our friends and family.
Obregado Real Marina and Spa,Obregado.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanketstacker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay as much, or even more, as you were enjoying it by the time you were writing this review.

We always try our very Best to make our guests’ stays special and to provide a high-quality, attentive, friendly service and excellent facilities. Perfection, however, is hard to achieve and we are aware that there is always room for improvement. We sincerely regret that you experienced some gripes, but are relieved and proud that our team was able to sort them out in a quick and efficient way, making sure that your experience was not affected and actually so enjoyable that you are already planning to visit us again, which, as we said before, is the biggest compliment for a Hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we assure you that we will do our utmost to make your next stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA as or even more special than your last one.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in February for 3 nights in a sea view suite booked through Booking.com

Location: In an area of Olhao where regeneration has started, but ground to a halt. However it is only a short stroll to the Market and plentiful bars and restaurants. The hotel is very close to the Marina, and the sea views are excellent.

Room: The suite was excellent. From the door was an L shaped corridor with a bathroom off, to the left of the hall, behind sliding doors was a lounge area with 2 seater sofa, table and 3 chairs, a desk area with built in fridge. Wall mounted TV (with some English channels) over the desk. Opposite the entrance to the lounge was a large wardrobe. At the end of the hall was the separate bedroom. A very large room with a huge, comfortable double bed, table and 2 chairs, dressing table with chair, large wardrobe and storage area, and a further TV. On the far side of the bedroom was another hallway leading to a second bathroom. Both bathrooms contained shower rooms with the secons having a bath as well. The suite was carpeted throughout. There was a 'wrap-around' balcony that caught the sun for most of the day and contained a table and 2 chair/sunloungers. The only thing missing for me was coffee making facilities, which I would have expected to find in a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast: The usual choices that I would expect from a European hotel; the hot options were well cooked, and coffee/tea was delivered to the table.

Staff: All the staff we came in contact with were cheerful, friendly and efficient. Reception staff were very helpful and happy to make recommendations and give directions. They seemed quite proud of their hotel.

Other facilities: The hotel has Spa and Gym facilities as well as indoor and outdoor pools, the outdoor pool has a bar/lounge area. There is a bar close to reception and an enclosed smoking area. Can't really comment on any of those as we did not use them.

Value for money: excellent - booked through Booking.com we paid 90 euro per night for the suite and breakfast; incredible value even for 'off season'

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bluebrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

It was really gratifying to read how impressed you were with the facilities, rooms and especially the value for money and the staff. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to the entire team and would like to thank you for your kindness and consideration.

Thank you also for your suggestion to provide tea and coffee facilities. Although we do not provide them as a standard, we do provide kettles upon request and should you visit us again, please contact us before your next stay, as we will gladly try to arrange one for your room.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
18.8 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing