We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous birthday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday and what a great choice. Could not fault anything about the hotel. Arrived a couple of hours before check in time, but room was available. The design of the hotel and rooms very modern and well done and everywhere was extremely clean. Stayed in a junior suite with a seaview, which if you stay here the seaview rooms are a must. The staff are exceptional from the reception staff to restaurant and cleaning. All extremely friendly, well trained and proffesional, could not fault anyone. We stayed half board again great value, 2 of the four meals we had were a set menu with free drink, wine, water, beer, and came with entertainment. The other two meals we were able to choose the three courses from the restaurants a la carte menu. Every meal we had was excellent and well presented. Also good breakfast. To round the holiday off on the day of my birthday as mentioned by previous guest, without being told it was my birthday, a trolley with a cake, card and sparkling wine was delivered to my room, really great touch. Many thanks to everyone for making it such a great stay.



  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul Tarmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Real Marina Hotel & SPA to celebrate your birthday!

We know how high the expectations of guests are, especially when the purpose of the visit is a celebration, and we are therefore really happy and proud that you have had a great stay with us and that we were even able to make it a little bit more special and memorable with our small birthday surprise.

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another excellent stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,770 - 1,776 of 3,005 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are currently sat in the hotel writing this.This is a lovely hotel with a few minor annoyances.The main one being so much more available but only on request like tissues,slippers etc.
But now to be fair management when made aware of some personal gripes pulled out all the stops and can't be faulted.
We shall return here again and will recomend to our friends and family.
Obregado Real Marina and Spa,Obregado.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blanketstacker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay as much, or even more, as you were enjoying it by the time you were writing this review.

We always try our very Best to make our guests’ stays special and to provide a high-quality, attentive, friendly service and excellent facilities. Perfection, however, is hard to achieve and we are aware that there is always room for improvement. We sincerely regret that you experienced some gripes, but are relieved and proud that our team was able to sort them out in a quick and efficient way, making sure that your experience was not affected and actually so enjoyable that you are already planning to visit us again, which, as we said before, is the biggest compliment for a Hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we assure you that we will do our utmost to make your next stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA as or even more special than your last one.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in February for 3 nights in a sea view suite booked through Booking.com

Location: In an area of Olhao where regeneration has started, but ground to a halt. However it is only a short stroll to the Market and plentiful bars and restaurants. The hotel is very close to the Marina, and the sea views are excellent.

Room: The suite was excellent. From the door was an L shaped corridor with a bathroom off, to the left of the hall, behind sliding doors was a lounge area with 2 seater sofa, table and 3 chairs, a desk area with built in fridge. Wall mounted TV (with some English channels) over the desk. Opposite the entrance to the lounge was a large wardrobe. At the end of the hall was the separate bedroom. A very large room with a huge, comfortable double bed, table and 2 chairs, dressing table with chair, large wardrobe and storage area, and a further TV. On the far side of the bedroom was another hallway leading to a second bathroom. Both bathrooms contained shower rooms with the secons having a bath as well. The suite was carpeted throughout. There was a 'wrap-around' balcony that caught the sun for most of the day and contained a table and 2 chair/sunloungers. The only thing missing for me was coffee making facilities, which I would have expected to find in a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast: The usual choices that I would expect from a European hotel; the hot options were well cooked, and coffee/tea was delivered to the table.

Staff: All the staff we came in contact with were cheerful, friendly and efficient. Reception staff were very helpful and happy to make recommendations and give directions. They seemed quite proud of their hotel.

Other facilities: The hotel has Spa and Gym facilities as well as indoor and outdoor pools, the outdoor pool has a bar/lounge area. There is a bar close to reception and an enclosed smoking area. Can't really comment on any of those as we did not use them.

Value for money: excellent - booked through Booking.com we paid 90 euro per night for the suite and breakfast; incredible value even for 'off season'

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bluebrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

It was really gratifying to read how impressed you were with the facilities, rooms and especially the value for money and the staff. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to the entire team and would like to thank you for your kindness and consideration.

Thank you also for your suggestion to provide tea and coffee facilities. Although we do not provide them as a standard, we do provide kettles upon request and should you visit us again, please contact us before your next stay, as we will gladly try to arrange one for your room.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Checked in after a long day driving and searching for a suitable hotel. Receptionist suggested staying in one of the hotel apartment but had to wait 10 minutes for it to be prepared. No problem there as was surprised at the spaciousness and facilities available, like home from home. Huge supermarket just up the road to get essentials, tea, coffee milk, beer and wine. After a short stroll along the harbour front on the recommendation of the hotel receptionist decided to stay the extra night to take in the delights of the fishing town of Olhao. Not disappointed with the variety of restaurants, bars and quaint streets of the town before returning for a nightcap in the hotel bar. Hotel staff pleasant, polite and very helpful suggesting visiting the fish/fruit and veg market in the morning plus other delights of Olhao. Great stay with the added bonus of a great hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel at end if harbour but nearer to shopping complex all within walking or short drive. Hotel fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roymsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in the apartments of the Real Marina Residence and also the services and facilities of its sister Hotel, the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

In order to avoid misunderstandings, we would just like to add a small note regarding these complexes. The apartments do not belong to the Hotel itself, but are part of an independent unit, the Real Marina Residence. Although the reception service is shared and guests of the Residence are welcome to use the Bar or restaurants, for instance, there are also some facilities that are exclusive for Hotel guests, like the gym or pools. Traditional services that you would expect in a regular Hotel, like daily cleaning or Room Services, are provided in the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, but not in the Real Marina Residence, making it the perfect choice for anyone looking for a home from home.

Thank you once again for having shared your experience with the Tripadvisor community and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back, hopefully soon, for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Before writing thid evaluation I took a look on the negative reviews where other visitors complained about the staff. We had no problem with none of them and before arriving, they sent us a map how to find the way by car.
The room was nice and we had a view on sunrise in the morning.
For airconditioning we should ask next time to explain how it works exactly, but other anamities were very practic. No difficult insurt of the key at the door. Only touch the sensor.
For Valentines night the restaurant was crowded but service and food were perfect.
If for 1 night visit in wintertime one big advice : don't forget your bath costume or buy one.
The 2 saunas are perfumed and the jaccuzi very attractive. Nice indoor swimming pool also.
One remark about the breakfast : obviously smoked salmon and sparkling wine is not available any more but for a busy day ahead it is not a must.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancineMessines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind review and were glad to learn that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and that we were even able to exceed your expectations when it came to the quality of service.

The feedback regarding our team, their friendliness, helpfulness and efficiency is usually extremely positive and most comments on this site reflect this and highly praise our team. Since we hope that our guests look forward to their holidays and do not worry about a slightly less positive remark, we suggest to read as many reviews as possible and not focus only on specific reviews, as we believe that this is the only way that allows getting a real overview and what to expect from a Hotel.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As usual, having read the reviews posted here, I was uncertain what to expect although the usual clutch of the 'ANTI' brigade were in full voice. I have often wondered (as you'll see from my other posts) whether these people have actually stayed at the hotels they write about, or are employed by the competition to slag off the latest competitor.

In this case, I have absolutely no reservations about saying that all of the gainsayers probably have never been within a mile of the hotel.

From the first impressions of reception (where we were greeted by a young lady with perfect English) through mealtimes and everything else during our stay, we couldn't have been more pleased with the place.

We opted before departure to contact the hotel and arrange half-board even though the town has many restaurants and received very prompt asistance by email, with the result that our HB vouchers were sitting there waiting for us on check-in.

We were very glad that we did this upfront as the cost of 22 euros pppn was far below what we would otherwise have spent in the restaurant - on average, we saved about 20 euros a night.

One night, we decided to opt for the set menu because there was Fado on, and this included all our drinks - if you get the chance, go for this as the wine/beer/whatever kept coming all night until the end of the Fado and by that time we were only fit for bed!

Our room was on the 'village view' side of the hotel and, Ok, the view wasn't the greatest, but then again we spent virtually no time looking out anyway - when we were in the hotel we sat on the terrace by the pool and looked out over the lagoon to the islands, getting a suntan in the space of three days in early Feb! - who needs a balcony?

In all, we only had one niggle (and that very minor) in that the hotel would benefit from some comfortable armchairs/sofas in the public areas - even that could be put down to the fact we're getting a but creaky these days

If we had taken children with us, I'm not sure this hotel would have been the best bet in the area due to the lack of things for them to do in-house, but there are a couple of playgrounds on the front that would be ideal for them if you were determined not to go out and about in the area.

The Saturday market is a good way to spend a morning if you're in town that day, and the fresh fruit and veg has to be seen to be believed (we bought oranges that weighed almost half a pound each, and cost the grand sum of 60 cents a KILO)

By the way, if you decide to stop in, you'll get BBC and ITV on the TV in-room and there's a pay-to-view movie facility as well

Room Tip: It's quite true that the sea-facing rooms have anexcellent view, but I think you may suffer slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wynn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret that you were a bit anxious before your arrival and unsure about what to expect from the Hotel, but we are really happy that these worries were unfounded and that you fully enjoyed your stay, as the vast majority of our guests and reviewers on this site do.

Thank you so much for having shared your kind and detailed review with us. It was a pleasure to read it and find out how much you enjoyed the Hotel, is facilities, services and also the Algarvian sun, having even been able to return home with a nice suntan.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in Feb which is quiet season but that is the way I like it best! Having said that the nearby town to which you can walk to in about 2 minutes was busy with locals and all the restaurants and bars were open every night. The food is fresh and simple which is what the Portugese do best and of course very good value. The hotel itself is very new and modern and the rooms were excellent with balconies and lovely sea views. There is a spa there and the therapists were all very good, would highly reccommend the reflexology. There is a lovely pool area on the first floor which overlooks the sea. There is a long promenade in front of the hotel which is good walking. As I said, we stayed off season and so it was lovely for a quiet relaxing long weekend. Note, there is no beach area here, unless you like picking cockles when the tide is out!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always gratifying to read our Guests’ reviews, especially if they enjoyed their stay with us as much as you did.
Thank you very much for having shared your feedback about a perfect stay at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

We really hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our Hotel and that you will also have the chance to visit Olhão’s beaches, located only a short boat ride away on the Barrier Islands, which we are sure you would also enjoy as these beaches are some of the nicest beaches in the Algarve and maybe even Europe.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,740 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
19.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 153 in Albufeira
2,467 reviews
20.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range: $71 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel Olhao
Real Marina Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing