We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real Marina Residence
Nearby Hotels
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pensao Bicuar Residential(Olhao)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$125
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$68
Hotwire.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
424
139
35
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
139
35
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolthese apartmentswashing machineria formosaeach blockfishing townbed apartmentfruit and veg marketworking townself cateringdishwasher tabsdressing roomthe hotel receptionbin bagsreal portugalhotel facilitiespingo doce
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 615 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Four of us stayed at the Real Marina Resisence for 4 nights and enjoyed the whole stay. After arriving early and having a walk around the town, we were allowed into the apartment just after lunch time. The apartments were clean and spacious, we had a 2 bed, 2 bath, one being an en-suite. We had a side view which looked back towards the hotel, but the marina and river area could still be seen to the right. The apartments are well equipped but sadly only have wired connection for the internet, which worked for our laptop but not the ipad.

TV in the living room can be connected to an aux input if needed as it has an extra HDMI and RCA inputs, great if you have kids and a small media player. The Kitchen had everything we needed and if you wanted to stay self catering only, a Lidl and Continente supermarkets are 10 minutes walk away, which can save you money as the breakfast is pricey if not pre booked as part of your booking. We had it included intitially so we got a good deal, £189 for 4 nights b&b, and the breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice.

There is a local daily market (Mon - Sat until 1pm) that has two halls selling fresh caught fish, fruit, veg, cheese, meat and oils. there are a number of smaller shops in the back streets and they sell a variety of goods and at very good prices.

If you want to use the hotel pools then you will have to pay if you are not staying there, as each apartment block has a small pool on the roof top.

Great location, great apartments and helpful staff make this place a good one. The town, restaurants and other bits help it as well.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment from 31st March for 4 nights. The apartments are very spacious, well equipped to a high standard and beautifully clean. The weather was changeable we did have one day of rain and went to use the hotel pool which was a little pricey for small pool, we did manage to spend one day on the roof top in the sun and dipped our toes in cold pool so in the summer I can imagine its lovely. There was no wifi in the apartments but it was quite nice to have a break away from electronic devices much to the children's disgust however the hotel only a short walk over the road and internet was easily accessed. The tv had a good BBC channel with a mix of old comedy on that we watched in the evening but we didn't go to watch tv so didn't mind that it was small or had many English speaking channels. We took cards and other small games to play which were beneficial on the wet day. The bedrooms were all good size and beds very comfortable the blackout blinds made it very dark in the mornings we had no concept of time! We also had 3 toilets and 2 bathrooms so no problems in the mornings!
The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for you, they gave us great directions and local knowledge also printing out train times for us.
Olhao itself as said before is a fairly small quiet fishing town but has plenty of lovely places to eat, obviously we were there out of season so whether it does get busier I'm not sure. We did walk along the beach away from the main promenade and found nice soft sand beach to walk along although the water not that clean as it is technically a lagoon. The boat trip out to the island if Cultra was very worthwhile the guide had fantastic knowledge of the area and let the children have a go at driving the boat, so I would highly recommend it. The sand dune island visited on the way was a deserted golden sandy beach which was quite breathtaking.
I would highly recommend these apartments and the resort of Olhao for a quiet break away, the city of Faro is an easy train ride away and worth a day trip to. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Arrived on Sunday 22nd March and had a really enjoyable 5 days in the Real Marina Residence.

Pros:

We booked a 2 bedroom (2 bathroom) apartment and it was remarkably spacious. They are very modern and well constructed. The rooms itself are very clean and the kitchen has everything you would need (full sized oven, microwave, fridge freezer – even a dishwasher). A large balcony as well. The air-conditioning unit worked really well at warming the rooms when it got a bit chilly in the evenings. It was just a bit too cold to use the rooftop pool, but I could imagine it’s a real bonus in the summer. The beds are really comfortable – at first it might seem as if the mattress is really hard, but it’s absolutely fine – you’ll sleep really well.
The staff on the front desk were very pleasant and genuinely helpful as well.

In the quiet season, Olhão is what would be called a ‘sleepy’ fishing village, and the hotel is located within a residential area. The supermarkets were only about 10-15 minutes walk away from the apartments and there are loads of restaurants lining the streets, so you’re spoilt for choice. There’s also a large indoor market and a couple of souvenir shops to potter around in.

There isn’t really any kind of beach in Olhão – you have to take the ferry or drive to the popular resorts, but the walk along the promenade by the marina was pleasant enough if you’re only staying a couple of days.

Although we somehow just happened to choose the windiest day of our trip to take an eco boat tour, the tour itself was really interesting – the skipper really knew his stuff about the history of Olhão and of the bird and marine life surrounding the area – would recommend.

The locals themselves were very approachable and friendly to two obvious tourists – we would definitely go back to Real Marina Residence again.

Cons:

However, the apartment could do with a washing machine and there’s definitely space for it. And for the size of the apartments, the tv is pretty small – and they could do with fitting additional tv’s in the bedrooms. I can’t imagine if there were 6 people staying in the apartment that they could all fit on that small sofa in the living room.

Also, even though I’ve noticed lots of other reviewers have already mentioned it, it bears repeating again – they really could do with setting up Wifi in the apartments. It’s a bit tiresome to have to walk over to the hotel lobby to get connected – especially if you want to check in online for return flights or connect to iTunes etc. - things like that. I’m not sure why they’re not reacting to the feedback they’re getting.

The only time we had a bit of a problem was when we used the spa in the hotel – there was a mix-up when we paid for our sessions – there was a misunderstanding about how many sessions had been paid for - it did get a little frustrating, but in the end it was all sorted out satisfactorily.

Other than that– it was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in a three bedroomed apartment from the 31st of March until the 4th of April, we found the apartment to be extremely clean and well appointed. Very spacious for 5 of us. Unfortunatley the weather wasn't at its best this week so the outside pool was a bit chilly but the children did try it out! We did use the indoor pool at the hotel which was a bit pricey including the swimming hats, which were compulsory, also the jacuzzi was out of order. There was some noise from the shop fitters working down staires in the morning but assume this will be temporary.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and accommadating, we had forgotten to pack my son's teddy that he has had since he was a baby when leaving, after returning from a a day out to catch our transfer taxi to the airport, I asked the reception staff if they had come across it when cleaning out the room, they had and the man on reception went to colect it for us, I will be eternally grateful to him for this (and so will my son!)

This was my first time in Portugal and found everyone to be helpful and friendly, the town of Olhoa is a small traditional fishing community which has a selection of restaurants, but if your looking for bars and clubs and lots of activities for children then its not the place to go. It is an unspoilt town and not touristy. There isn't very much to do on rainy days, but the seafront is a pleasant place to walk and explore, we went on a boat trip to Cultura which was a great experience and Jame was very knowledgable and passionate about his subject. There is also a train station which is about 20 minutes walk from the apartments train prices were cheap and offer a good service to other towns nearby.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back, when hopefully the sun might shine a bit more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

High quality apartments, well equipped. Several blocks remain unoccupied and for sale. Rental apartments are the 1st 2 blocks nearest hotel Beware visitors to apartments are not allowed to use hotel pool. Apartments blocks have small pool on roof, 1 pool allocated to each block of 6 apartments. Noise from street level as workmen were building in empty shops below.

Nearest supermarkets are quite a treck either past the unbuilt apartments, up the steps and along the side of the dual carraige way approx 900 mtr, across road Lidl and large hypermarket or along the front toward the ferry and turn left just before ferry for local supermarket.

Ferry to beach is a must, Cultura and Farol is beautiful. Low price pais for 4* accomodation.

Room Tip: Locate high, sun mainly on balconies that face away from the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Due to the implementation of a new Property Management system, we have not been able to reply individually and personally to all reviews as we usually do, but we wanted to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. As soon as possible, we will start replying to each one of your kind comments and reviews individually.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews