We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Apartments Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real Marina Residence
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartments Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for a week over New Year at these apartments.Arrived early from Faro airport only 8klm about 15 minutes in taxi. As it was Saturday pottered down to the Gypsy Market for a look. Back for 3 pm check in time. Swiftly taken with bags to our apartment. Very secure, card needed to enter block. Lift to all floors two apartment on each floor of four floors. On fifth floor a small swimmimg pool for the eight apartments. Apartment was splendid modern clean and very high spec. Patio has a table and chairs.Kitchen plenty of crockery glasses pots etc.Bring extra kitchen towels dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid.Clothes line provided.
Oven microwave oven, fridge freezer and dishwasher built in. Marble worktops the works.Bathrooms equally impressive good showers fully tiled and storage space hairdryer provided. Bedrooms have plenty of storage space coat hangers provided.Beds are very hard.
Note Cleaning only once a week beds and towels changed and floors washed.
Put out your own rubbish.Waste bins provided out the back.TV has English channels no Wi fi in apartments can connect at hotel. Within walking distance of harbour and resturants. Lidle down the road about 10 minutes walk for provisions.Good train and rail connections if you want to travel.
Did ask for a harbour view instead looked out at the back into waste land and graffiti.However the apartment made up for this. Will be back in May. Fantastic try for yourself.

Room Tip: You can ask but in our case ignored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, actually so much that you are already returning this May. This really is the best possible feedback and we would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team.

We regret that we were not able to fulfill your request for a Marina view. We always try our very best to fulfill our guests’ wishes and do not hesitate to contact us before your next stay with any requests you might have.

Thank you also for your detailed description of the apartments and tips, which surely will be greatly appreciated by future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in May to the Real Marina Residence and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    115
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
207
227
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Check in was great, we were shown to our apartment and helped with our bags.
Accommodation was very good although the beds were short and air conditioning was rather noisy. Free safe in bedroom was a nice surprise, also 2 room keys which is handy.
10 min eay walk to the fish and food market surrrounded by lovely, numerous and varied restaurants with the average price of a meal 9€ and the price of a pint only 3€. Supermarket was 20 min walk and not easy to find but very cheap and the shopkeepers are very friendly and they will give you directions, there is an ATM in the supermarket. the town itself is full of quaint shops and restaurants but be warned use the free street map provided by the hotel as it is easy to get lost!
The nearest ATM to the holel is beside the police station only 5 mins walk along the prom. We didn't eat in the hotel as being 5* it was dearer than the local restaurants. The prom in front of the hotel is lovely and the walk past the marina is very pleasant indeed.
We really enjoyed our stay and shall definitely return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowBigMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was really gratifying to read your review and learn that you too enjoyed your stay so much that you are planning to return soon.

Thank you so much for having shared your experience with us and for the useful tips about things to do and see in Olhão.

We look forward to welcome you back soon for what will hopefully be another perfect stay at the Real Marina Residence.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
224 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Wonderful apartment. Spacious living and dinning rooms a large balcony one bedroom and two bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped but was lacking a washing machine although it did have a an iron and a board. It's on the front across from the marina but the apartment blocks face each other. The next door hotel is where you pick up your card key which lets you into the building and into your apartment. Their is no reception in the apartments. On the roof is a small pool for the use of the flats in your block. Plenty of English language channels on the TV. The only complaint we had is that the apartments have no wifi which is odd as the apartments are fairly new. Lot's of restaurants in the town which aren't that far away. A couple of times we bought cooked prawns from one of the marisco's in town and eat in. Olhao is a real working fishing port with boats large and small coming in with their catch all the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that you have had a wonderful stay with us and that almost everything corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.

Thank you also for your suggestion to offer wifi in the apartments. This is currently only available in our sister Hotel, the adjacent Real Marina Hotel & SPA. The connection in the apartment is via cable but we will have your suggestion in consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Residence and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

great relaxing holiday. apartments and hotel facilities were 5 star. fair bit of graffiti around the area that brought the place down a little, staff were all great and the food amazing. would highly recommend the veal sirloin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It was really gratifying to read that you have spent a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were also able to try some of the facilities and services of our sister Hotel, the 5 *Real Marina Hotel & SPA.
We will make sure that your kind comments regarding the service and food provided by the Hotel will be passed on to the entire team and would like to thank you on behalf of them.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Residence and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley - West Uorkshire.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Second Visit here in 2013 after previously visiting in March. As good as before. Just really like these apartments which have everything we require on a holiday. All the staff, cleaners, maintenance and reception are so helpful. The place is spotless. We booked a one bedroom apartment and have been allocated a two bedroom apartment on both visits which provided us with so much space - just brilliant. We will be back again even though we usually try different venues for holidays. These are arguably some of the best apartments we have had the pleasure of staying at whilst on holiday. Thank You.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Rayfromshipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews, but we have to admit that it was especially gratifying to read yours, since you visited us for the second time this year and are already planning to return, even though you usually do not repeat venues for holidays.

Thank you so much for having shared this with us.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back for what will hopefully be another excellent stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent accommodation / Brilliant Staff / Perfect.
If you are looking for a not so touristy area and want 5 Star luxury with really superb and welcoming staff - This is the place for you without any reservations 100% recommended.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank MKDK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would even rate us as a 5 star luxury Hotel, which is especially gratifying since the apartments being no Hotel, have no official rating. It is great to hear that our guests feel like they have the full 5 star experience.

Thank you so much for your comments and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Residence, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Since returning from Olhao in early October, I have swayed between giving the Real Marina Residence four stars and five stars as there are some flaws which I will describe later that could have caused it to lose a star, but on my experience alone, and given how much I’d like to return, I would have to give it five stars.

I had e-mailed ahead to request a room on a high floor, with sun in the evening rather than the morning on the balcony and a sea-view. As it was a late booking, I didn’t hold out that much hope. I received a very prompt reply from the hotel staff saying they’d look into my request. As it turns out, we were on the lowest floor, with a ‘side sea view’ but we did get a west-facing balcony. It seems the only rooms that face fully out onto the marina are the three-bedroomed apartments.

There were only two of us sharing a two-bedroomed apartment so we had ample space; a bathroom each and loads of room in the kitchen, dining area, lounge and balcony. The side sea view won’t be appearing on any picture postcards, but it does just about meet the criteria. As you’re behind the dunes of the Ria Formosa, I have to admit I missed the sound of waves lapping that’d you’d expect from a location so close to the waterfront.

We mainly dined out, so didn’t make as much use of the kitchen as some, but it seemed to have all the essentials that you’d need (there were six of each plate, bowl, glass etc.). The beds were comfortable and the black-out blinds were so effective I had no idea what time it was when I awoke! I didn’t hear any noise from our immediate neighbours, but we may not have had any.

It probably takes around ten minutes to walk to the beginning of the restaurants on the main street, but once you reach them there are dozens to choose from and it’s probably harder to find a bad one that a good one (I was a particular fan of Casa das Tostas). Olhao itself is a bit rough around the edges, but whilst I couldn’t tell if it was slowly improving or slowly becoming more run down – I both hope and expect it to be the former – it didn’t bother me at all and I felt perfectly safe; it certainly felt like an authentic Algarve town, especially compared to the big resorts further west along the coast. The fact it has a bus service and train station is also a bonus for those wishing to explore.

Back to the Real Marina Residence:-

Positives –

• Rooms were clean and well appointed, and the two-bedroomed apartments are enormous when shared between two people. Lots of storage space, a safe, UK television channels, comfortable furniture, large kitchen etc.

• The rooftop bathing area is great for catching late sun. Ours was shared between eight apartments, but I rarely saw more than two other people there.

• The hotel staff were very helpful with all requests and questions I put to them.

• Lots of great restaurants in the town.

• Only a ten-minute transfer to and from Faro airport.

• In a quiet area right on the seafront.

Negatives –

• Rooftop pool is very small and a bit too cold to be comfortable (in October at least). If all the apartments are taken up, I can imagine it being too busy up there as well.

• All the balconies face each other, so if you get a noisy group staying in any other apartment it could ruin any chance of sitting peacefully outside.

• It is a good fifteen-minute walk to the nearest supermarket (Lidl round the corner to the right of the complex), so it can be hard work getting your shopping back to the apartment without a car (there’s also a Pingo Doce at the far end of the town, but it’s not near the taxi rank so requires another walk).

• Whilst the bus and train services provide good links to other towns and places of interest, both stations are a half-hour walk away from the Real Marina.

I’m probably being a bit pernickety with some of the negatives, but there were some small factors that could (but didn’t) have a detrimental effect on my holiday. I would certainly not hesitate to recommend the Real Marina Residence to those who don’t want to stay at a typical holiday town or lively resort, who don’t mind a bit of walking, but who do appreciate and expect cleanliness, peacefulness and comfort. I certainly hope to go back in the future.

Room Tip: Our bottom floor room was no. 522 with 521 across the hall, so if you want to be on the top floor re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HuddsJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review.

We really appreciated that you listed both, the points that impressed you the most, but also the ones that impressed you the least. Please be assured that these points will be taken into consideration. We would just like to leave a small note regarding the rooftop pool. They might seem a little small, but in fact they usually never get too crowded, since each set of 8 apartments has its own, private pool and most guests prefer to visit the beautiful beaches of the islands rather than the pool during summer.

We are happy that still your overall experience was a lovely and memorable one, actually so much that you are planning to visit us again, which ultimately is the biggest feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you soon to the Real Marina Residence and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
0.0 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
4.9 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Residence

Property: Real Marina Residence
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Real Marina Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Residence Hotel Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing