We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to live here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Real Marina Residence
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Olhao
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I want to live here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff were all smart friendly and efficient. The apartment was spacious, high spec and beynd our hopes. The only bad thing was the bed. It was rock hard. Personal choice I guess. Everything else was spot on. Roof top pool and two lifts for 8 apartments to share. The only thing it lacked was a washing machine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneFishing_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We mentioned a few times that a guest who returns or wants to return is the best possible compliment, but wanting to live with us might be an even bigger one.
Thank you so much! It was really gratifying to read that all your expectations and hopes have been exceeded and how happy you were with the apartments and your stay with us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again. Just contact us before your next stay, as we would like to prepare your bed with mattress toppers, which will hopefully make your next stay even more comfortable and enjoyable.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    115
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
205
227
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We travelled as a family of four and stayed in a one bedroom apartment, it was the best apartment we have experienced on holiday, can't fault it! The rooms were spacious, modern and clean with ample storage throughout and the apartment had everything we needed which is a first as usually we are ringing around housekeeping to try and sort out ironing boards or hairdryers, etc. We had 2 bathrooms, (one en-suite), a living room with balcony, dining room, and a lovely kitchen. I was pleasantly surprised that the cooker had gas hobs (also had one electric), the kitchen had ample cutlery and crockery and the appliances were all of a very high standard (microwave, oven, dishwasher). The decor throughout is very modern and tasteful, air conditioning in the living room and bedroom, blackout shutter blinds that really keep the light out! If I had to pick a fault the only thing would be the sofa bed isn't the most comfy, it was fine for our two kids (aged 8 and 5) but for adults or older kids its probably not the best so maybe a 2-bed apartment would be better for some. The pool at the top of the apartments is pretty small but to be honest we went to check out the pool at the main hotel and that wasn't very big either. Our kids still managed to have a great time at the pool and we never struggled for loungers.
Olhao is a fishing village so obviously most restaurants serve a lot of seafood although there are a few indian restaurants and mcdonalds! We stocked up on food from the supermarket which is about 3 mins in a cab, we were too lazy to walk in the heat carrying shopping and kids! We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast is a buffet in the main hotel and although not the biggest it had a great selection.
For shopping there is a market in the main village and some boutique type shops in the little lanes behind the main street or if preferred a small shopping centre about 5 mins away in taxi.
There are a few lovely beaches nearby which all need to be accessed via a ferryboat which you can board just outside the main hotel, so none are within walking distance, initially i wondered whether this would be a hassle but the kids seemed to love the boat ride and the boats are quite frequent.
Any information regarding ferryboats and excursions can be found at the main hotel reception where the staff were always extremely helpful.
Overall we had a lovely holiday, and although not a typical touristy destination I think we actually preferred the fact that it was a traditional village not spoiled by shops and bars catering for the tourist. The people were lovely and the hotel was faultless. I would return here and maybe next time hire a car so we can explore other areas too, would definitely recommend the apartments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGaff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind, detailed review and are happy that you have had such a fantastic time with us and in Olhão that you would definitely recommend and return!

Thank you so much for having left your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Real Marina Residence, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Check in was at the nearby hotel which was friendly and quick. The lift lobby and the entrance lobby to the apartment front door was dirty. The apartment is very clean.
The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a 2 bed apartment with 1 bathroom and 1 shower room. Excessive use of hot water turns it lukewarm and you have to wait about an hour for it to fill up the huge hot water tank. The kitchen is well fitted and every kitchen utensil you can think of is provided. The quality of the plates and cutleries was excellent.
The living room has a flat screen TV with bbc and itv. We also had a balcony with a partial sea view where we had most of our meals.
Cleaning is only once per week but you can pay for extra cleaning service
There is ample entertainment and food joints about 5 mins away from the apartment and there is a Lidl and Mcdonalds about 15 min walk in the other direction. There is ample free car parking
A terrible smell from the Ria Formosa blights the whole neighbourhood in the evenings sometimes. It kept us indoors in the evenings as we could not go for a walk.
The rates for the apartments was very competitive actually it was a bargain
We bought fresh fish from the Saturday market and it was very delicious

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andynaija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that most facilities and services provided corresponded to your expectations. We regret if the cleaning of the Lobby of the apartments however did not match our usually high standards and will ask our Executive Housekeeper to pay more attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another pleasant stay at the Real Marina Residence.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The best apartments we have stayed in. The apartments were modern and spacious. It was in a quiet area only 5 minutes walk to restaurants, bars & marina and 10 minute walk to Lidls. Most days we had the rooftop pool to ourselves with parasol & sunbeds. One of the best holidays & definitely will be returning. Resturants to visit Docas and Sabores were the best.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHaggerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We know that we said it before, but we do not mind to repeat that the most rewarding and motivating compliment for us is a guest who will return!

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are really happy that this was the best apartment you have stayed in and we really look forward to welcome you back to the Real Marina Residence for what will hopefully be an even better experience.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 14 day stay .The apartments have everything you would need apart from a washing machine. It was like living home from home. Any problems no matter our small were sorted straight away. The pool on the roof did get busy at times but you could always get sun beds.
Olhao itself is a great place with plenty of restaurants and shops plus fruit and fish and Saturday markets. We visited all the islands which were beautiful with beeches on the Atlantic side as good as it gets .We used both the town ferries and the one outside the Hotel because they don't all go to every island. The hotel one is nearly twice the price (approx 7 euros return per adult) but convenient. We will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to read two reviews in a row from guests who will be returning. This is the biggest sign of appreciation and compliment we can possibly hope for. This and the fact that you felt like being at home.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me and my girlfriends 11 night stay in Olhao and the real marina residence was almost perfect. We had a one bedroom apartment which was absolutely immaculate, really spacious with more than enough room for the two of us. The balcony was almost another room it was so big. There is a small pool on the roof, which was really peaceful and quiet in the mornings, however this can get a bit busier and noisier in the afternoon.
We had decided we wanted to try something a bit different from the usual all inclusive package holidays where we could eat in a few nights, visit restaurants, have a few, nice drinks in before going out, instead of the rubbish you get in most all inclusive hotels. We ended up cooking in around 4 nights and eating out the other 7 nights. The kitchen is well stocked, utensil wise, and we bought a lot of our ingredients in the Pingo Doce supermarket at the end of the strip. Pingo Doce is about 20 minutes walk, or you could do we what we did which was run there and back in about 5 minutes each way. There is also a meat/fish market and fruit and veg market on most mornings which is really good to go and visit and buy fresh.
The town itself was not very touristy, which was exactly what we were looking for, however there are more than enough restaurants to visit on your stay. We were being a bit picky on which restaurants we visited and didn’t have a bad meal, although looking back now i’m convinced you could have probably sat down in any restaurant and had an amazing experience. All the owners and waiters were very friendly, they actually wanted you, not just your money. They were also really passionate about the food they served which is becoming increasingly rare in our mass produced world.
Money wise, we went with a budget of spending 90 euros a day and didn’t spend anywhere near it, excursions included. We weren’t exactly careful when choosing what we wanted to eat and were paying around 30 euros to 45 euros for a meal for two, with a bottle of wine included, really reasonable. Wine is even cheaper in the supermarket at 2/3 euros a bottle.
The weather was really nice about 35+ degrees the first few days, cooling down to about 25+ degrees for the rest of our trip. We had a couple of cloudy mornings, however the sun soon burnt its way through. Evenings were mostly very warm, you could get away with wearing a t-shirt the whole night. BEWARE, the first few nights we did have a problem with mosquitos that were blown up to Portugal from North Africa, a bit of a plague. After the first 3 nights, the majority seemed to disappear, however be prepared and bring supplies.
I would definitely advise anyone to go to the Deserta beach about an hour ferry ride away and about 7 euros return. Take a packed lunch in a cool bag and an umbrella and you could easily spend your day on a beautiful, sandy beach. The beach itself is easily big enough to accommodate everyone and you still have acres of room next to you. There is a cafe on the island, however it gets a bit busy and a bit pricey being the only one on the island.
The reception for the Real Marina residence is in the hotel and I must say the staff there couldn’t do enough to help us every time we went to them. We booked an excursion to the water park, with the hotel, which is just past Albufeira and ended up having a private taxi return for 12 euros each.
We did use the trains on a couple of occasions to go to Albufeira and Faro and once you find your way to the station, the ticket staff new enough english to tell you everything you needed to know. Train tickets seemed a lot more reasonable and reliable in Portugal compared to the UK, well worth using. One tip if you do visit Albufeira by train, use a taxi once you get to the Albufeira station. The station is about 5km outside of Albufeira itself and you have a couple of changeovers on the buses which can get a little bit complicated.
The only thing I would suggest to make this holiday even better would be to have the cleaners come round more than once a week, even just to empty the bins and put new bin liners in, a very small complaint and you can easily empty the bins yourself, but being on holiday i’m just looking at being lazy.
Overall we had an excellent stay and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: If you do get the summer sun facing you in the mornings it can be unbearably hot on the balcony, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10Morris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comprehensive, kind review of the Real Marina Residence.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and how impressed you were with the apartments, but also with the town and area.

Thank you once again for having shared your feedback with us, but also for the many useful tips about things to do and visit while staying with us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Residence for what will hopefully be another perfect stay with us.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Real Marina Residence. These apartments are fantastic - huge, beautifully furnished and well kept. We had a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment on the third floor (APT 576) in the second block. It had a good side sea view and the sun was on the balcony from around 8am - 11am. The other block (nearest the hotel) got the sun in the afternoon and evening. The apartment has everything you need - just a washing machine missing! It was cleaned once during our stay but is easy to keep clean and tidy. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful at all times. There is free WiFi in the hotel reception along with 2 computers should you not have the lastest whizzy phone or ipod! You can pay to use the hotel pool but be warned it costs 40 euros per person per day which we thought was expensive-can only assume they have a high charge to put Residence guests using all the space. The rooftop pools at the apartments are lovely-although small and not ideal for those wanting to swim-we used them everyday and never had a problem getting a sunbed or space in the pool. There are lots of lovely places to eat within a 10 min walk (Pizza Na Pedro & Docas Pizza are particularly good). There is Pingo Doce Supermarket a 15 minute walk away (on beyond main restaurants) and a Lidl about the same distance away in the opposite direction although this involves walking along a main road with no real path. The boat trip to the islands is well worth it and takes around 15mins to the closest beach. The local trains are excellent and the station is about 15mins walk. Tavira is a must, very pretty and lots to see and do. The transfer from the airport only takes 15 - 20 mins which we liked. All in all we all (myself, husband and our 15 & 19 year old daughters) all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and are keen to return to both the Residence and the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joules66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you are already looking forward to your return trip! This is the biggest sign of appreciation and a great motivation for us.Thank you so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great holiday at the Real Marina Residence and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhao
0.0 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
18.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quinta dos Poetas
Quinta dos Poetas
#1 of 1 in Pechao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
4.9 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Marina Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Residence

Property: Real Marina Residence
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Real Marina Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Residence Hotel Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing