We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real Marina Residence
Nearby Hotels
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roaz de Bandeira House(Olhao)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Pensao Bicuar Residential(Olhao)(Great Value!)
$49
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
425
139
35
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
139
35
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolthese apartmentswashing machineria formosaeach blockfishing townbed apartmentfruit and veg marketworking townself cateringdishwasher tabsdressing roomthe hotel receptionbin bagsreal portugalhotel facilitiespingo doce
Filter
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 616 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My friend and I got the best deal for our week's stay at Hotels4U.com. Olhao is a small town and about 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Faro airport.

Our one bed apartment was huge, modern, clean, comfortable and air-conditioned. The kitchen was well equipped apart from nothing to wash up with. I know we were in a self catering apartment but it seemed very wasteful and eco-unfriendly for each guest to buy a big bottle of washing up liquid and a sponge per stay. Anyway, I digress.....

Each set of 8 apartments has access to a small rooftop pool. This was perfect most of the time when it was just the two of us up there and less so, when there were three families with kids running around!

The residence and adjoining spa are at one end of Olhao's main drag and the supermarket is right at the other end - be warned, those bags get very heavy in the midday sun! The restaurants were OK - the highlights were the rodizio place with a huge bull outside the entrance and Do Vale, which is about 10 minutes walk from the old town. We also loved the cocktail bar which is part of the market complex and facing the marina. There's no real nightlife though so I would avoid Olhao if you were looking for big nights out on the town!

The restaurants and bars in the main hotel were empty every time we went past but the spa was nice and they have a daily deal, eg half price massage, which is good value for money.

A pleasant stay and I would recommend!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank mariannelynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that, despite of some minor points, your overall experience has been pleasant. In fact, the aspect of the eco-friendliness of buying washing up liquid and sponge per guest, had never been mentioned before, but it is a point that we will have in consideration.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Residence soon.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Only stayed here for one night at the end of our holiday in Algarve. This is most certainly a 5* hotel. These apts over look the bay, all have a bay view. When we arrived the reception staff were very courteous and helpful. Our apt was on 4th flr. Apt air con was on when we went in, nice touch !. Sheer luxury and very comfortable. Electric window shutters, flat screen tv, glass sink basins and beautiful decor. Roof top pool. Walked up to resaurants in town, 5 min walk. Disapointed with restaurants compared to other parts of Algarve resorts. Ended up back in Real Marina restaurant on 1st flr over looking bay. Had 3 course buffet, was very tasty and reasonable. This was the best accomodation I have ever stayed in but did not like Olhao.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flannys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Real Marina Residence and that you even rated it as a 5 star Hotel. in fact the Real Marina Residence is a vacation apartment property and not a hotel and therefore has no stars rating, but we are very pleased to be compared to a 5 star hotel. Thank you so much for this.
We regret that you were not as satisfied with the town as with the accommodation itself, but hope that despite of this we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Residence.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Hotel Manager
Real Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Finding only two reviews for Real Marina Residence on Trip Advisor actually simplified the decision making process as one rated it "Excellent" and the other "Average". Normally I would not consider anything that was merely rated average, so it was a case of taking a hard look at this particular review to determine why the accommodation was given such a lowly rating, prior to making any booking, but more of this later.

In the event a decision was made in favour of Real Marina Residence and here is what we found, starting from our early afternoon arrival for a stay of 9 nights. Check-in formalities at the adjoining Royal Marina Hotel were friendly, efficient and unhurried. Time was taken to tell us not just about the Residence itself but also something about the town, its attractions and places of interest that we might like to visit. We could not have hoped for a better start to our holiday.

The apartment was bright, airy, spacious and sparkling clean and comprised of a large sitting room with separate dining area, a good sized bedroom and large en suite bathroom with an efficient shower over bath, WC, bidet, wash basin and an (almost) floor to ceiling opening window which gave lots of daytime light and ventilation. In addition, there was a separate room with spacious shower cubicle, WC and wash basin. Large fluffy bath sheets and hand towels were provided in both these rooms and throughout the apartment there was generous wardrobe and storage space.

An equally bright and spacious kitchen, complete with gas and electric hobs, large fridge/freezer, oven and microwave, had a comprehensive range of kitchen equipment and utensils. In the many cupboards and drawers were coffee cups and saucers, tea cups and saucers, drinking mugs, plates of every shape and size, bowls, white wine glasses, red wine glasses, tall tumblers and squat tumblers, all in sets of four, and even a wine decanter. Cutlery, again in sets of four, was too numerous to count with, for example, four different spoon sizes ranging from coffee to soup spoons. An electric kettle and a coffee maker were provided, but no teapot. Given the average Brits fondness for tea, but dislike of popping a tea bag into a cup of hot water, this is a serious omission!

In addition to a table and four chairs in the dining area for indoor dining, there was also a table and four chairs on the spacious balcony to provide for al fresco dining when weather permitted which, in the Algarve, appears to cover much of the year. We certainly had lovely weather in May and were able to enjoy daily outdoor lunches on the balcony. Breakfasts had to be taken indoors because of strong morning sunshine!

Although the apartments are situated on the edge of town, a leisurely 10 minute walk along the seafront takes you to the many restaurants and cafes on the main Avenue Outubro and a further 5 minutes or so into the fascinating old part of town with its maze of little narrow back streets and alleyways. As first time visitors to Olhao we found it pleasant, safe and relaxing, with some very nice shops, and easy to get around on foot. Its railway station, bus and ferry terminals provide excellent links to neighbouring towns and a wonderful opportunity to see at first hand the way of life enjoyed by its island communities..

Upon checking-in we were given a welcome letter in which guests are invited to contact the Reception Team should they require any information or assistance and no doubt all guests are given this same letter. We quickly renamed the Reception Team the Rapid Response Team because anything we asked for was given immediate attention and always with a genuinely warm smile.

In his review Jackhard provides a great deal of extraneous information about his September 2010 holiday and his more recent week away when his easyJet flight departed on time at 06:30, and his car hire and how he bit the bullet and payed (sic) the price for a 2 bedded apartment that accommodated 4 to 6 persons because he wanted to be on a higher floor. There is some information that is not provided, however, such as whether he reported his very shakey (sic) loo seat to the Reception Team so that they could arrange for it to be fixed, or if he was happy that it remain shaky as a reminder of the "cracks" that had shown. Nor has he said where he laid his head when, although less than 6 feet tall, his heels were over the bottom when he layed (sic) on his back. I should imagine that all beds in the apartments are of the same length and, hard as I tried, as someone who IS 6 feet tall I found it difficult to project my heels beyond the end of my bed when I was laid on my back with my head laid on the pillow.

As to his having payed (sic) for a 2 bedded apartment, he should have expected there to be more cutlery and crockery than would have been provided had he paid for only a 1 bedded apartment unless, of course, he felt that the "suplus" should have been removed to cater for under occupancy, but his complaint is difficult to understand. What would he have said had there been too little? And the same can be said of the balcony dominated by a large table and six chairs. But what about the aircon unit whose fan, because the weather was cold and heating was necessary, blew a cold gale onto the balcony making it impossible to relax on it? If the weather was so cold that the heating had to be turned on for warmth, would he really want to sit on his balcony? Noel Coward's song "Mad Dogs and Englishmen", but in reverse, springs to mind!

How unfair that the review should fail to say that there is a good distance between the blocks, rather than give the impression, as it does, that guests in one block are looking into the eyes of guests in the other, when on their balconies. We were able to position the chairs on our balcony to give an interrupted view of the sea and I feel sure that this will be the case with most, if not all, balconies when there are only two occupants. To talk about being grossly overlooked with a horrendous outcome is nothing short of nonsense and begs the question why, having actually viewed the property in September 2010 and thereby familiarised himself with the layout, he went ahead and made a booking a few months later?

Come the end of January 2011 and fed up with winter (in England) a week away was planned which included a stay of 3 nights end January/early February in Real Marina Residence, says the review. Clearly the weather was not as expected at that time since the heating had to be turned on in the apartment. This would be a great disappointment to anyone on holiday from the UK in search of warmth, but the apartment can hardly be blamed for poor weather, Is it possible. though, that if it cannot be blamed for the weather it could be faulted in some other way, perhaps by downgrading it in a review from a well deserved excellent to a mediocre average and finding (if even by invention) cause to justify such downgrading?

Potato peeler, or no potato peeler, we shall be back to enjoy the substantial comforts that Real Marina Residence provides. I shall leave it there other than to ask this question. Should it come as a surprise to us Brits that our continental Eurpoean neighbours sometimes shake their heads in astonishment and disbelief when we holiday in their country?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear guest,

A big thank you, on behalf of the whole team.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you even defend our property, by responding to other reviews. We really appreciated your kind and detailed feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Real Marina Residence for, hopefully, another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We were introduced to these apartments Sept,2010 when we stayed at the 5 star Hotel Real Marina & Spa for 2 nights at the end of a touring holiday of Spain and Portugal, before flying from Faro. There are 4 blocks of apartments, one block is managed/owned by the hotel, they are new, opened June 2010, and look impressive. We asked to view one and was shown a 2 bed apartment which was spacious and impressively furbished and I thought they would be nice for a future vacation.
Come the end of January 2011 and fed up of the winter we planned a week away. 31/01/11 - 07/02/11. We booked an Easyjet flight, hired a car for 7 days and booked the Real Marina Residence for 3 nights 31/01/11 - 03/02/11.We had booked a 2 bed apartment because the 1 beds were only situated on the first and second floor and we felt we wanted to be higher so bit the bullet and payed the price. Everything ran to schedule and flight departing 06.30hrs we had collected the car and was checking in at the hotel before 11.30 hrs (its situated less than 1/2 hour from the airport). They allowed us to move in immediately and I am sure we were the only ones in the block. We were,again, impressed on entering the apartment with it's spaciousness and very comfortable furnishings but very quickly the cracks began to appear. The kitchen was spacious and well equipped, large fridge/freezer, intergrated electric oven/microwave,dual electric/gas hob and enough cutlery and crockery to cater for an army, but when we came to prepare a simple meal all of the pans and dishes were catering size (to cater for that army) except the frying pan.Simple things were lacking like potato peeler, colander/salad shaker and no condiments holders. There was a double bedroom & twin bedroom, both having en suits, we used the twin to store our cases and I used the bathroom, very standard, nice quality but a very shakey seat on the loo which needed more than tightening the shower was 60X60cm with bags of room to have a more spacious one. The double bedroom
bathroom had a full suite with shower over bath but a good shower. The bed was wide and comfortable but short. I am less than 6ft and when layed on my back my heels were over the bottom??? The lounge/diner was spacious with a large dining table and sturdy seating for 6 and a 3 seater settee that pulled down to a bed. The apartment is for 4/6, where 3 people would sit if 6 were occupying ? they would have to use the dining chairs?
The balcony was large but was dominated by a large,heavy cane with glass top table a 6 chairs but also accommodated the A/C unit and when the A/C was on in the apartment, which was neccessary for warmth, the fan blew a cold gale onto the balcony which made it impossible to relax on. The outlook was bleak facing an identical block which was totall vacant but imagine it fully occupied, you would be grossly overlooked, it would be horrendous. In conclusion I would say its satisfactory but contradictory. I think I expected more from the quality.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackhardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to post a review of the Real Marina Residence.
We regret that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at our unit, but would like to thank you for your detailed and constructive comments. We think that some of the problems you experienced were probably caused by the fact that you were apparently only two people staying in an apartment intended for 4 to 6 people and mainly used by families with children, who obviously need larger pans and dishes than a couple. As we cannot change the size of the dishes, pans, etc. according to the number of persons staying in the apartment, we had to make sure that the size and quantity of the kitchen accessories, cookware, cutlery etc. are large enough to cater for the maximum number of people allowed in the apartment. Independently of the number of bedrooms, all apartments have a convertible sofa-bed in the living room, which allows to accommodate two children if needed or wanted. Of course, if the sofa-bed is used this means that guests have either less space available or that they have to open/close the sofa-bed daily. Guests often opt to use the sofa-bed, as it is the less expensive solution, but for everyone who prefers more comfort and space, we also have three-bedroom apartments available. We never before received a negative comment regarding the balconies, either the lack of privacy or any discomfort caused by the fan of the air conditioning unit, but we will pay special attention to this.
Thank you for suggestions to provide further kitchen equipment, which we will have in consideration, and for alerting us about the toilet seat, which we will control and repair, as soon as we have identified it.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Residence or any other unit of the Hotéis Real Algarve.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed in the apartments of the hotel and the apartment was really amazing. I actually couldn't believe how nice it was. All lovely and new. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you can imagine. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and their was a massive en-suite with bath and there was also a shower room that i wasn't expecting. Bed was super comfy. The hotel itself was really good. We didn't eat there but the wee bar was really nice and we had nice snacks in the cafe on floor 2. The spa was wondeful, i had an indian and hot stone massage - devine! the swimming pool, sauna and steam room were great too. I really had a fab time here, a real chance to chill out and be pampered. They were doing a deal and i had my massages at 50% discount! real bonus! The weather was lovely too, i sat out in the sun and felt as though i was in heaven. Olhao is a nice wee town with lots of lovely restaurants. We also visited faro, it's nice too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachellamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Real Marina Residence. To avoid any misunderstandings, we would just like to clarify that, although the same group manages the apartments and the hotel, the apartments do not belong to the Hotel, but are a separate and individual unit. We are very pleased that you had the opportunity to use some of the facilities of the Hotel, open to general public, as the bar, café and the Spa and that you were also satisfied with them, especially the massages and special deals, the so-called treatment of the day, at 50% off. Thank you once again for your kind comments, not only about our apartment complex and the neighbouring Hotel, but also of the town Olhão and surroundings.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Residence for an, hopefully, another pleasant stay with us.


Yours sincerely



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews