We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & friendly staff”

Mare Shrimp & Stuff
Ranked #1 of 260 Restaurants in Olhao
Price range: $15 - $30
Description: Apaixonados pelo Mar e por toda a riqueza que nos dá, temos o camarão como base, sem sermos uma marisqueira. Somos uma Maré de novos sabores, em Olhão.
Restaurant details
Description: Apaixonados pelo Mar e por toda a riqueza que nos dá, temos o camarão como base, sem sermos uma marisqueira. Somos uma Maré de novos sabores, em Olhão.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

8 of us visited on Monday 1st April. All the food was delicious. Our waiter was especially helpful with food recommendations and tips on the local area. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Emgee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Went to this restaurant after finding it on TripAdvisor as the top restaurant in Olhao and it did not disappoint! Waiter explained the whole menu to us then we decided to get the shrimp waffle and the salmon, mango and shrimp for starters. Flavours were very well put together, shrimp waffle was one of our favourites, everything just went well together and lots of different textures. For the main we had the loin steak and risotto, steak was cooked perfectly and very tender, sauce was lovely and came with rice and baked fries. Risotto tasted amazing made with squid ink, had pineapple mushrooms and shrimps in it.

Was stuffed but tried the chocolate mousse anyways, it was more like a cake batter texture rather than a mousse, quite rich so we couldn't finish it.

Would definitely recommend this place, and I would come again if I ever visit Olhao again! Service was amazing, you can tell they really care about the restaurant and food. Decor is super pretty and cute inside too.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank aivinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Went for an early supper and the restaurant was very quiet, by the time we left it was getting very busy. The ambience was lovely, very well designed and decorated. The waiter was brilliant, finding out how hungry we were and catering for our needs not just trying to sell us a meal. His advice was invaluable. We ended up having 2 starters and sharing a main course. The food and service was up to Michelin Star standard but without the prices. The tastes were were perfection. I would recommend just following the waiters advice and go with the flow. You won’t go wrong, this restaurant has earned its pride of place in the leader board.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank HeatherKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

From the amazingly eclectic vibe in the restaurant to the knowledgeable waiters, this place was a gem of a find. Everything recommended with passion and zeal for seafood and a focus on prawns that I’ve yet to find elsewhere. If you’re looking for a cozy venue with cracking seafood, you’d better head here.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank laurensmith03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner here. The restaurant is unusual in that all the dishes (main and starters) contained shrimps. I had a delicious risotto with some ingredients that seemed like a strange combination but it really worked well. The shrimp Lasagne was good but we felt the combination of ingredients didn’t quite work. Nevertheless the meal was very good and we would recommend this restaurant but it is somewhat unconventional which may not suit everyone.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare Shrimp & Stuff also viewed

Olhao, Faro District
 
Olhao, Faro District
 
Olhao, Faro District
 

Been to Mare Shrimp & Stuff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing