We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pity!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Moncarapacho
2 reviews
“What a pity!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Third time here. Previous two times were very good, mainly due to the friendliness of the staff and the good food in the restaurant. Now that they've decided to change the staff and menu, the quality is very poor! I am not sure I will return for a fourth time.
What a pity.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Played golf here. As another reviewer commented, the course is suffering from under-investment. Some of the greens have bald patches and weeds, and the course is generally very dry. Maybe they are hoping to convert it into a full 18 hole development, judging by the model in the reception.

Service was somewhat lacking. No food was on offer because they had a football team for lunch. I found it hard to swallow that a supposed 4-star hotel couldn't offer even a sandwich service just because they had a table of sports stars to deal with.

The outdoor pool area seemed nice and they were decent recreation facilities like pool and table tennis so with a little more staff and money this place could be good once more. But currently, it's not quite worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_babbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We Very much enjoyed our stay at colina verde. Bedrooms are very spacious, The staff were very helpful and friendly. A short drive from faro airport and you are relaxing in beautiful countryside with views to the sea.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123456789speedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
447 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

This property was opened 2002 and part of a huge Golf residence project which has never been finalized (thank God!)

Apartments are spacicous and nicely decorated,lightning is very good! Kitchen is fully equiped for up to 4 people (in our T1 flat) - beds are very comfortable! Spacious bathroom comes with tub and floor heating! The separate ACs for each room were working very silent. However you can hear people walking in the apartments above you (if they use hard shoes)...

The problem with this place is unprofessional management and missing attention to details: old 24cm tube-TV (a no-go in 2012!!), several A/C-plugs in the wall were missing plastic housing, totally worn sofa in our room (sitting cushion), balcony windows required a technician to remove the locking system (was in "winter-position"), fitness equipment missing electricity (to be switched on by receptionist), showers next to sauna totally broken, dirty pool ("too cold to swim right now" even they confirmed by email that pool is open all year long...), cold inside jacuzzi inside, outside jacuzzi running 24hs (waste of electricity but they switch off fitness), broken lights in Gym men's toilet etc. etc.

Breafast was sold to us from Expedia as "Full breakfast" but it wasn't full at all: there wasn't even warm eggs or bacon? bread, ham, cheese and yogourt, juice and coffee - as usual - from a nescafe machine....

As we paid officially 70 EUR for the double occupancy, breakfast included I was bit disappointed as in other places nearby you'd pay 50% of that rate with BF, which would be adequate for such a old hotel in such a poorly maintained shape.

7 hole-Golf court looks untidy, mushrooms in the grass...

Wifi is 12 EUR per day - should be at least free of charge in the lobby.

In a nutshell: this hotel has huge potentials if they'd concentrate to details (some money required!) as the location is peacefull and has great sea views. The rates are too high for low season competing with sourroundig hotels who charge 35-45 EUR/double with BF (15 EUR without breakfast) - as we heard the property had several owners recently - sounds like they are on their last legs?

Room Tip: apartments upstairs are better view and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having never played Golf before I didnt know what to expect! Very pleasently surprised, Golf Pro Mat Gatrall was very professional and put me at ease and I actually learnt a great deal!thanks Mat.
Apartments were of a very high spec,clean and modern. Staff very friendly,although the breakfast could be improved somewhat.
Location great ,however a car is needed. Great local places to eat at very reasonable prices.
I will be booking to go back very soon. Great Place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 38Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this resort with a mixture of golfers and non-golfers. The one bedroom apartments were well decorated, very comfortable and completely self contained although a car was required to stock up from the local supermarket!! Breakfast in the hotel was adequate and the staff were always polite and helpful. The golf course was testing, although its a short course, and the lessons from Matt Gatrall allowed us to both learn and improve our golf. There are lots of inexpensive places to eat locally. All in all I was very impressed and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just returned from a great family golf holiday. Thank you to all the staff at the resort for making our holiday special.
The golf course was in a excellent condition, and you could see the greens have recently had some major money spent on them.
While myself and the kids enjoyed the golf, my wife loved the gym and the spa treatments.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The food and service in the restaurant was also one of the high lights during our two week stay.
The resort have a golf pro on site, which was handy when I had questions regarding the course.
I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ipswichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moncarapacho
2.4 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monte dos Avos Village
6.9 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
7.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf

Property: Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf
Address: Sitio da Maragota, Moncarapacho 8700-078, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Moncarapacho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Moncarapacho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Verde Aparthotel Hotel
Colina Verde Aparthotel & Golf Portugal/Moncarapacho, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing