We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O Refugio - CLOSED

O Refugio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Carmelita does the cooking herself, with some assistance. It's a very small typically Portuguese restaurant. Advisable to book, due to being small. The food is always delicious and consistently good. Not expensive either. We always visit e few times when were in Burgau.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple and authentic”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Tucked away off the "main" street, O Refigio was an OK meal and experience but other places in Burgau are better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“superb!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Burgau and visited here twice. The food was out of this world, rustic Portugese, the calamari was the nicest i have ever eaten, Portugese pork was divine, as well as the cataplana, plenty to eat, great service,good value, we were both made very welcome, well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cakebakerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Secluded and quaint yet not bad.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have had a few meals in here over the years and my time when living in Burgau. To the point where my usual accepted greeting was "Boa tarde Mama" as I entered. I was caught out by the "Portuguese Steak dish, which had a snail sauce (not my thing!) But good value for money nosh if you're on a budget.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilcombePilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoy rustic, traditional Portugese dinner in a secluded spot in Burgau”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

If you crave for home cooked, traditional Portugese food you should try this restaurant. Beware that they only take cash.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Family_Kroela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Refugio also viewed

 
Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing