We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice for lunch”

Blue Wave Beach Club
Ranked #21 of 26 Restaurants in Burgau
Price range: $16 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Blue Wave Beach Club is an amazing bar and restaurant situated on the idyllic beach of Cabanas Velhas just outside of Burgau on the southernmost coast of Portugal.We have an unparalleled view into the Atlantic Ocean and you are more than welcome to moor your boat and join us land-side for drinks and dinner.There is ample parking at the rear of the restaurant.We offer a full range of food and drinks to cater for your every need. Check out the fabulous new cocktail menu… you won’t be disappointed.There are beautiful private parasols on the sand in front of the restaurant where offer drinks service to your loungers [a small charge applies] or why not treat yourself to one of our beautiful cabanas and have a day of luxury in the sun.We are available for private hire so if you would like to hold your wedding or have a birthday party in the ultimate of style then drop us an email or give us a call and we will be happy to show you around.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“nice for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

stopped here for a nice sarnie! club sarnie was excellent .Was about 20 quid though for 2. but well presented and clean. Or just pop in for a drink or a coffee before nipping down to the beach. worth a visit
meals looked good

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Rot'n'Pat's Day Off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Every year when we return to Burgau we like to team up with Rot and Pat our old friends who run the Pigs Head and our other friends who live in the village and head for the Blue Wave on the beach at Cabanas Velhas which is a short drive or a bracing walk west of Burgau. I believe this year the restaurant has changed ownership but the front of house staff have remained. The new owner has had all the stones removed from the beach and replaced with lovely golden sand. There is also a lifeguard to keep an eye on the little ones and people like me who are not exactly fish in the water. They specialise in fresh seafood although traditional Portugeuse dishes with meat and chicken are plentiful too. Not the cheapest place but the food is always excellent and good value for money. The position does it for me and we look forward to our monday afternoon of wine food and friends. Incidentally snacks are available or you might just wish to have a coffee or a beer and stare out to the sea.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chilidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went to the Blue Wave because the place we were staying laid on the taxi. We were told that it was one of the best seafood restaurants in the area. If that is true I would not like to visit a bad one. I would not class this as a restaurant but more of a cafe. In a restaurant you would expect the waitresses to be dressed tidy but in this place they wore jeans which did not look good. The prawns we had in our monkfish rice were tough and had obvioulsy been in the dish for too long and I did not like insects flying around and landing on my food as I was trying to eat it. Perhaps it would be better to visit in day time but I will not be going back to find out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tljsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Blue Waves was our best eating out experience while staying in Luz. Sitting on the deck overlooking the beautiful beach while the sun set was very atmospheric. My husband and I shared a mixed fish platter which had 6 beautifully grilled fish, potatos, salad and prawns. The fish were really fresh and extremely tasty, and the whole meal was great except for the prawns which tasted as though they had been reheated...dry and tough. That is the reason I didn't rate the meal a 5. House wine was cheap and good. My daughter had a beef steak with mushroom sauce which also was a generous serve and tasty dish..hard to find a good steak in this part of the world.
Overall I would be very happy to return for another tasty and reasonably priced meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myoblady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant for a beach bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Yes you have to drive down a dirt track but it is a beach bar. This one is top spec with great facilities including indoor and outdoor seating. We had the Sardine platter which was very tasty and good value for money. Enjoyed it so much we came back latter in the holiday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_Wabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Wave Beach Club also viewed

Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Blue Wave Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing