We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Indians”

Spice Cottage Burgau
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Burgau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Lagos
Level Contributor
101 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best of the Indians”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The many Indian restaurants on the Algarve are generally priced very similarly. That being the case, why go for anything but the best?

Last night we had takeaway for 4 people which came to €60 including a pint whilst I waited.
Absolutely first class.

The Spice Cottage is very much a family business run by Nas(reen) and her husband. Her father is also there and, curiously, is something of an expert on late Roman period water powered clocks.

You won't regret going here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    65
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vale Da Telha
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sometimes the staff watch you”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Yes, agree with other reviews, nice restaurant. Good service, quality of food really nice and authentic.

The staff do seem to watch you, it could be that they care but sometimes it is a little unsettling.
Would recommend, worth the journey.

A little over eager to fill up glasses to sell more drinks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkyMONKEY52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian Restaurant in Rural Setting - Top Marks”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Spice Cottage is set in the Countryside a short drive from Burgau on the the way to Cabanas Velhas. - We had heard good reports so decided to try it. - Everything was perfect, the greeting by front of house staff, and the service from waiters and waitresses etc was first class. - The meal comes to you in its own individual under-heated dish, so perfect for sharing. The restaurant was busy with a large party dining at the same time as us, this did not effect the level of service we received. We were a party of 4 and all were very happy with our choice of curry, side dishes and wine. - I cannot rate highly enough how courteous the staff were to us. - We will be going back next time we visit Portugal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burgaufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford-upon-avon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really slow!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Visited this restaurant for the first time with our neighbours who had been before. We arrived as they opened at 18.30 and ordered drinks and had menus delivered but it was a good 30 mins before our food order was taken. After about 25 mins two of the starters arrived and then 5 mins. later the third one. Same with the main courses - the main meat dishes arrived with 2 servings of rice - 5 mins. later we had the other rice + naan delivered and then after about another 8 mins , we received the side dish of aloo ghobi.. The restaurant was not that busy, so surely they should have been able to bring out all the dishes together. Thought the food was overpriced and the service totally disjointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a meal out for 4”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

excellent food,clean surroundings,good service by a very friendly sociable waiter.
we visited for the first time yesterday,no complaints re the food or servie except we thought the cost of 100Ewas far more than we normally pay in this region

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Cottage Burgau also viewed

 
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Spice Cottage Burgau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing