We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caravella - CLOSED

Caravella
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A well establishe white tablecloth restaurant using fresh produce and having an excellent wine list at very comprtitive prices
Berwick upon Tweed
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

A trip to Burgau is never complete without eating here. The service is second to none in the village and the menu has variety with many Portuguese dishes and some classics. Covers are a meal on themselves and a complimentary port arrives with the bill. Thanks again to Antonio and his wife for a great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deejay215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The restaurant was surprisingly quiet when we visited towards the end of September - surprisingly because it's so good. On the first occasion I had avocado and fish to start and then a fisherman's stew and on the second sardine fillets followed by swordfish. Everything was excellent on both occasions but the best part was the crepes. Antonio, the owner, prepares them at the table and he's perfectly happy to do one portion to share between two people.

The food is outstanding and the service is excellent and friendly.

Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank musketeer1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second to none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and my family have just returned from Burgau after our 8th year of visiting this wonderful place. A visit to this village would never be complete without going to our favourite restaurant.
Antonio and his wife offer service and food that is second to none.
Nothing is to much trouble and they will change the menu to suit your needs.
Dont be fooled by this restaurant from the outside, please go in and try it for yourself,
You wont be dissapointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Slavman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real birthday treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My friends and I have recently returned from the Algarve and one of our party had their birthday last week so Caravela was booked for a special meal. It did not disappoint!

The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and the staff were attentive and made us feel very welcome.

We all had different meals, which we all enjoyed but the steak with pepper sauce for the birthday girl was excellent. We then enjoyed a coffee and complimentary port on the terrace, which made for a lovely ending to a special meal.

Caravela will be on our list for our next visit to Burgau!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cosmicgirl-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Burgau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Having visited Burgau annually for over 15 years, we find the Caravella to offer the best combination of food and service in the village. Antonio and his staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive and the food is second to none. The restaurant is very traditional with a well thought out menu topped off by a couple of flambe dishes (Steak and sole) which are expertly cooked at the table. Even the opening covers offer the best of variety, including spicy sausage, pate and local cheese as well as sardine and cheese spreads.

Our son held his wedding reception here last year after marrying in Luz and as ever, we were not disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravella also viewed

 
Burgau, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing