We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hog roast at the Pigs Head”
Review of Pigs Head

Pigs Head
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Burgau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Extensive property with bar area seperate dining area plus a games room,we have 3 outside terraces one to the front 2 at the back,we also have a swimming pool for customer use. We are the no 1 sports bar in the area with the abbility to show different sporting events at the same time we host lots of live music events usually inconjunction with eat all you like bbq and hog roast. Add to this the largest selection of draught,bottled,canned beverages plus wine and spirits in the area. Plus our full menu with something for everyone and our popular sunday lunch and pie night.
burgau portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hog roast at the Pigs Head”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great night, good hog roast, good bar prices, excellent live band, the whole audience sang along. Well worth the seven euros.
Mick and Jackie

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hazelrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    28
    6
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's a pub!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Great venue for Saturday afternoon sport fix. It's a pub just like at home, beer good price - staff friendly and obliging. Park up here for your Saturday afternoon and enjoy the banter.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch, warm welcome from great Hosts Pat & Rotten”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Whether it be Sunday lunch or a mid week bar meal, there is always a warm welcome and some tasty home cooked food available. A must for sports fans, particularly football. Very reasonable prices and huge portions!! The desserts with Sunday lunch are well worth leaving room for, my favourite, Sticky Toffee Pudding (with custard). Wit and humour are added free of charge!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smurfy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgau portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value good ctack”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I recently had Sunday lunch and could not fault the food or the value for money. The landlord is a real character, he seems to have an informed opinion on many subjects, The articulate humour comes free. We also tried the home made steak pie on another visit, which was excellent. Coupled with the football matches shown throughout the season means I will be returning. Well done to all concerned.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hazelrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salt of the earth”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Arrived from Ireland to a little oasis On the west coast of portugal. Popped into a bar/restaurant called the pigs head and the first thing that struck me was the ambiance of the place ,where everyone was made to feel as if they were a valued and trusted guests.The quirky humor of the Yorkshireman owner was for me unsurpassed and any request which I had was dealt with wit and charm which I have never experienced in all my travels throughout the world.
The pigshead for me, will always be top of my list whenever I visit Burgau

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patlarkin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigs Head also viewed

Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
 
 

Been to Pigs Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing