We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fish”
Review of Burgau Beach Bar

Burgau Beach Bar
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Burgau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Read the mixed reviews with surprise. We've stayed in Burgau many times and in my opinion this is the best restaurant by far.
I admin its fairly simple fayre but when the fish is as fresh and good as this, why mess with it?
The Sea Bass and Sardines are excellent but its on the special try Stone Bass.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    170
    42
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The worst service I've ever received”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We tried to eat at this restaurant for lunch. Nobody greeted us so we sat down at a table with a nice view, on the deck, that hadn't been cleared yet. We tidied up the dirty crockery to one side off the table and awaited a waiter, nobody came. We went inside and got a couple of menus, nobody acknowledged us. We sat with menus in hand for a good five minutes in a restaurant that had maybe five other tables occupied, nobody came to us. We left and will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Burgau beach bar is a very nice place to have dinner. Right on the beach, the english personnal is very nice, we were there twice w/2 children. Cocktails are good and food is very good (shrimps, fish...). Maybe a bit overpriced, but the situation is worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank severinedubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always on our list...”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

No trip to Luz would be complete without a visit to Burgau. You cannot beat the setting for this restaurant overlooking Burgau beach. The menu is extensive both for lunch and dinner. It gets very busy so advisable to book in advance. I had the Sardines which were gorgeous and plenty of, with plenty of salad to accompany it. Make sure this is on your list...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JinglingGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great spot & good food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Wonderful spot to watch the sunset, large terrace and indoor tables. If you want to have dinner outside may need to book or arrive early as it fills up fast. Food is nothing fancy but tastes great and service is good. Sea bass was delicious as was chicken piri piri.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaudenClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgau Beach Bar also viewed

Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Burgau Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing